Overview

In a daring foray, under the very nose of the French Mediterranean fleet, Lieutenant Lord Nicholas Ramage is to sail his tiny cutter close in to the Italian shore and rescue a party of stranded aristocrats from Napoleon's fast-advancing army.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Ramage

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$8.99
BN.com price
(Save 10%)$9.99 List Price

Overview

In a daring foray, under the very nose of the French Mediterranean fleet, Lieutenant Lord Nicholas Ramage is to sail his tiny cutter close in to the Italian shore and rescue a party of stranded aristocrats from Napoleon's fast-advancing army.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

New York Times Book Review
"Ramage is a grand tale written with panache, glitter and awesome authority, one can only rejoice that a crying need has been filled."
Horn Book Magazine
"Hornblower has a rival!"
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781590135143
  • Publisher: McBooks Press
  • Publication date: 4/1/2000
  • Series: The Lord Ramage Novels , #1
  • Sold by: Barnes & Noble
  • Format: eBook
  • Pages: 320
  • Sales rank: 96,837
  • File size: 430 KB

Meet the Author

Dudley Bernard Egerton Pope was born in 1925 into an ancient Cornish seafaring family. He joined the Merchant Navy at the age of sixteen and spent much of his early life at sea. He was torpedoed during the Second World War and resulting spinal injuries plagued him for the rest of his life.

Towards the end of the war Pope turned to journalism, becoming the Naval and Defence Correspondent for the 'London Evening News'. At this time he also researched naval history and in time became an authority on the Napoleonic era and Nelson's exploits, resulting in several well received volumes, especially on the Battles of Copenhagen and Trafalgar.

Encouraged by Hornblower creator CS Forester, he also began writing fiction using his own experiences in the Navy and his extensive historical research as a basis. In 1965, he wrote 'Ramage', the first of his highly successful series of novels following the exploits of the heroic 'Lord Nicholas Ramage' during the Napoleonic Wars. Another renowned series is centred on 'Ned Yorke', a buccaneer in the seventeenth century Caribbean and then with a descendant following the 'Yorke' family naval tradition when involved in realistic secret operations during the Second World War.

Dudley Pope lived aboard boats whenever possible, along with his wife and daughter, and this was where he wrote the majority of his novels. Most of his adult life was spent in the Caribbean and in addition to using the locale for fictional settings he also wrote authoritatively on naval history of the region, including a biography of the buccaneer Sir Henry Morgan. He died in 1997 aged seventy one.

'The first and still favourite rival to Hornblower' - Daily Mirror

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
  • Posted April 30, 2012

    Excellent adventure on the high seas in His Majesty's Navy!

    I'm so glad I read this book! I love book series, and when i found out this one has 19 in the series (1 down 18 to go), I was jazzed! I love the character of Lt. Ramage, and Jackson as well, and look forward to reading the rest of these stories. Also enjoyed the sly references to "that Hornblower fellow". And bonus points for including so much info about ships and how they work and explaining the difficulties, and benefits of different kinds of ships/boats, etc. Not only entertaining, but quite the learning experience. I highly recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Ebook version unreadable - get the hard copy its a fun read.

    I was excited when Dudley Pope's series was available in ebook format. I planned to buy the entire series. This version of Ramage was unreadable on my Mac, iPad, iPhone or kindle even after trying several book reading apps. Apparently its a nook only version.... when I contacted the book seller I got no response. I think selling a book that is only readable on that store's device means you should state clearly that it is NOT an ebook. Its some sort of Beta book for B&N nook only. If I'd known I never would have bought it. A total rip off and waste of my $.

    I do have a paperback copy of the book which I enjoyed and my Father enjoyed as well. Ramage is a fun character and the series is an interesting one

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2011

    A Captivating Page Turner for ALL AGES!!

    Purchased this on a lark not finding what I was looking for and could not be more please. If you are into seafaring tales, swashbuckling action, mystery and intrigue with a little romance mixed in; Dudley Pope's vivid descriptions and action packed adventures of Lt. Lord Ramage of the Royal Navy is one series of adventure novels you will not want to miss. I can't put it down as each page turned is more interresting and exciting than the last. If you enjoyed the movie Master and Commander, these play like a movie in your head in vivid detail. Popularity of the series is the only disappointment as I have a hard time finding the next books in the series available at the stores each time I run for one. So, I've givn in to ordering on line and a couple at a time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    Great Seafaring Action

    This is in the tradition of Patrick O'Brian and Alexander Kent. The storyline is fast-paced with accurate battle scenes thst keep you on the edge of your seat. Of course, there is romance and political intrigue as well. Overall, a very good adventure!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Interesting new character in the napoleonic sea warfare. Promising.

    Nice first book of many to follow. Interesting and strong character, different to Jack Aubrey from Patrick OBrian or Richard Bolitho from Alexander Kent. Some things bring memories, yet the circumstances were the same or similar. A well started story of a promising Captain.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2004

    Starting the Ramage Series

    Reading this book you quickly realize that the author frequently drops you off in a situation without any preface, leaving you to figure out how you got there and what has occured. This books begins exactly like that. It takes quite a while to confirm that Ramage was injured and that's why he had to be awakened during a battle. However, if the first book doesn't grab you, the second certainly will. You will not be able to put it down and will be craving the next book, and the next.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2003

    Jack Aubery and Horatio Hornblower better watch out for Ramage , because he is coming with all guns ready.

    This book is for the lover's of intense military fiction. The book captivates all the aspects of a good yarn. The young lieutenant , Lord Ramage finds himself waltzing into numerous lines of fire. May they be from a French line-of-battle , a powerful damsel, or from the piercing glances of judge advocates.Ramage seems to always finds ways of dodging the crippling hits. This book was throughly exciting and a great summertime read and I recommend it to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)