Richard Strauss: Complete Music for Wind Ensemble

( 1 )
$17.09 price
(Save 5%)$17.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $8.77   
  • New (5) from $8.77   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 6/28/2011
  • Label: Newton Classics
  • EAN: 8718247710669
  • Catalog Number: 8802066
  • Sales rank: 308,807


Disc 1
  1. 1 Oboe Concerto in D major, o.Op. 144 (TrV 292, AV 144) - Richard Strauss & Heinz Holliger (26:23)
  2. 2 Sonatina No. 2 for 16 wind instruments in E flat major ("Happy Workshop"), o.Op. 143 (TrV 291, AV 143) - Richard Strauss & Edo de Waart (40:08)
  3. 3 Sonatina No. 1 for 16 wind instruments in F major ("From the Workshop of an Invalid"), o.Op. 135 (TrV 288, AV 135) - Richard Strauss & Edo de Waart (32:28)
  4. 4 Suite for 13 wind instruments in B flat major, Op. 4 (TrV 132) - Richard Strauss & Edo de Waart (23:41)
  5. 5 Serenade for 13 wind instruments in E flat major, Op. 7 (TrV 106) - Richard Strauss & Edo de Waart (8:56)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Netherlands Wind Ensemble Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    Exquisite Wind Playing

    Ironically enough, Strauss' love affair with the woodwind family occupied the composer at the outset of his long career with the Serenade of 1881 and culminated with the 2 Sonatinas of 1943-45 near its conclusion. Strauss' technical and intuitive grasp of instrumentation often found its most eloquent, urbane outlet in the body of works he specifically devised for winds. There is an ease of expression here that is uniquely refreshing. Absent is the sturm und drang of the tone poems or the bravura of the stage works. Perhaps it was the composer's admiration of Mozart's achievements in this realm that was the primary catalyst. Regardless, this is a significant subset of the composer's output which is often overlooked. Thanks to Newton Classics for reinstating this highly prized package from the 1970's. As expected, the Netherlands Wind Ensemble does a terrific job with this repertory: ensemble, intonation, phrasing, balance and rhythmic precision are all given their proper due. Despite some significant competition, this set rises to the top of the pile by virtue of its ambitious scope as well as the inclusion of the lovely Oboe Concerto as performed by Heinz Holliger. Sonics are Grade A: an ideal blend of transparency and warmth. Packaging and liner notes are exemplary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews