×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Down on Gila River
     

Down on Gila River

3.0 5
by Ralph Compton, Joseph A. West
 

See All Formats & Editions

In this Ralph Compton western, a man sets out on the hardest trail of his life...
 
At fifty, cattle driver Sam Sawyer thinks he can finally dust off and retire, maybe open an eating house. But after a pack of Apache ambushes him and leaves him to die in Gila River country, he barely makes it to a remote ranch.
 
The owner, Hanna Stewart,

Overview

In this Ralph Compton western, a man sets out on the hardest trail of his life...
 
At fifty, cattle driver Sam Sawyer thinks he can finally dust off and retire, maybe open an eating house. But after a pack of Apache ambushes him and leaves him to die in Gila River country, he barely makes it to a remote ranch.
 
The owner, Hanna Stewart, has worked the desert spread with her young daughter ever since her husband went for a ride and never returned. For years, she’s been victimized by the corrupt sheriff of Lost Mine, Vic Moseley.

Turns out, Moseley’s evil intentions don’t stop with Hannah Stewart. And things are fixing to get downright bloody. After a lifetime in the saddle, this might be Sam’s last ride...

More Than Six Million Ralph Compton Books In Print!


From the Paperback edition.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781101611821
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
12/04/2012
Series:
Ralph Compton
Sold by:
Penguin Group
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
81,977
File size:
832 KB
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher
“If you like Louis L’Amour, you’ll love Ralph Compton.”—Quanah Tribune Chief (TX)
“A writer in the tradition of Louis L’Amour and Zane Grey.”—The Huntsville Times (AL)

Meet the Author

Ralph Compton stood six-foot-eight without his boots. He worked as a musician, a radio announcer, a songwriter, and a newspaper columnist. His first novel, The Goodnight Trail, was a finalist for the Western Writers of America Medicine Pipe Bearer Award for best debut novel. He was also the author of the Sundown Rider series and the Border Empire series.

As a little boy growing up in a small fishing village in Scotland, Joseph West enjoyed many happy Saturday mornings at the local cinema in the company of Roy and Gene and Hoppy. His lifelong ambition was to become a cowboy, but he was sidetracked by a career in law enforcement and journalism. He now resides with his wife and daughter in Palm Beach, Florida, where he enjoys horse riding, cowboy action shooting, and studying Western history.


From the Paperback edition.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Ralph Compton Down on Gila River 3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 5 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Sorry he died he wrote great books, have them all
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ienjoy reading Compton... He makes the story come to life.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
generally boring about an old nearly blind cowboy