Rimsky-Korsakov: Scheherazade, Russian Easter Festival Overture, etc.

( 1 )

Editorial Reviews

Daily Telegraph - Geoffrey Norris
The musical context of this Ansermet re-issue is particularly full and ear-catching.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
BN.com price
(Save 13%)$17.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (11) from $3.99   
  • New (9) from $10.18   
  • Used (2) from $3.99   

Editorial Reviews

Daily Telegraph - Geoffrey Norris
The musical context of this Ansermet re-issue is particularly full and ear-catching.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • Release Date: 2/14/1995
  • Label: Decca
  • UPC: 028944346428
  • Catalog Number: 443464
  • Sales rank: 27,199


Disc 1
  1. 1 Scheherazade, symphonic suite for orchestra, Op. 35 - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & Ernest Ansermet (43:39)
  2. 2 May Night: Overture (Mayskaya noch'), for orchestra - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & Ernest Ansermet (8:14)
  3. 3 The Tale of Tsar Saltan (Skazka o Tsare Saltane), musical pictures (suite) for orchestra, Op. 57 - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & Ernest Ansermet (19:00)
  4. 4 The Tale of Tsar Saltan (Skazka o Tsare Saltane), opera in 4 acts with a prologue: The flight of the bumblebee - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & Ernest Ansermet (1:49)
  5. 5 Russian Easter Festival Overture (Svetlïy pazdnik), for orchestra, Op. 36 - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & Ernest Ansermet (14:49)
  6. 6 Christmas Eve Suite (Noch' pered rozhdestvom), for orchestra (with optional chorus ad lib) - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & Ernest Ansermet (23:51)
  7. 7 Dubinushka (The Little Oak Stick) (II), tone poem for orchestra and chorus ad lib, Op. 62 - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & Ernest Ansermet (4:21)
  8. 8 Sadko: Musical Picture (iii, 1892 revision), tone poem for orchestra, Op. 5 - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & Ernest Ansermet (11:00)
  9. 9 The Snow Maiden (Snegurochka), suite for orchestra - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & Ernest Ansermet (12:35)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Ernest Ansermet Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 2
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Disappointing Orchestral Execution

    The only reason to consider this particular Rimsky-Korsakov collection over any other is the relatively hard-to-find "Christmas Eve" suite, and even then I'd recommend that you keep looking. This orchestra suffers from frequent intonation problems that get in the way of enjoying the music. There is also the obligatory botched trumpet entrance that plagues so many other recordings (disc 2, track 2, 15:32). The quality is a disappointment from a usually reliable major label.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews