Retrovirus

Retrovirus

by Jimmy Palmiotti
     
 

  • When Zoe, a brilliant young scientist who specializes in identifying extinct viruses, is offered a job at a remote research facility in Antarctica, she soon discovers her employer has unearthed a perfectly preserved Neanderthal. That is only one of the many dark secrets lurking at the facility as Zoe races against time to stop a global pandemic.
  • In the
…  See more details below

Overview

  • When Zoe, a brilliant young scientist who specializes in identifying extinct viruses, is offered a job at a remote research facility in Antarctica, she soon discovers her employer has unearthed a perfectly preserved Neanderthal. That is only one of the many dark secrets lurking at the facility as Zoe races against time to stop a global pandemic.
  • In the vein of Andromeda Strain, Altered States, and
    Jurassic Park, Retrovirus seamlessly blends human drama, action,
    science fiction, and horror into a 64-page graphic novel written by Jimmy
    Palmiotti & Justin Gray (Queen Crab, Jonah Hex,
    Creator-Owned Heroes) and illustrated by Norberto Fernandez (The
    Tattered Man
    ).

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
A renowned scientist is tapped to work on a secretive project searching for a cure to a virus discovered when a Neanderthal is unearthed. Traveling to Antarctica, the quest gets darker—and way bloodier. Funded on Kickstarter and published by Image, this is a strange book from two writers known for their sense of humor and adventure in books such as Power Girl. This is action movie as comic, with a dry, driving tone and on-the-nose dialogue. The strength of the book lies in the story's mystery element—and the anticipation of how some aspects might play out. However, these intrigues lose some steam when the climactic action scenes are followed by talking heads explaining what was really going on all along. Fernandez's hyper-detailed art shifts between compelling, gruesome fight sequences and expositional conversation rendered with scowls and gritted teeth. Although the storytelling in general is adequate, the art is uneven, with characters drawn inconsistently and some wholly unnecessary female nudity. Despite the uneven tone, the story works as a done-in-one thriller. (Dec.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781607066408
Publisher:
Image Comics
Publication date:
12/04/2012
Pages:
64
Product dimensions:
6.80(w) x 10.50(h) x 0.40(d)
Age Range:
16 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >