The Rise of the Iron Moon

The Rise of the Iron Moon

4.3 11
by Stephen Hunt
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

From the author of The Court of the Air and The Kingdom Beyond the Waves comes a thrilling new adventure set in the same Victorian-style world. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman and Susanna Clarke.Born into captivity as a product of the Royal Breeding House, friendless orphan Purity Drake suddenly finds herself on the run with a foreign vagrant from the North after

Overview

From the author of The Court of the Air and The Kingdom Beyond the Waves comes a thrilling new adventure set in the same Victorian-style world. Perfect for fans of Philip Pullman and Susanna Clarke.Born into captivity as a product of the Royal Breeding House, friendless orphan Purity Drake suddenly finds herself on the run with a foreign vagrant from the North after accidentally killing one of her guards.Her strange rescuer claims he is on the run himself from terrible forces who mean to enslave the Kingdom of Jackals as they conquered his own nation. Purity doubts his story, until reports begin to filter through from Jackals’ neighbours of the terrible Army of Shadows, marching across the continent and sweepign all before them.But there’s more to Purity than meets the eye. As Jackals girds itself for war against and army of near-unkillable beasts serving an ancient evil with a terrible secret, it soon becomes clear that their only hope is a strange little royalist girl and the last, desperate plan of an escaped slave.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
This campy postapocalyptic steampunk environmental morality tale brings together several characters from 2009's The Court of the Air and 2010's The Kingdom Beyond the Waves and takes them on a hair-raising rollercoaster of an adventure. When the Army of Shadows threatens the Kingdom of Jackals and the Quatérshift, the two countries must set aside their differences and work together against the monstrous and dangerous foe. The Shadows appear to be a completely unknown form of life, and their nature compels destruction of everything in their path. Molly Templar, Commodore Black, Duncan Connor, Coppertracks the Steamman, Oliver Brooks and a few new faces must race the clock to stem the tide of this horrendous evil. A dash of earth magic and a dose of environmental angst make this a bumpy but enjoyable ride. (Mar.)
From the Publisher

“To say this book is action packed is almost an understatement…a wonderful escapist yarn!” —Interzone on The Rise of the Iron Moon

“Compulsive reading for all ages.” —Guardian on The Rise of the Iron Moon

“Wildly imaginative and compelling, this charming steampunk yarn plays out against a backdrop of civil war and failed rebellion, layered and complex treachery, and love in surprising corners.” —Publishers Weekly on The Kingdom Beyond The Waves

“A Dickensian atmosphere with shades of Indiana Jones featuring a strong-willed adventuress that will appeal to steampunk fans.” —Library Journal on The Kingdom Beyond The Waves

“Steampunk fantasy and SF with a Victorian-era feel… A rip-roaring Indiana Jones-style adventure.” —RT Book Reviews (4 stars) on The Kingdom Beyond The Waves

Kirkus Reviews

Third fantasy set in Hunt's teeming, mind-boggling steampunk universe (The Court of the Air,2007, etc.), this time complete with interplanetary invaders courtesy of H.G. Wells.

Astronomer and steamman Aliquot Coppertracks notices odd celestial events: signs of civilization on supposedly dead Mars; the abrupt return of a comet centuries before it's due; and, impossibly, stars shifting their positions in the heavens. Kyorin, representative of Martian humans who have been resisting evil overlords for eons, makes contact with author Molly Templar, who in turn rouses wily old U-boat captain Commodore Black, the eerie outlaw Oliver Brooks and others. But in advance of the invading Army of Shadows and their irresistible superscience have come bloodthirsty "slats" in pursuit of Kyorin and his message. What do the evil Martians want with humanity? In a word, lunch. Once the impending invasion can no longer be ignored, the rival realms of Jackals (think Victorian Britain) and Quatérshift (post-revolutionary France) form an uneasy alliance. An expedition to Mars must be mounted, so that Kyorin's people can pass on their fading knowledge in the hope of defeating the monstrous slats. Along the way, Hunt splendidly ridicules both the pompous Victorian scientific establishment and the French Revolution's more pretentious aspirations. Once again, however, the narrative's overstuffed and overcomplicated, which Hunt fans evidently relish, and improbably prolonged, with a showdown that recedes almost as fast as the plot rushes toward it.

A swaggering, eye-filling, brain-swizzling extravaganza, though Hunt's hyperkinetic saga may be a taste not all readers will wish to acquire.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780007301881
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
02/05/2009
Series:
Jackelian Series
Sold by:
HarperCollins Publishers
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
455
Sales rank:
940,086
File size:
474 KB

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Stephen Hunt is the author of several fantasy titles set in the Victorian-style world of the Kingdom of Jackals and is also the founder of www.SFcrowsnest.com, one of the oldest and most popular fan-run science fiction and fantasy websites, with nearly three quarters of a million readers each month. Born in Canada, the author presently lives in London, as well as spending part of the year with his family in Spain

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

The Rise of the Iron Moon 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 7 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Astronomer Aliquot Coppertracks the Steam-man observes strange happenings in space. First there is signs of life on a dead Mars at the same time a comet not due to return in centuries arrives as if its orbit was dramatically diminished, and finally the stars are no longer aligned with one another as they have been seemingly forever. At the same Martian human representative Kyorin arrives on planet and meets Molly Templar. He explains his mission as his people struggle with the bloke of evil rulers. She turns to U-boat captain Commodore Black, and outlaw Oliver Brooks for help. However, the Army of Shadows has followed Kyorin and those their enemy has talked to with one mission: kill them. When the Martians arrive in full superior science and technology invasion mode, the enemy nations Jackals and Quatershift must unite to prevent the end of all living things at home by mounting an assault on Mars. Over the top of Olympus Mons, the latest steampunk post-apocalyptic thriller (see The Court of the Air and The Kingdom Beyond the Waves) is an exhilarating tale that lampoons the modern day anti-Dickensian deniers by satirizing the Victorian era. Fast-paced, the enemy nations of Jackals and Quatershift (England and France) must unite against a brutal mutual threat by the Army of Shadows (Germany) or face a blitzkrieg total annihilation in this entertaining environmental cautionary tale. Harriet Klausner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
He dipped his head gratefully, smiling. He padded of toward the others.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
"A ct with good intent. Loyal. Ambitious. Overall just somecat worthy of it"
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But with Ms Harriet Klausner reviewing I don't really need to read the book now do I? Definition of a spoiler. Would you please stop?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nnnnnnnn