Ralph Compton Down on Gila River

Ralph Compton Down on Gila River

3.0 5
by Ralph Compton, Joseph A. West
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

ONE-MAN STAND
 
At fifty, cattle driver Sam Sawyer thinks he can finally dust off and retire, maybe open an eating house. But after a pack of Apache ambushes him and leaves him to die in Gila River country, he barely makes it to a remote ranch.
 
The owner, Hanna Stewart, has worked the desert spread with her young daughter ever since

Overview

ONE-MAN STAND
 
At fifty, cattle driver Sam Sawyer thinks he can finally dust off and retire, maybe open an eating house. But after a pack of Apache ambushes him and leaves him to die in Gila River country, he barely makes it to a remote ranch.
 
The owner, Hanna Stewart, has worked the desert spread with her young daughter ever since her husband went for a ride and never returned. For years, she’s been victimized by the corrupt sheriff of Lost Mine, Vic Moseley.

Turns out, Moseley’s evil intentions don’t stop with Hannah Stewart. And things are fixing to get downright bloody. After a lifetime in the saddle, Sam’s about to ride not only the hardest trail of his life—but possibly the last....

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“If you like Louis L’Amour, you’ll love Ralph Compton.”—Quanah Tribune Chief (TX)

“A writer in the tradition of Louis L’Amour and Zane Grey.”—The Huntsville Times (AL)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780451238535
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
12/04/2012
Series:
Ralph Compton Series
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
739,433
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher
“If you like Louis L’Amour, you’ll love Ralph Compton.”—Quanah Tribune Chief (TX)
“A writer in the tradition of Louis L’Amour and Zane Grey.”—The Huntsville Times (AL)

Meet the Author

Ralph Compton stood six foot eight without his boots. He worked as a musician, a radio announcer, a songwriter, and a newspaper columnist. His first novel, The Goodnight Trail, was a finalist for the Western Writers of America Medicine Pipe Bearer Award for Best Debut Novel. He was also the author of the Sundown Riders series and the Border Empire series.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Ralph Compton Down on Gila River 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sorry he died he wrote great books, have them all
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ienjoy reading Compton... He makes the story come to life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
generally boring about an old nearly blind cowboy