RCA Victor 80th Anniversary, Vol. 6: 1970-1979

RCA Victor 80th Anniversary, Vol. 6: 1970-1979


The sixth of eight reissue CDs (available individually or as an eight-CD box set), covers RCA's occasional jazz ventures of the 1970s. There are big-band performances by the Toshiko Akiyoshi-Lew Tabackin Orchestra, Woody Herman (a reunion version of "Four Brothers"), See more details below


The sixth of eight reissue CDs (available individually or as an eight-CD box set), covers RCA's occasional jazz ventures of the 1970s. There are big-band performances by the Toshiko Akiyoshi-Lew Tabackin Orchestra, Woody Herman (a reunion version of "Four Brothers"), Buddy Rich, Doc Severinsen (a weak effort) and the electrified Gil Evans Orchestra. In addition, there are vocal numbers from Nina Simone, Cleo Laine, and Louis Armstrong (his second version of "What a Wonderful World") and funky outings from the Brecker Brothers and Lonnie Liston Smith. The avant-garde is not represented, but most of what is here is fine.

Read More

Product Details

Release Date:


  1. Quadrille, Anyone?  - Toshiko Akiyoshi
  2. Four Brothers  -  Woody Herman & His Orchestra
  3. The Pusher  - Nina Simone
  4. Dancing Men  -  Buddy Rich & His Orchestra
  5. Up from the Skies  -  Gil Evans Orchestra
  6. Good Medicine  - Doc Severinsen
  7. Ridin' High  - Cleo Laine
  8. Inside Out  -  Brecker Brothers
  9. Expansions  - Lonnie Liston Smith
  10. What a Wonderful World  - Louis Armstrong

Read More

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nina Simone   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Johnny Pacheco   Percussion
John Abercrombie   Electric Guitar
Toshiko Akiyoshi   Piano,Leader,Track Performer
Michael Brecker   Tenor Saxophone
Tom Browne   Trumpet
Michael Carvin   Percussion
Pat Coil   Keyboards
Richard Davis   String Bass
Gary Foster   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Stan Getz   Tenor Saxophone
Jimmy Giuffre   Tenor Saxophone
Billy Harper   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Woody Herman   Leader
Cleo Laine   Vocals,Track Performer
Pete Levin   Synthesizer,French Horn
Joe Lovano   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Tom "Bones" Malone   Synthesizer,Flute,Trombone,Bass Trombone
Cecil McBee   Bass
Oliver Nelson   Conductor
Bill Perkins   Bass,Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone,Baritone Saxophone
Buddy Rich   Drums,Leader
David Sanborn   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Bobby Shew   Trumpet
Lonnie Liston Smith   Keyboards,Track Performer
Lew Soloff   Trumpet
James Spaulding   Flute
Lew Tabackin   Piccolo,Tenor Saxophone,Woodwind
Ross Tompkins   Piano
Howard Johnson   Tuba,Electric Bass,Bass Clarinet
Ryo Kawasaki   Electric Guitar
Pat La Barbera   Flute,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Michael Moore   Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass
Dave Hubbard   Soprano Saxophone
Eric Weissberg   Guitar
Jimmy Mosher   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Danny Stiles   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Britt Woodman   Trombone
Sue Evans   Percussion,Conga,Drums
George Duvivier   String Bass
Danny D'Imperio   Drums
Cohn   Tenor Saxophone
Gary Anderson   Clarinet,Alto Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Louis Armstrong   Trumpet,Vocals,Track Performer
Julien Barber   Viola
Arnold Black   Violin
Terry Bozzio   Drums
Randy Brecker   Trumpet
Sam T. Brown   Guitar
Alfred Brown   Viola
Kenny Burrell   Guitar
Bill Byrne   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Joe Calo   Flute,Baritone Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Jack Cavari   Guitar
Gene Cherico   Bass
Winston Collymore   Violin
Rafael Cruz   Percussion
Carmine d'Amico   Guitar
Jim Daniels   Bass Trombone
John Dankworth   Clarinet,Saxophone
John DeFlon   Trumpet
Tony DiMaggio   Trombone
Bruce Ditmas   Drums
Bob Dogan   Piano
Peter Donald   Drums
Dennis Dotson   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Don Englert   Flute,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Gil Evans   Conductor,Keyboards
Sammy Figueroa   Percussion
Barry Finnerty   Guitar
Paul Gershman   Violin
Art Gore   Drums
Manny Green   Violin
Brian A. Grivna   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Harry Lookofsky   Violin
Nelson Hatt   Piccolo Trumpet
David Horowitz   Synthesizer,Electric Piano
Neil Jason   Bass
Lawrence Killian   Percussion,Conga
Dale Kirkland   Trombone
Trevor Koehler   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Arnie Lawrence   Woodwind
Leopoldo   Percussion,Bongos
John Leys   Bass Trombone
Charles Loper   Trombone
Keith Loving   Guitar
Joseph Malin   Violin
Charles McCracken   Cello
Kermit Moore   Cello
Graham Morgan   Drums
Wayne Naus   Trumpet
Gene Orloff   Violin
Frank Owens   Piano
Don Pate   Bass
Bruce Paulson   Trombone
Tom Peterson   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Max Pollikoff   Violin
Jim Pugh   Trombone
Don Rader   Trumpet
Pat Rebillot   Piano
George Ricci   Cello
Alan Rubin   Trumpet
Darryl Runswick   Bass Guitar,String Bass
Sonny Russo   Trumpet
David Schwartz   Viola
Doc Severinsen   Trumpet,Leader,Track Performer
Zoot Sims   Tenor Saxophone
Donald Smith   Flute,Vocals
Dick Spencer   Clarinet,Flute,Alto Saxophone
Jeff Stout   Trumpet
Frank Tiberi   Clarinet,Flute,Tenor Saxophone
John Williams [double bass]   Bass
Snooky Young   Trumpet
Emanuel Vardi   Viola
Lynn Nicholson   Trumpet
Mike Price   Trumpet
Buddy Rich & His Orchestra   Track Performer
Gil Evans Orchestra   Track Performer
Woody Herman & His Orchestra   Track Performer
Tom Petersson   Alto Saxophone
John Hoffman   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
John Oslawski   Bass Clarinet,Alto Flute,Baritone Saxophone
Alan Vizutti   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
John Stites   Drums
Peter Gordon   French Horn
Anthony Hymas   Piano,Electric Piano
Alan Schulman   Cello
John B. Williams   Electric Bass
Mac Kenley   Trombone
Phillip Teele   Bass Trombone
Warren Smith   Percussion,Chimes,Marimbas,Vibes

Technical Credits

Joe Louis Walker   Composer
Toshiko Akiyoshi   Arranger
Miles Davis   Composer
Jimmy Giuffre   Arranger
Oliver Nelson   Arranger
Lonnie Liston Smith   Acoustic Treatments
John Dankworth   Arranger
Gil Evans   Arranger
John La Barbera   Arranger
Stephanie L. Stein   Liner Notes
Steve Gates   Producer
Hank Hoffman   Remastering
Scott Johnson   Art Direction

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >