The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book

Overview

Set in sun-drenched Cape Town, South Africa, this book features two full-length stories, “The Leaking Cello Case” and the 2010 Ignatz Award-nominated Outstanding Story “John Wesley Harding,” rife with mystery, suspense, action, adventure, conspiracy theories, cool cars and excellent weed.
Dave and his freeloading pal Paul, well-meaning stoners in the tradition of Cheech & Chong and Harold & Kumar, thwart criminal malfeasance even as they ponder the larger questions, such...

See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (29) from $1.99   
  • New (7) from $6.18   
  • Used (22) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

Set in sun-drenched Cape Town, South Africa, this book features two full-length stories, “The Leaking Cello Case” and the 2010 Ignatz Award-nominated Outstanding Story “John Wesley Harding,” rife with mystery, suspense, action, adventure, conspiracy theories, cool cars and excellent weed.
Dave and his freeloading pal Paul, well-meaning stoners in the tradition of Cheech & Chong and Harold & Kumar, thwart criminal malfeasance even as they ponder the larger questions, such as, “What steps can I personally take to help protect the Earth and the species that inhabit it?” (though most people’s answers to these questions don’t involve sword fights and hovercrafts).
Joe Daly brings a refreshingly original—and utterly hilarious—voice to the comics medium, a dry, deadpan wit anchored in everyday reality combined with unnervingly deranged plots, rendered with a hyper-detailed, half-realistic and half-cartoony Tintin-style crispness.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Chris Mautner - Robot 6
“Daly's art is strong here, especially in "Harding," where his character designs seem more confident. He maintains a near-perfect nine-panel grid structure throughout the entire book, and rarely moves his camera beyond a mid-level viewpoint, all the better to maintain the book's low-key, chatty, and very funny tone.”
Tom Bondurant - Robot 6
“Daly's style is quite appealing, and his use of color really brings his panels to life.”
Ray Olson - Booklist
“Working with more colors than in anything in Scrublands (2009) and in a comic realist mode reminiscent of, say, the old TV series The Rockford Files (Daly’s Cape Town looks a lot like shorefront Southern California), Daly couldn’t be any more entertaining. His visual-narrative skills are impeccable, his ear for naturally funny dialogue nothing short of astounding.”
Rob Clough - High-Low
“With The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book, Daly maintains some of the psychedelic trappings of his earlier stories but puts them within a framework of stoner noir (a la the film Pineapple Express) buddy story, only with Big Lebowski-style absurdity. However, the book can't really be reduced to familiar genre markers all that easily, and [a] firm, eccentric sense of place is the biggest reason why it works.”
John Mesjak - my3books
“Where has Joe Daly been hiding? ... a tasty blend of cleanly detailed art straight out of Hergé, hipster stoner humor and a couple of mysteries that work just as well in Cape Town as they would in the Los Angeles of Robert Towne's Chinatown or Ross Macdonald's Lew Archer stories.”
Brian Lindenmuth - BSCreview
“The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book features two full-length stories, 'The Leaking Cello Case' and 'John Wesley Harding.' Both stories start off in the every day then morph into oddball mysteries that never go quite where you expect them to. As odd as some of the capers and misadventures get they are always conveyed with a kind of casual, deadpan poker face that manages to make them all the more believable. ... The art is a curious mix of cartoonish realism, and the city of Cape Town is vividly portrayed... Red Monkey Double Happiness Book is a thoroughly enjoyable and entertaining read for the mystery/crime comic fan looking for something a bit different than the harder noir stuff that seems to dominate these days.”
Byron Kerman - PLAYBACK:stl
“I really love comics. Reading a collection like Joe Daly's Red Monkey Double Happiness Book, I'm reminded of just why. ... It's drawn like a combination of Tintin, Dilbert, and King of the Hill. It's hilarious, both in terms of the plot and the one-liners. So, like so many other great comics, it's sui generis. ... Daly's plots move at a breezy pace, but his art is sharply detailed, and drawn expertly from a variety of perspective points. The palette is vibrant and fun. ...[T]his is some seriously funny s—-.”
Paul Constant - The Stranger
“[A]mazing... Both stories are laid-back, funny, and entertaining. Daly is one of my favorite new talents in comics.... one of my top five comics to be released this year so far.”
Steve Duin - The Oregonian
“For my money, Daly is hilarious, with an ear for great dialog, a nice feel for the way characters and convertibles glide across the landscape of the comic page, and a zest for uniquely convoluted plots.”
Molly Young - We Love You So
“The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book makes for pleasant midday reading, maybe perched somewhere outdoors in the sun with a glass of ginger ale at your side. Read it in a lazy mood, identify with the slacker characters, and speculate on whether you could solve demented mysteries as well as they could. (Answer: probably not.)”
Sandy Bilus - I Love Rob Liefeld
“[The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book] has a nice laid-back vibe to it, as Dave and Paul wander into and out of adventures. It's kind of fun to just watch them drive around in Dave's sweet red convertible and look at the scenery. The art has a simple, clean look that retains enough detail to make the setting feel like a real place. And, as I said, it's pretty damn funny. I liked this book and recommend it.”
Tom Spurgeon - The Comics Reporter
“I want to call as much attention as I can to Joe Daly's sublimely odd and very, very funny The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book... If you're one of those that complains that comics doesn't allow for new and unique comic sensibilities, you need to read this book. Actually, everyone should.”
Chris Estey - Three Imaginary Girls
“Druggy noir vividly told... 'The Leaking Cello Case' and 'John Wesley Harding' are both contenders for short graphic fiction of the year… and the sense of distorted place and identity [is] as creative as fiction by Thomas Pynchon.”
Andrew Wheeler - The Antick Musings of G.B.H. Hornswoggler
“Both stories see Dave and Paul get involved in vaguely shady — but entirely weird — dealings. … Daly keeps these as stories about stoners rather than as stoner stories—this isn't the way Dave would tell the story (thankfully); it makes more sense than that.”
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781606991633
  • Publisher: Fantagraphics Books
  • Publication date: 10/20/2009
  • Pages: 112
  • Product dimensions: 7.30 (w) x 10.10 (h) x 0.70 (d)

Meet the Author

Joe Daly is a cartoonist from South Africa. Born in London, he studied animation for two years at Cape Town’s City Varsity College. His work has been described as “Tintin Meets the Freak Brothers in the Cape of Good Dope.” His books include Scrublands, The Red Monkey Double Happiness Book, and Dungeon Quest.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)