The Red Church

The Red Church

3.7 117
by Scott Nicholson
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

"The Red Church is a damn scary story well told." --Christopher Ransom, author of the international bestseller, The Birthing House.

SYNOPSIS:

For 13-year-old Ronnie Day, life is full of problems: Mom and Dad have separated, his brother Tim is a constant pest, Melanie Ward either loves him or hates him, and Jesus Christ won't stay in his heart. Plus he has

Overview

"The Red Church is a damn scary story well told." --Christopher Ransom, author of the international bestseller, The Birthing House.

SYNOPSIS:

For 13-year-old Ronnie Day, life is full of problems: Mom and Dad have separated, his brother Tim is a constant pest, Melanie Ward either loves him or hates him, and Jesus Christ won't stay in his heart. Plus he has to walk past the red church every day, where the Bell Monster hides with its wings and claws and livers for eyes. But the biggest problem is that Archer McFall is the new preacher at the church, and Mom wants Ronnie to attend midnight services with her.
Sheriff Frank Littlefield hates the red church for a different reason. His little brother died in a freak accident at the church twenty years ago, and now Frank is starting to see his brother's ghost. And the ghost keeps demanding, "Free me." People are dying in Whispering Pines, and the murders coincide with McFall's return.
The Days, the Littlefields, and the McFalls are descendants of the original families that settled the rural Appalachian community. Those old families share a secret of betrayal and guilt, and McFall wants his congregation to prove its faith. Because he believes he is the Second Son of God, and that the cleansing of sin must be done in blood.
"Sacrifice is the currency of God," McFall preaches, and unless Frank and Ronnie stop him, everybody pays.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781451507027
Publisher:
CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date:
03/10/2010
Edition description:
Reprint
Pages:
362
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.75(d)

Read an Excerpt

Dark.
So black that Ronnie couldn’t see his hand in front of his face.
He was in a box, a coffin, with nothing but the hard thud of his heart to mark the passing of time.
“I’m scared,” Tim whispered.
“Shh” Ronnie said. “They’ll hear us.”
Though they already knew the two of them were locked in the vestry. It wasn’t as though there were a whole lot of places to hide inside the red church.
Ronnie finally opened his eyes. The weak gleam of moon fought through a small window set high in the back wall. He could barely make out Tim’s pale face, though his eyes and mouth were steeped in shadows. He pressed his ear to the door again.
She has out there.
Waiting.
Wanting.

What People are saying about this

Stewart O'Nan
Readers will sense echoes of Stephen King's classic Castle Rock tales in The Red Church. Scott Nicholson knows the territory. Follow him at your own risk.
— Stewart O’Nan, author of The Circus Fire
Anderson
Scott Nicholson writes with a mixture of H.P. Lovecraft, Manly Wade Wellman, and Clive Barker, stirred with a liberal dose of his own originality, to tell an effective and atmospheric tale.
— Kevin J. Anderson, author of Hidden Empire: The Saga Of Seven Suns, Book I
Bentley Little
Scott Nicholson is a terrific writer. Like Stephen King, he has an eye and ear for the rhythms of rural America, and like King he knows how to summon serious scares. My advice? Buy everything he writes. This guy's the real deal.
— Bentley Little, author of The Collection
Sharyn McCrumb
In a literary and a geographic sense, Scott Nicholson explores the dark legends of the southern end of the Appalachian mountain chain, a nightmare country that ends in Stephen King's yard. A wonderful storyteller He is at the top of his game in The Red Church.
— Sharyn McCrumb, author of The Ballad novels

Meet the Author

Scott Nicholson is the author of seven novels, including THE SKULL RING and THEY HUNGER, as well as three story collections. He often uses Appalachian folk legends and faith themes in his work. He's also a journalist and freelance editor and founder of the small press, Haunted Computer Books. Nicholson also writes comic books, including DIRT and DREAMBOAT. His Web site is www.hauntedcomputer.com. or visit him at Author Central on Amazon.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Red Church 3.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 117 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This is an excellent debut novel and I hope that Mr. Nicholson will continue to pump out more horror novels (preferrably a few per year!). There are fewer things more terrifying to me than extreme religious fanaticism in all its forms (such as abuse, manipulation, etc.). This book has a good dose of that, mixed in with ghosts and other supernatural elements. The idea of having a haunted church is a very original approach. Great idea. The book is a very scary read. Keep your light on.
cpolkinhorn More than 1 year ago
I am not exactly a "thriller" or "horror" fan, so when I came across The Red Church by Scott Nicholson I hesitated at first, thinking I probably wouldn't like it. After the first few pages into the book, I realized how limiting and inaccurate such labels really are. To be sure, there is plenty of blood-curdling and scary stuff in the novel. However, there is much more to the book than "blood and gore." A tight, fast-moving plot, vivid, psychologically complex characters that jump off the page and are so real you remember them long after you finish reading the book, and a very accurate depiction of the emotional and mental powers that religious fanatics or new-age gurus can yield over their trusting victims make this book a truly fascinating read. I can only recommend it.
Guest More than 1 year ago
In the 1860's Reverend Wendell McFall had a church built in Whispering Pines. It was painted red to summon the First Son to defeat the Second Son. When Wendell sacrificed a child his congregation hung him from the rafters of his own sanctuary. .......... The red church stood empty for twenty years. It was going to ruin until Archer McFall purchased it. It was called the Temple of the Two Sons and most of the town's residents quickly joined, as their ancestors had before. The zealous worshipers had no idea that they would be simply pawns and sacrifices as the demonic Archer exercised his revenge! ..... ***** W - O - W! Now here is a novel that will send chills up your spine. I often found myself repelled and attracted at the same time as the grizzly plot unfolded. Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz will LOVE this talented author! I am eager for Nicholson's next release. *****
lizcouture More than 1 year ago
If you like Frank Peretti, you will love THe Red Church. I could not put this book down and read it so quickly. I was sad it ended. This book can get so far into one's head that you will be looking for a "red church". I had dreams about it. Not nightmares . . just as a charactor in the book. I hope there is a part two. There certainly is room for one. Great read!!!
SteveLewis More than 1 year ago
I read a lot of horror novels and, in my opinion, Scott Nicholson is one of the best writers currently working in the genre today. If you like Stephen King, Jack Kilborn or John Saul, you'll LOVE Scott Nicholson. I know that's a cliche but it's true. Not only are his books creative, they're not simplistic or plain black and white, there's depth to his creations. So, if you're looking for a great, fun, entertaining and dark-did I mention dark?-read, Scott Nicholson is your guy.
NanetteWhoDatDeaux More than 1 year ago
RED CHURCH This book was absolutely gripping. I loved the plot.... an old town with a dark, dark history. Characters with a pretty horrid past. Revenge. The search for religious "truth". Family dynamics. And alot of scary scenes. Just wait until you meet the character, ARCHER MCFALL. I cringe as I think about him! Nicholson is one of the best horror writers out there. His descriptive style is part of his charm. For instance: "Only the river mist remained, like the shroud of a final burial" "....anticipation in the air as thick as flies on roadkill" "Creeks as old as lies, dirt as dark as hopelessness. Stones as cold as the heart of a father...." "His laughter echoed through the trees, as deep as the glacier-cut and time-eroded valleys, the human vocal cords vibrating strangely as he threw back his head and chilled the spine of the forest" Honestly, I love this guy's style, and have become a big fan. I highly recommend this book to anybody who likes "scary". This certainly WAS.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This book is a page turner. It kept me up at night. I love horror, the likes of Stephen King, and he is right there with them. It is am must read.
Anonymous 17 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I just didn't like how David can forgive his wife again and take her back, again. Same with the kids. You'd think they would be afraid of her and never trust her again. I also can't believe Ronnie forgave Melanie for her betrayal, you know she'll do it again. But it seems these characters liked being victims and it seems David liked having to save his wife over and over again. That I thought was kind of stupid. Same with the Sheriff not wearing a gun.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Couldn't get into it, the characters just didn't seem believable and the religious crap got boring. The characters had no depth at all and the story just didn't hold my interest.
DazThreeNine More than 1 year ago
Hewn from the same unflinching stock as another of Scott’s work’s, The Harvest; and as creepy as The Skull Ring – The Red Church throws Sheriff Littlefield up against painful memories from his youth as he strives to save his rural town from the dark return of Archer McFall, and the nightmares of his message. Other townsfolk are not so easily swayed by Archer’s return, and a grim fight to uncover the truth behind the growing power of the Red Church and the evil behind it ensues, climaxing in horrifying revelations and a desperate struggle to keep back the demonic tide that has its sights set on gaining control of the town and its eager souls. The Sheriff must put his personal tragedy to rest and help the town see the true face of evil. Crackling with tension and plenty of local colour, this is another great Dark story from the Appalachian backwoods.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago