Rautavaara: True & False Unicorn

BN.com price
(Save 5%)$16.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $10.03   
  • New (4) from $10.03   
  • Used (1) from $113.88   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 7/22/2003
  • Label: Ondine
  • UPC: 761195102022
  • Catalog Number: 1020
  • Sales rank: 387,217


Disc 1
  1. 1–20 True & False Unicorn, 3 versions, final one for chorus & orchestra - Einojuhani Rautavaara & Finnish Radio Symphony Orchestra (46:40)
    Composed byEinojuhani Rautavaara
    Conducted byTimo Nuoranne
    Performed byFinnish Radio Symphony Orchestra, Petteri Salomaa, Jaakko Kortekangas, Finnish Radio Chamber Choir, Timo Nuoranne, Säde Rissanen
    1. 1 Before the Arras. 1. The Unicorn questions the nature of the chase
    2. 2 Before the Arras. 2. The Lion, reading
    3. 3 Before the Arras. 3. Sigmund of Vienna
    4. 4 Before the Arras. 4. The Unicorn
    5. 5 Horn and Hounds. 5. Entering the wilderness the Unicorn is beset by voices
    6. 6 Horn and Hounds. 6. Young Sagittarius
    7. 7 Horn and Hounds. 7. A Virgin, waiting
    8. 8 Horn and Hounds. 8. The Empress of Byzantium
    9. 9 Horn and Hounds. 9. Queen Victoria
    10. 10 Horn and Hounds. 10. His Honor the Mayor
    11. 11 Horn and Hounds. 11. Big Black Sambo
    12. 12 Snare and Delusion. 12. In the heart of the desert the silence is pearcing
    13. 13 Snare and Delusion. 13. The Unicorn, wounded
    14. 14 Mon Seul Désir. 14. The Unicorn reaches a temple in a clearing
    15. 15 Mon Seul Désir. 15. Sigmund of Vienna
    16. 16 Mon Seul Désir. 16. The Lion
    17. 17 Mon Seul Désir. 17. The Unicorn
    18. 18 Mon Seul Désir. 18. Tom Fool
    19. 19 Mon Seul Désir. 19. The Virgin's Lullaby
    20. 20 Mon Seul Désir. 20. The Unicorn
  2. 21–23 Canción de nuestro tiempo (Ajan laulu), for chorus - Einojuhani Rautavaara & Mia Huhta (14:58)
    Composed byEinojuhani Rautavaara
    Conducted byTimo Nuoranne
    Performed byMia Huhta, Finnish Radio Chamber Choir, Timo Nuoranne
    1. 21 Fragments of Agony
    2. 22 First and Last Meditation
    3. 23 Sleepless city (Nocturno fo Sarajevo)
  3. 24–26 Halavan himmeän alla (In the Shade of the Willow), for chorus - Einojuhani Rautavaara & Reijo Kiilunen (10:56)
    Composed byEinojuhani Rautavaara
    Conducted byTimo Nuoranne
    Performed byFinnish Radio Chamber Choir, Timo Nuoranne
    1. 24 Melancholy
    2. 25 The Squirrel
    3. 26 Song of My Heart
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Finnish Radio Chamber Choir Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously