Return to Tradd Street (Tradd Street Series #4)

Return to Tradd Street (Tradd Street Series #4)

4.3 47
by Karen White
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Facing her future as a single mother, psychic Realtor Melanie Middleton is determined to be strong and leave her past with writer Jack Trenholm behind her. But history has a tendency of catching up with Melanie, whether she likes it or not.…

Melanie is only going through the motions of living since refusing Jack’s marriage proposal. She misses

Overview

Facing her future as a single mother, psychic Realtor Melanie Middleton is determined to be strong and leave her past with writer Jack Trenholm behind her. But history has a tendency of catching up with Melanie, whether she likes it or not.…

Melanie is only going through the motions of living since refusing Jack’s marriage proposal. She misses him desperately, but her broken heart is the least of her problems. Despite an insistence that she can raise their child alone, Melanie is completely unprepared for motherhood, and she struggles to complete renovations on her house on Tradd Street before the baby arrives.

When Melanie is roused one night by the sound of a ghostly infant crying, she chooses to ignore it. She simply does not have the energy to deal with one more crisis. That is, until the remains of a newborn buried in an old christening gown are found hidden in the foundation of her house.

As the hauntings on Tradd Street slowly become more violent, Melanie decides to find out what caused the baby’s untimely death, uncovering the love, loss, and betrayal that color the house’s history—and threaten her claim of ownership. But can she seek Jack’s help without risking her heart? For in revealing the secrets of the past, Melanie also awakens the malevolent presence that has tried to keep the truth hidden for decades.…

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
Praise for the Novels of Karen White

“One of the best new writers on the scene today.”—The Huffington Post

“Spooky, sensual, suspenseful…it’s just too good not to share.”—Southern Literary Review

“An extremely talented and colorful writer with tons of imagination.”—Fresh Fiction

"Warm, real, and exciting."—Publishers Weekly

"The fresh voice of Karen White intrigues and delights."—Sandra Chastain, contributor to At Home in Mossy Creek

"Warmly Southern and deeply moving."—New York Times bestselling author Deborah Smith

"In the tradition of Catherine Anderson and Deborah Smith...Incredibly poignant contemporary bursting with Southern charm."—Patricia Rouse, Rouse's Romance Readers Groups

Kirkus Reviews
2013-12-19
Realtor and psychic Melanie Middleton is facing single motherhood in a haunted house she refuses to admit she loves, but it seems her pregnancy has awakened some malevolent feelings in at least one of the ghosts who shares her home. Mellie is sinking a fortune into her inherited mansion in Charleston, S.C., while trying to convince herself that she hates old houses. Newly pregnant, she has broken up with the father, Jack, a local best-selling novelist, since he won't tell her he loves her. Mellie is reconciled to single motherhood and has a posse of people around her to help, including her until-recently estranged parents, her best friend, and Jack's teenage daughter, Nola. Mellie shares an ability to see and interact with ghosts with her mother, which comes in handy when an infant's skeleton is found in the foundation during renovation work, an event that seems to awaken violent intentions in at least one of the many ghosts who live in her historic home. Working with the circle of friends and colleagues who've helped her solve ghostly mysteries before, Mellie races to untangle the complicated secrets of the past and the tragic story behind the tiny buried body, since the poltergeist's capacity for violence is escalating, threatening Mellie and her child. As she works through the web of past residents of the house, Mellie also finds herself confronting some personal demons, and revisiting relationships with friends, family and Jack, even while their research may uncover truths that threaten her claim on the house that she's fallen in love with. In this installment of White's Tradd Street series, there's nothing groundbreaking or surprising. White is a good writer and carries an intriguing story smoothly forward, combining a number of complex psychic, historical and romantic elements. Mellie can get tiresome (eat a doughnut, already!); the romantic he-loves-me-he-loves-me-not arc becomes annoying; and the historical mystery is somewhat convoluted, but overall, the book is an interesting, engaging read. More of the same from White and protagonist Mellie, which will please fans immensely.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780451240590
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
01/07/2014
Series:
Tradd Street Series, #4
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
71,219
Product dimensions:
9.90(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are saying about this

From the Publisher

Praise for the Novels of Karen White

“One of the best new writers on the scene today.”—The Huffington Post

“Spooky, sensual, suspenseful…it’s just too good not to share.”—Southern Literary Review

“An extremely talented and colorful writer with tons of imagination.”—Fresh Fiction

"Warm, real, and exciting."—Publishers Weekly

"The fresh voice of Karen White intrigues and delights."—Sandra Chastain, contributor to At Home in Mossy Creek

"Warmly Southern and deeply moving."—New York Times bestselling author Deborah Smith

"In the tradition of Catherine Anderson and Deborah Smith...Incredibly poignant contemporary bursting with Southern charm."—Patricia Rouse, Rouse's Romance Readers Groups

Meet the Author

Karen White is the award-winning author of sixteen previous books, including After the Rain, The Time Between, Folly Beach, Falling Home, and such Tradd Street novels as The Strangers on Montagu Street and The Girl on Legare Street. She grew up in London but now lives with her husband and two children near Atlanta, Georgia.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Return to Tradd Street 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
JN66 More than 1 year ago
I loved this book and I have now read 3 of her books and I am looking forward to more of her work. She brings the people in the books to life and makes them feel like family. I like the way she has brought in the lives of the other people in the book and the history of the towns. I am now reading Return to Tradd Street. She is now one of my favorite writers.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was a good book to finish up the series. Im sure another one will come out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
For 005
Leslie_A More than 1 year ago
Great book with all kinds of twists and turns!!! Can't wait till we get #5!!!! Keep writing Karen!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Same old same old. When i read the first few of this series, i feel in love with the writer. Now it sounds like the penelope plum books. Over and over again the same character, dense, doing stupid things, being self centered and a push over for people she doesn't even like. Im only half way through this and im so disappointed in this author. Enough already. Make the character grow up or let this be the end of our misery. This author writes well and i love the stand alones but no more of this boring, childish female. Please.
JayJG More than 1 year ago
I love the Tradd Street books. I am reading them again having just visited the beautiful historic Charleston. I've read most of Ms Whites novels, shared them with friends and book club members! Great characters and humor and interesting story lines. Still a fan of the ghost stories!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I hate to say this but I'm very sad that the book is finished. Couldn't wait to come home from work and read this book. I don't come across too many books that make you drop everything to read. I cannot wait for the next edition of the Tradd Street books.....a whole year? Ahhhhhhgggggg. You will enjoy these books. Give them a try.
kimwj5663 More than 1 year ago
My son's name is Tradd!!!
cammie3 More than 1 year ago
LOVE THIS AUTHOR! This is the first book I read by this author & have since read several more of her books. I've read all the books in the Tradd street series & loved all of them! 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am disappointed in the progression of this series. I like the premise of this book but I'm sad that the author made Melanie into such a whiney, annoying character. It's ok for a woman to feel insecure but this was too much. And, after four books I am tired of the author's obsession with scorning Birkenstocks and organic food. I've read some of Karen White's other books and I'm surprised at all of the sillyness. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Me?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
bongie More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. A nice summer read that is full of adventure and charm.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The words in this novel flowed together like so many rocks rolling down a hill creating a distracting dust around everything. The overall plot is okay, especially the paranormal one. The characters as some mentioned are weak and annoying - especially the main character. My favorite is the contractor, he's a well thought out character and adds humor to the sometimes mundane. Overall, I think Ms. White needs to do herself a favor and find a new editor. She has interesting ideas but the writing reminds me of a teenage girl.
momof3boysj More than 1 year ago
I loved this next chapter in Mellie and Jack's life as they solve another mystery surrounding the house on 55 Tradd Street, begin their family through the pregnancy of twins, and each finally discovers they've been in love with one another since they met--Jack finally tells her he loves her! And, they marry (twice) to complete the family they became when Nola came into their lives. I loved the journey of how almost losing everything forces both of them to decide what they really want--in life and love!  The question--is this the finally chapter, or will we get more?! Karen White is truly one of the most gifted authors in contemporary fiction! I highly recommend this book!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
debbievc More than 1 year ago
Perfect couple, perfect story, perfect mix of humor, fear and love. The perfect story, like a perfect family has to find just the right mix of all the elements to continue to gel. Karen White gets the measurements right time after time with Melanie and Jack, as well as all of the rest of the kooky, lovable family, friends and pets that make up this series. My sincere hope is that Karen finds many, many more stories to weave around this delightful ensemble.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
anniemichelle More than 1 year ago
A most excellent 5 star read! As usual, Karen is at the top of her game. This series just tickles my fancy. I love the southern setting. I used to live in the south and when I read about it, I miss it. I love The Tradd street series with its mystery, humor, ghosts and just a pinch of sexual tension that is so refreshing!! All of Karen's book are wonderful reads, I will continue to be excited every time I see she has a new one coming out.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago