×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Red Ribbons
     

Red Ribbons

1.0 1
by Louise Phillips
 

See All Formats & Editions

The critically acclaimed first novel in Louise Phillips's award-winning and internationally bestselling Kate Pearson thriller series.

THE SERIAL KILLER

A missing schoolgirl is found buried in the Dublin Mountains, hands clasped together in prayer, two red ribbons in her hair. Twenty-four hours later, a second schoolgirl is found in a shallow grave –

Overview

The critically acclaimed first novel in Louise Phillips's award-winning and internationally bestselling Kate Pearson thriller series.

THE SERIAL KILLER

A missing schoolgirl is found buried in the Dublin Mountains, hands clasped together in prayer, two red ribbons in her hair. Twenty-four hours later, a second schoolgirl is found in a shallow grave – her body identically arranged. The hurt for the killer is on.

THE CRIMINAL PSYCHOLOGIST

The police call in criminal psychologist, Kate Pearson, to get inside the mind of the murderer before he strikes again. But the more Kate discovers about the killings, the more it all feels terrifyingly familiar.

THE ACCUSED WOMAN

As the pressure to find the killer intensifies there's one vital connection to be made – Ellie Brady, a woman institutionalised fifteen years earlier for the murder of her daughter Amy. She stopped talking when everybody stopped listening.

But what connects the death of Amy Brady to the murdered schoolgirls? As Kate Pearson, begins to unravel the truth, danger is closer than she knows...

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
★ 01/02/2017
Irish author Phillips makes her U.S. debut with a masterly psychological thriller, set mainly in and around Dublin in the spring and fall of 2011. The Dublin police call in Dr. Kate Pearson, who counsels young offenders, because of her extensive experience of criminal profiling in the U.K. A farmer outside the city has found the grave of a 12-year-old girl on his land; she’s dressed in her school uniform, her body arranged with meticulous care. An examination of the corpse reveals that her hair was braided and adorned with red bows after her death. When a 13-year-old girl goes missing and is subsequently discovered dead in similar circumstances, Kate realizes that a serial killer is at work. Phillips delicately interweaves the stories of Kate, who feel increasingly distant from her husband; Ellie Brady, a woman who has been institutionalized for 15 years after murdering her daughter; and the killer. The foibles, fears and strengths of each fully realized character all come into play and affect their judgment. In short, they are people the reader will care about. (Nov.)
From the Publisher
"A masterly psychological thriller...The foibles, fears and strengths of each fully realized character all come into play and affect their judgment. In short, they are people the reader will care about." —Publishers Weekly (Starred Review)

Praise for the novels of Louise Phillips

"A cracker of a novel, highly recommended, a phenomenal debut."
-Arlene Hunt

"Red Ribbons is an absolutely brilliant book ... spine-tingling with loads of twists and turns. A debut novel from a great writer who will soon be up there with the likes of Patricia Cornwell."
-Stafford FM

"Dark, spooky but believable."
-Irish Examiner

"Red Ribbons has been getting rave reviews, especially for the insight it offers into the emotions of a mother who has lost her child."
-Irish Mail on Sunday

"The pace of this book is spot on, revealing information from the killer's past bit by bit to keep the reader turning the page."
-Novelicious

"Fans of Sophie Hannah and SJ Watson will devour."
-Writing.ie

"Louise Phillips goes from strength to strength."
-Irish Independent

"Among the best crime writing in the world."
-Mark Philpott, BBC Radio Ulster

"I can certainly validate that Phillips is an equal to James Patterson, Sara Paretsky, Patricia Cornwell or any authors of cracking good police procedurals."
-By the Book Reviews

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781943818273
Publisher:
Polis Books
Publication date:
11/15/2016
Pages:
368
Sales rank:
534,322
Product dimensions:
5.40(w) x 16.20(h) x 1.00(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Louise Phillip's debut novel, RED RIBBONS, featuring criminal psychologist Kate Pearson, was nominated for the Best Irish Crime Novel of the Year, and her second novel, THE DOLL’S HOUSE, won the award. Louise’s work has formed part of many literary anthologies, and she has won both the Jonathan Swift Award and the Irish Writers’ Centre Lonely Voice platform, along with being shortlisted for the Molly Keane Memorial Award, Bridport UK, and many others. She is the recipient of an arts bursary for literature, and this year, she was awarded a writers’ residency at Cill Rialaig Artist retreat. She was also a judge on the Irish panel for the EU Literary Award. Polis Books will be releasing her Kate Pearson series in North American for the first time beginning with Red Ribbons. Visit her at louisephillips.com and follow her at @LouiseMPhillips.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Red Ribbons 1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous 25 days ago
This book in my opinion lacked any conviction or character connection. It's written with zero emotion and the characters are generic. I just could not get over the stiffness and how every sentence referred to the characters name...Not believable dialogue. It was a painful drag to the end and I failed to see any suspense or twist in it. It's all blatantly obvious.