The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book

The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book

by Joe Daly
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Set in sun-drenched Cape Town, South Africa, this book features two full-length stories, “The Leaking Cello Case” and the 2010 Ignatz Award-nominated Outstanding Story “John Wesley Harding,” rife with mystery, suspense, action, adventure, conspiracy theories, cool cars and excellent weed.
Dave and his freeloading pal Paul, well-meaning

…  See more details below

Overview

Set in sun-drenched Cape Town, South Africa, this book features two full-length stories, “The Leaking Cello Case” and the 2010 Ignatz Award-nominated Outstanding Story “John Wesley Harding,” rife with mystery, suspense, action, adventure, conspiracy theories, cool cars and excellent weed.
Dave and his freeloading pal Paul, well-meaning stoners in the tradition of Cheech & Chong and Harold & Kumar, thwart criminal malfeasance even as they ponder the larger questions, such as, “What steps can I personally take to help protect the Earth and the species that inhabit it?” (though most people’s answers to these questions don’t involve sword fights and hovercrafts).
Joe Daly brings a refreshingly original—and utterly hilarious—voice to the comics medium, a dry, deadpan wit anchored in everyday reality combined with unnervingly deranged plots, rendered with a hyper-detailed, half-realistic and half-cartoony Tintin-style crispness.

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Chris Mautner - Robot 6
“Daly's art is strong here, especially in "Harding," where his character designs seem more confident. He maintains a near-perfect nine-panel grid structure throughout the entire book, and rarely moves his camera beyond a mid-level viewpoint, all the better to maintain the book's low-key, chatty, and very funny tone.”
Tom Bondurant - Robot 6
“Daly's style is quite appealing, and his use of color really brings his panels to life.”
Ray Olson - Booklist
“Working with more colors than in anything in Scrublands (2009) and in a comic realist mode reminiscent of, say, the old TV series The Rockford Files (Daly’s Cape Town looks a lot like shorefront Southern California), Daly couldn’t be any more entertaining. His visual-narrative skills are impeccable, his ear for naturally funny dialogue nothing short of astounding.”
Rob Clough - High-Low
“With The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book, Daly maintains some of the psychedelic trappings of his earlier stories but puts them within a framework of stoner noir (a la the film Pineapple Express) buddy story, only with Big Lebowski-style absurdity. However, the book can't really be reduced to familiar genre markers all that easily, and [a] firm, eccentric sense of place is the biggest reason why it works.”
John Mesjak - my3books
“Where has Joe Daly been hiding? ... a tasty blend of cleanly detailed art straight out of Hergé, hipster stoner humor and a couple of mysteries that work just as well in Cape Town as they would in the Los Angeles of Robert Towne's Chinatown or Ross Macdonald's Lew Archer stories.”
Brian Lindenmuth - BSCreview
“The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book features two full-length stories, 'The Leaking Cello Case' and 'John Wesley Harding.' Both stories start off in the every day then morph into oddball mysteries that never go quite where you expect them to. As odd as some of the capers and misadventures get they are always conveyed with a kind of casual, deadpan poker face that manages to make them all the more believable. ... The art is a curious mix of cartoonish realism, and the city of Cape Town is vividly portrayed... Red Monkey Double Happiness Book is a thoroughly enjoyable and entertaining read for the mystery/crime comic fan looking for something a bit different than the harder noir stuff that seems to dominate these days.”
Byron Kerman - PLAYBACK:stl
“I really love comics. Reading a collection like Joe Daly's Red Monkey Double Happiness Book, I'm reminded of just why. ... It's drawn like a combination of Tintin, Dilbert, and King of the Hill. It's hilarious, both in terms of the plot and the one-liners. So, like so many other great comics, it's sui generis. ... Daly's plots move at a breezy pace, but his art is sharply detailed, and drawn expertly from a variety of perspective points. The palette is vibrant and fun. ...[T]his is some seriously funny s—-.”
Paul Constant - The Stranger
“[A]mazing... Both stories are laid-back, funny, and entertaining. Daly is one of my favorite new talents in comics.... one of my top five comics to be released this year so far.”
Steve Duin - The Oregonian
“For my money, Daly is hilarious, with an ear for great dialog, a nice feel for the way characters and convertibles glide across the landscape of the comic page, and a zest for uniquely convoluted plots.”
Molly Young - We Love You So
“The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book makes for pleasant midday reading, maybe perched somewhere outdoors in the sun with a glass of ginger ale at your side. Read it in a lazy mood, identify with the slacker characters, and speculate on whether you could solve demented mysteries as well as they could. (Answer: probably not.)”
Sandy Bilus - I Love Rob Liefeld
“[The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book] has a nice laid-back vibe to it, as Dave and Paul wander into and out of adventures. It's kind of fun to just watch them drive around in Dave's sweet red convertible and look at the scenery. The art has a simple, clean look that retains enough detail to make the setting feel like a real place. And, as I said, it's pretty damn funny. I liked this book and recommend it.”
Tom Spurgeon - The Comics Reporter
“I want to call as much attention as I can to Joe Daly's sublimely odd and very, very funny The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book... If you're one of those that complains that comics doesn't allow for new and unique comic sensibilities, you need to read this book. Actually, everyone should.”
Chris Estey - Three Imaginary Girls
“Druggy noir vividly told... 'The Leaking Cello Case' and 'John Wesley Harding' are both contenders for short graphic fiction of the year… and the sense of distorted place and identity [is] as creative as fiction by Thomas Pynchon.”
Andrew Wheeler - The Antick Musings of G.B.H. Hornswoggler
“Both stories see Dave and Paul get involved in vaguely shady — but entirely weird — dealings. … Daly keeps these as stories about stoners rather than as stoner stories—this isn't the way Dave would tell the story (thankfully); it makes more sense than that.”

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781606991633
Publisher:
Fantagraphics Books
Publication date:
10/20/2009
Pages:
112
Product dimensions:
7.30(w) x 10.10(h) x 0.70(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Joe Daly is a cartoonist from South Africa. Born in London, he studied animation for two years at Cape Town’s City Varsity College. His work has been described as “Tintin Meets the Freak Brothers in the Cape of Good Dope.” His books include Scrublands, The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book, and Dungeon Quest.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >