Red Is for Remembrance (Blue Is for Nightmares Series #4) by Laurie Faria Stolarz, NOOK Book (eBook) | Barnes & Noble
Red Is for Remembrance (Blue Is for Nightmares Series #4)

Red Is for Remembrance (Blue Is for Nightmares Series #4)

4.7 231
by Laurie Faria Stolarz
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

I know you're alone . . .

Shattered by her boyfriend's tragic death, Stacey is struggling in her first year of college, hoping that somehow, somewhere, Jacob is still alive. Now her nightmares are back, haunted by ghosts and misery. Casting healing spells brings Stacey closer to Porsha—a troubled girl who's also dreaming of death—and to a

Overview

I know you're alone . . .

Shattered by her boyfriend's tragic death, Stacey is struggling in her first year of college, hoping that somehow, somewhere, Jacob is still alive. Now her nightmares are back, haunted by ghosts and misery. Casting healing spells brings Stacey closer to Porsha—a troubled girl who's also dreaming of death—and to a strange boy whose life is in danger. To save him, it'll take all the strength and magic they've got. And maybe even cost them their lives.

Don't miss a single book in the series:
Blue is for Nightmares
White is for Magic
Silver is for Secrets
Red is for Remembrance

Editorial Reviews

Stacey is a first-semester freshman at Beacon University, but the pressures of classwork trouble her less than the lingering sadness over a friend's disappearance. Searching for closure, she befriends the college president's daughter, a teenager who is struggling with her own nightmares. As the two girls pursue their premonitions and fears, they stumble into a secretive world where Stacey must come to grips with powers she never imagined.
KLIATT
Stacey has been trying to live again after her boyfriend Jacob is presumed dead after a tragic accident. But life is not the same without her soul mate, and starting over at a college that mysteriously offered her a full scholarship is proving even more difficult than she anticipated. The horrifying nightmares that have, in the past, foretold danger and death have begun again. And while Stacey has been able to save some people by reading her dreams in time, she was unable to save Jacob. This time Stacey is not alone in the confusion and desperation created by the pull and power of dreams. Porsha, the college president's daughter, is also having nightmares, and somehow Stacey and Porsha are connected. Using the magic passed down by her grandmother, Stacey helps Porsha unlock the mystery of her dreams. Part of a series featuring Stacey that began with Blue is for Nightmares, this book stands firmly on its own and will surely entice readers who enjoy suspenseful reads or those involving Wicca or the supernatural to seek out the rest of Stacey's stories. Well-drawn secondary characters add to the depth of the story, which does involve casual sex, but not graphically so. Give this book to readers who enjoy Lynne Ewing, Cate Tiernan, or the Charmed Series. KLIATT Codes: JS—Recommended for junior and senior high school students. 2005, Llewellyn, 320p., Ages 12 to 18.
—Stephanie Squicciarini

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780738718200
Publisher:
Llewellyn Worldwide, LTD.
Publication date:
01/08/2011
Series:
Stolarz Series , #4
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
394,037
File size:
383 KB

Meet the Author

Laurie Faria Stolarz (Massachusetts) has a great interest in teen culture, and admires young adults for their passion, energy, and creativity. Blue is for Nightmares is the product of her desire to write a novel that would have appealed to herself at that age, namely one that has a blending of suspense, romance, and the art of keeping secrets.

Stolarz has an MFA in Creative Writing with a concentration in Young Adult Literature from Emerson College in Boston. She currently teaches writing and is a member of the SCBWI as well as several professional writing groups.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Red Is for Remembrance 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 229 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
RIFR was Laurie Faria Stolarz best book yet! This book is not a hard read but it is simply enjoyable. I read is in 2 day. After I read SIFS I had to know if Jacob lived or not! Aug. 2nd I dragged my mother out to the book store to see if they had Laurie Faria Stolarz's new book RIFR!!!!!!!! It was really not as scary as the other books but really came though in the end with a big bang. I was kind of worried when I first picked up the book and saw that the chapters were headed 'Stacy' or 'Shell' (My first thought was who the heck would name their child Shell, and why do I want to read about Shell when I really want to read about Stacy) This story picks up with Stacy when she is first starting college. She is EXTREAMLY depressed and still wishful that Jacob is still alive (although no one else seems to believe that except Stacy.) Stacy has a new roommate who is perky and does not like witchcraft. Although Amber is back as Stacy's roommate also and is as funny as ever. Stacy sleeps though a good proportion of the first 125 pages, she skips her classes and seems the be failing out of college in her first week. When Tim, junior at the college takes an interest in Stacy she is quick to reject him but slowly and reluctantly finds he is a really nice guy. When Stacy is requested to the college president's office she find that he enrolled her with a free scholarship to Beacon University with ulterior motives. He wants Stacy to help his daughter who has been having visions of a horrible camp where a boy that will die. His daughter Portia does not seem to want Stacy's help at all. When haunting dreams with Portia's dead mother Come to her Stacy realizes that helping this little gill could not only change Portia's life but hugely affect her own Our other main character Shell seems to belong to a camp (or sort of cult.) The leaders preach peace, love and happiness, the camp lives the simple life with no technology. Clay, one of the leaders says to Shell that he was found homeless, out on the street starving when they rescued him. This group of people make their living by sneaking into other people's houses and steeling (the leader says it is only stealing when you take something that has sentimental value to it.) When Shell begins to notice his friends are brainwashed he starts to question his lifestyle. When Shell begins to have visions, his past starts to come back to him. Shell knows the camp is not his true home and he had a real life in his past. Their are also dangerous people who are going against camp rules. As Stacy and Portia come together to figure out what these visions mean they piece together where this camp is and venture out to save the boy.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If Lauria writes another book for the series, then it could be called Purple is for Protection, OR Green is for Guardianship!! Please comment saying whether you think these are good or bad! ~Carlynn Koski #SWAG And I also think that Aquamarine Sandollar is not really a mermaid, because let me think... THEY DON'T EXIST!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Awesome!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love Laurie Stolarz and this series, this book outdoes "Silver" and was SO INTENSE!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Adele_718 More than 1 year ago
I've read the whole series quite a while ago because my frieend recomended it. I'm starting to re-read the series now. I was used to really scary books like Stephen King's but this was still scary enough for me and easier to understand since I'm a teenage girl just like Stacey (main). This book in particular was the best of the series! And the best I've ever read! It was scary and thrilling and the ending was the most shocking. It takes you on twits and turns through every chapter and you must go on to the next. Like everyone else, I'm not going to give anything away so you'll just have to read it for yourself!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Devyn Mace More than 1 year ago
This book is one of my favorite in the series it wraps everything up in he series and it introduces new characters in the book. Trust me you will never pit this book ever.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
karla124 More than 1 year ago
Red is for Rememberence If you like mysterious books or witch craft you should read this magical book that can take you to a different world. The story begins when Stacey has nightmares. She gets signs from them telling her that a certain person will die soon; she can then try to help them out. When Stacey starts having dreams, she hates them but when its about the person she loves she likes her dreams. Right know her dreams are about her boyfriend Jacob, that disapeard. Its been a year and she knows his alive even though she cant see him she knows he is. Jacob is a really nice guy but when he disapeard Stacey dreams came down her hopes were down and she didn't know what to do. Jacob loved Stacey and they both went to boarding school together it seemed nice sense they got to see each other the whole time. To be honest the thing that empresses me the most is that Jacob wasn't jealous of anything. Stacey was a jealous person but she also had the good things about her were that she was really nice. In my opinion Stacey was just trying to take care of Jacob I think he would have done the same for her. In all honesty Stacey has helped a lot of people by her dreams and along the story she meets the doctors daughter that have dreams of Jacob too but she don't she has dreams of a guy named Jacob. After that happens She starts looking and searching for nick. Also she is helping the girl to control her dreams which is gonna be hard the dreams will never stop they will always keep happening no matter what she will always have dreams of people almost dieing. In the story is really magical they talk about relationships between people, love, sadness, anger , happiness and many other things. But what I liked most about this book were the magical things it had like the which spells and the blood. Also I never thought how it would be if I was a character in this story. Honestly I would want to be Stacey to see how having those dreams feel. In the end everything that happened was for a reason. I hope Stacey is better in the end I cant tell you the end or I will ruin the story of a love couple. In my opinion I wish the best for the people that have read this book and hope that you guys enjoy my talking.!!! By:karla Elias
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago