Raven Strike (Dreamland Series #13)

Raven Strike (Dreamland Series #13)

3.7 227
by Dale Brown, Jim Defelice
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

New York Times bestselling author Dale Brown (“The best military adventure writer in the country” —Clive Cussler) joins forces once again with Jim DeFelice for another electrifying Dreamland novel, Raven Strike. In this breathtaking international thriller, Dreamland’s elite Whiplash unit is called to action when an illegal CIA

Overview

New York Times bestselling author Dale Brown (“The best military adventure writer in the country” —Clive Cussler) joins forces once again with Jim DeFelice for another electrifying Dreamland novel, Raven Strike. In this breathtaking international thriller, Dreamland’s elite Whiplash unit is called to action when an illegal CIA black ops mission goes frighteningly wrong in Africa and a powerful weapon of mass destruction falls into terrorist hands. Raven Strike is explosive, page-turning thriller fiction with political savvy and a razor-sharp military edge, ideal for fans of Vince Flynn, Clive Cussler, Brad Thor, James Rollins, and for the army of loyal readers already firmly in the Dale Brown camp.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061713026
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
11/29/2011
Series:
Dreamland Series, #13
Edition description:
Original
Pages:
512
Sales rank:
738,442
Product dimensions:
4.22(w) x 7.66(h) x 1.20(d)

Read an Excerpt

Raven Strike

A Dreamland Thriller
By Dale Brown

HarperCollins

Copyright © 2011 Dale Brown
All right reserved.

ISBN: 9780061713026


Chapter One

Southeastern Sudan, Africa
It felt as if God himself were hunting him,
circling beyond the clouds, watching every movement.
An angry, vengeful god, a god obsessed
with obliterating him. It felt as if God had singled
him out above all to be the focus of his
persecution, the modern-day Job. Except that this
Job must die, and die harshly, in bloody fire and
unimaginable pain. To survive, this Job must do
nothing less than outwit God.
Such thoughts would have been blasphemous to
a believer, but Li Han did not believe in the Christian
god, let alone the vengeful, twisted Allah his
paymasters had created from their own misinterpretations
of scripture. To Li Han, all conceptions
of god were superstition, tales told to children to
get them to bed at night. Li Han had no religion
except survival, and no ambition beyond that.
Once, he had dreams. Once, he'd even had
desires beyond staying alive.
He was going to be rich. He desired this so
badly that he would do anything for it. And he
had. Like a fool.
 
Too late, he learned that wealth and comfort
were illusions. The simplest facts had taken so
long to understand.
The pilotless aircraft droned above. Li Han
could hear it above as he rested at the side of the
mine shaft. He had constructed a passive radar
device to tell him where the aircraft was, but it
wasn't necessary now. All he needed were his ears.
Li Han waited as the engines grew louder. He
saw it in his mind's eye as it came overhead. It was
the shape of a dagger, sleeker than the UAVs he'd
seen farther south, different than the one in Pakistan
that had fired at his car but missed.
It was a special UAV. He flattered himself that
the Americans had built it just for him.
The noise grew to its loudest—God's angry
voice, calling him out.
He laughed.
The drone banked. The sound began to dim.
"You will go when I tell you," he said to the
man standing near him.
The man nodded. He knew he was a decoy,
knew even that he was very likely to die. And yet
he stood there willingly, prepared to run,
prepared to take the drone away.
Fool!
The sound lessened as the UAV banked toward
the farthest edge of its track above.
"Now," whispered Li Han.
The man pulled the scarf over his head, pitched
forward and left the cave.

(Continues...)



Excerpted from Raven Strike by Dale Brown Copyright © 2011 by Dale Brown. Excerpted by permission of HarperCollins. All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Meet the Author

Dale Brown is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous books, from Flight of the Old Dog (1987) to, most recently, Starfire (2014). A former U.S. Air Force captain, he can often be found flying his own plane in the skies of the United States.

Jim DeFelice is the co-author of Chris Kyle’s #1 New York Times bestseller American Sniper. He also is the author of Omar Bradley: General at War, the first in-depth critical biography of America’s last five-star general, and the co-author of the New York Times bestseller Code Name: Johnny Walker: The Extraordinary Story of the Iraqi Who Risked Everything to Fight with the U.S. Navy SEALs. He writes acclaimed military thrillers, including the Rogue Warrior series from Richard Marcinko, founder of SEAL Team 6, and the novels in the Dreamland series with Dale Brown. 

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Raven Strike 3.7 out of 5 based on 1 ratings. 227 reviews.
Actioonandy More than 1 year ago
Oh Boy!, I told myself. A nice, juicey 409 pages of action! NOT really. There are more that 120 BLANK pages included, with only a chapter number on them, and chapters are all about four pages long! Cheap trick, Dale.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Give us the first in the series, not the 13th!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I kept looking at the page numbers dwindle while asking myself how can Dale Brown finish this in so few pages. It's because he did'nt finish! Felt ripped off. Buy a Clive Cussler book, at least you know when the story ends.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Not his best work. Reader left hanging at the end of the book with no indication as to a follow-on to complete the story. All in all, not a bad read but not up to Dale Brown standards.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Another piece of crap " free friday " book! Seems like the one good review came from the writer his/her self! Way to go B and N your selections have hit an all time high of stinkiness! And if I could I would put a negative in front of that star that I was forced to put!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was disappointed. There were a lot of curse words. This book did not really have an ending. I was also upset this was 13th in the series. At least it was free. 409 pages. For mature readers only. AD
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Feel like I just waisted my time. Left you wondering. Had NO closure!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nothing spectacular. A lot of erronious material, not that well written. Too many characters, only a handful you care about. Meh.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Mews in sadisfaction
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a fairly good read, but I had some difficulty keeping up with all the characters at times and I thought the book ended very badly. The author seemed to have just gotten tired of the story and quit.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Ths book starts well into a series and you have to get to know a lot of characters and situations all at once. Once you get your bearings, the story is compelling. It ends abruptly and we'll have to read the next book to see how it all turns out.
Anonymous 8 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Action packed beginning to end.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago