The Reluctant Prophet (Reluctant Prophet Series #1)

The Reluctant Prophet (Reluctant Prophet Series #1)

4.6 24
by Nancy Rue
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

The first in a new trilogy from seasoned writing team Nancy Rue and Stephen Arterburn, The Reluctant Prophet shows how one person's response to God's call can change a community forever. Forty-something Allison Chamberlain is still halfheartedly trying to figure out what to be when she grows up. It's a surprise to everyone when she feels a divine nudge to buy a

…  See more details below

Overview

The first in a new trilogy from seasoned writing team Nancy Rue and Stephen Arterburn, The Reluctant Prophet shows how one person's response to God's call can change a community forever. Forty-something Allison Chamberlain is still halfheartedly trying to figure out what to be when she grows up. It's a surprise to everyone when she feels a divine nudge to buy a Harley motorcycle and go wherever it takes her. Soon Allison finds herself in the darkest corners of society, bringing home drug-addicted prostitutes and pointing out the narrow fears of her church group. Along the way, she learns the heartache of the very poor—and how healing can come through the voice of God and those who follow it.

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
Allison Chamberlain may go to church every Sunday, but she's not the most likely candidate for the role of prophet. At age 44, she still hasn't figured out her life. No one believes Allison when she claims to have a divine feeling that she should buy a Harley and travel to preach to the poor and destitute. VERDICT Allison is a likable protagonist, and the humor and warmth of this first title in a new trilogy by a prolific CF author will appeal to fans of Neta Jackson's "Yada Yada" series and Robin Jones Gunn's "Sisterchicks" series.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781434764966
Publisher:
Cook, David C.
Publication date:
10/01/2010
Series:
Reluctant Prophet Series, #1
Edition description:
New
Pages:
496
Product dimensions:
8.52(w) x 11.28(h) x 1.27(d)

Videos

Meet the Author

Nancy Rue is the author of over 100 books for adults and teens, including Healing Waters, which was a 2009 Women of Faith Novel of the Year, and has recently been named an ECPA 2010 Christian Book Award Finalist.

Nancy travels extensively—at times on the back of a Harley Davidson—speaking and teaching to groups of ‘tween girls and their moms and mentoring aspiring Christian authors. She lives on a lake in Tennessee with her Harley-ridin’ husband Jim and their two yellow labs (without whom writing would be difficult.)
 

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Reluctant Prophet 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 23 reviews.
thistlegal More than 1 year ago
If you are tired of "pretentious Christianity, this book is for you. It is about being a real follower of Christ...doing the hard stuff...not looking for the easy way. A good quote to capsulize this book would be, "Preach the Gospel at all times and when necessary, use words."
Countrysidegirl More than 1 year ago
Excellent book! Couldn't put it down. I normally read the historical christian fiction, but I'm very glad I made an exception this time!
jsparrow747 More than 1 year ago
When I saw the title and the cover, I envisioned the mid-life crisis of a woman who grabs a Harley and ventures across country to fulfill temporary mission projects. Not so. In The Reluctant Prophet, God calls Allison to ride only eight blocks to impact a community. Her reluctance is evident... as well as God's provision. It is a profound story that every Christian should read. It's hard to believe this contemporary story is fiction. The authentic dialog melds the reader with the thoughts of the characters and the action. While a bit longer than some novels, it's worth reading to the end. Fresh revelations are discovered up to last page. On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being the best, I rate it a 12!
ChristysBookBlog More than 1 year ago
The Reluctant Prophet by Nancy Rue is an inspiring story of learning to listen to God. Allison Chamberlain is settled into her life at forty-two as a horse-drawn carriage driver in St. Augustine, Florida. She attends church regularly, enjoys a good relationship with the members of her Bible study, and living alone, until she gets a very distinct message from God to buy a Harley-Davidson motorcycle. This begins a rapid change in her life as she continues to listen to "Nudges" from the Lord. She buys the bike, takes lessons to ride it, becomes involved in the local owners group, HOG, and then feels drawn toward King Street, the red-light district in town. Chief, one of the HOG leaders, introduces her to a man dying in a nursing home whose only request is to see his crack-addicted prostitute daughter Geneveve before he dies. Allison answers that request, so when he gives another, to take care of Geneveve and her son Desmond, she can't say no to the dying man. Soon Allison has two more prostitutes living in her home, along with Geneveve and charming yet troubled Desmond, and she is ministering to them however God calls her to, which turns her Bible study friends and pastor against her. But Allison has been given a mission from God, and life has just gotten very interesting. I'm a big fan of Rue's Sullivan Crisp series with Stephen Arterburn. Her fiction has an unexpected depth and some of the most three-dimensional characters I've ever encountered. Reluctant Prophet is even better than my expectations. Allison has a very complex history, and she is a bit off-putting at first, but once readers fall in love with her, the pages begin to really fly. Rue brings up some difficult issues about American Christianity: salvation is for only the right people, if a person isn't living the life we approve of they aren't saved, and what does Jesus' life tell us to do about those in need? Allison's disillusionment with her church and pastor is, I think, very symptomatic of what is going on in with Gens X and Y in their relationship with the church. Rue somehow manages to do it all with both a sense of humor and a unshakable sense of righteousness. I don't think that Allison's story is over yet, there are some storylines open with Troy and her family history. I hope that Rue writes another book using this amazing cast of characters again soon!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A fast read and reality oriented that God is in our lives especially when we think He is not--always leading--and never pushing!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this book. Good premise and engaging characters. Well worth reading again.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This story challenged me, personally, to be willing to reach out to the undesirable and not allow traditional Christianity to hold me back. I laughed and I cried as I got involved with the characters in this book.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put it down. Stayed up all night just to finish. The entire series pulls you in. Hated to say good bye.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I usually do not pay for e books so I got this as a freebie and felt a 'nudge' to read it and I am so glad I did! This author is awesome! The story opened my eyes about the judgements I pass on people. Needless to say, I have purchased the next book in the series!
Lilibet_King More than 1 year ago
The catch phrase on the back of the book sums up the plot quite accurately: "God gets the girl. The girl gets the Harley." After seven years as a Christian, our heroine Allison Chamberlain gets a sudden divine nudge to purchase a motorcycle and follow God out of her comfort zone to reach people who are often forgotten by the church. There are many twists and turns as she meets people along the way. This is a great book for many reasons. For one, it grabs your attention and won't let it go. I picked it up one night intending to read for 30 minutes before bed, and the next thing I knew, I had been reading for over two hous! For another, Rue gently makes legitimate points about how many churches look down on certain segments of our society and do not truly welcome the homeless, the drug addicts, or the prostitutes into our fellowship. I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys good fiction in a contemporary setting. If you enjoy this book, check out the Sullivan Crisp series by Nancy Rue and Steve Arterburn - Healing Stones, Healing Waters and Healing Sands.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Seven years ago Allison Chamberlain found Jesus, but now he had yet to find the forty something woman though she diligently prays (and whines) wishing he would. At the Flagler Community Church while the Reverend Howard eloquently slings arrows, Allison finally receives a divine message telling her to buy a Harley. Allison fears she lost her mind, but also has learned to follow her impulses even if they seem inane. She purchases the Harley and soon still heeding the mental nudges from she assumes Jesus, Allison begins riding into the darkest communities she previously avoided like these were leper colonies as she brings the Word to the impoverishrd unfaithful while the members of the congregation she faithfully sat with in the pew fear for her mental state. This is an intriguing well written inspirational tale starring the aptly titled The Reluctant Prophet. Character (and bike) driven, readers will reassess their own faith and church as Allison follows the voice in her head riding her bike to places she avoided out of fear before she bought the Harley. Nancy Rue provides a terrific Christian inspirationa talel. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved this book:cant wait to read the next one. Great story,terrific writing, interesting and made me cry at a couple points! I HIGHLY RECCOMEND THIS BOOK
terri14560 More than 1 year ago
Wow, I was scared, laughing, broken hearted, laughing and oh so hooked- I can not wait until book#2!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I liked this book so much that when we had the opportunity to go to Nashville, TN we went to Thistlefarm store and Thistlestop Café, the organization that was the model for Sacrement House. This is boots-on-the-ground Christianity...the kind Jesus lived. The characters were real and intriguing in their interactions, even those who only got a passing mention...leaving me wanting to know more about them also. Thoroughly enjoyed this book and purchased the remaining books in the trilogy. They didn't disappoint either.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I laughed, I cried, I was offended, I cheered. This is a fantastic story! I didn't want it to end!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"Every human being wants to be seen" I love how this author shows how to be nudged by God and help homeless prostitutes. Made a great bookclub discussion in my group.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Really enjoyed the read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Terrific read