River Home

Overview

"This bright and sharply written book is a guide to a life lived consciously, a prerequisite and bonus of the sport done well." -Lisa Faye Kaplan, ,USA Today"Jerry Dennis writes of fly fishing as well as anyone, in both essays and short stories, blending a lyric prose style with an uncommonly sharp eye and a generous imagination." -W. D. Wetherell, author of North of Now
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (15) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $7.71   
  • Used (11) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$7.71
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(48)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Hardcover New 0312185944 FAST shipping. New Unread Book. (Thank you for shopping from us. Order inquiries handled promptly. )

Ships from: FORT LAUDERDALE, FL

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$41.13
Seller since 2005

Feedback rating:

(253)

Condition: New
1998 Hardcover First Edition New in New dust jacket 9780312185947. New. No remainder marks. Display copy with slightly shelf twisted. Prisitne condition. BookNest-providing ... professional service for more than 16 years.; 8.30 X 5.60 X 0.90 inches; 227 pages. Read more Show Less

Ships from: Blairstown, NJ

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$99.49
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(280)

Condition: New
Brand New Item.

Ships from: Chatham, NJ

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$125.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(178)

Condition: New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

"This bright and sharply written book is a guide to a life lived consciously, a prerequisite and bonus of the sport done well." -Lisa Faye Kaplan, ,USA Today"Jerry Dennis writes of fly fishing as well as anyone, in both essays and short stories, blending a lyric prose style with an uncommonly sharp eye and a generous imagination." -W. D. Wetherell, author of North of Now
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Convinced þnobody knows beansþ about why fish bite, Dennis (A Place on the Water, 1993) eschews the usual nuts and bolts of fishing in favor of entertaining personal essays laced with good humor and middle-age nostalgia. The author, who recently moved to a farmhouse on a peninsula in Lake Michiganþs Grand Traverse Bay, writes that the concept of home tends þto expand as we grow older to include the rivers and lakes where we fish and boat, the woods where we hunt and hike, every place that has emotional and historical significance.þ The wistfulness behind that statement keynotes many of these pieces. In þA Trout for the Old Guy,þ Dennis comes across a cigar box full of dry flies tied by a crotchety old fisherman he hadnþt thought about in 25 years. Elsewhere, he notes that there are three days of fishing he never misses: opening day, for obvious reasons; the great Hex hatch on Michiganþs rivers in late June, and the last day of the season, that final day to þbe taken slowly, like a last meal.þ Dennis has some fun discussing good fishing buddies and what qualifies them as such, and he takes dozens of 24-inch rainbows from the Rio Puelo in Chile, along with a 5-pound brook trout, þas bulky as a steroid junky.þ One of the best pieces, and by far the funniest, is þFish Naked,þ wherein he pokes fun at the sartorial correctness of catalogue-outfitted anglers. He harks back to a 1970s trip to the Firehole in Yellowstone National Park when he and a friend happened on a naked man and woman fishing side by side. þMaybe nude angling was a local tradition. Maybe it was a tactic. þ Not quite upto his earlier efforts, but Dennisþs descriptive writing and his sense of fishing as serious fun keeps this one afloat. (illustrations)
USA Today - Lisa Faye Kaplan
"This bright and sharply written book is a guide to a life lived consciously, a prerequisite and bonus of the sport done well."
Outdoor Life - Vin Sparano
“Jerry Dennis is on his way to becoming a giant of classic outdoor literature.”
The Oakland Press
“In this book, Dennis elevates the typical ‘outdoor’ essay, usually a mere recollection of adventures while hunting, fishing, camping, canoeing, or pursuing other outdoor activities. He has transcended the typical by blending in elements of ‘nature’ writing: observation, research, speculation about the world in which the sportsman places himself.”
Booklist - Booklist Booklist
“Collections of essays about the outdoors and fishing crowd the shelves, but Dennis’s fresh writing and marvelous insights merit special attention. This fine collection will appeal to fans of Hal Borland, W.D. Wetherell, and Nick Lyons, as well as to those who enjoy the essays of fiction writers William Tapply and Thomas McGuane.”
Georgia Times-Union
“Even if you’ve never pulled on a pair of waders, you should read this funny and wise book about fly fishing – and a lot more.”
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780312185947
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Publication date: 5/1/1998
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 227
  • Product dimensions: 5.75 (w) x 8.57 (h) x 0.99 (d)

Meet the Author

Jerry Dennis’s essays on nature have appeared in The New York Times, Smithsonian, Audubon, Orion, and many other publications. His books, most of them illustrated by Glenn Wolff, have received wide acclaim, have been translated into five languages, and have won numerous awards. He lives in northern Michigan. Visit him at www.jerrydennis.net.

Glenn Wolff grew up in northern Michigan but he began his career in New York City as an illustrator for The New York Times, Village Voice, the Central Park Conservancy, and the New York Zoological Society. In addition to his collaborations with Jerry Dennis, he has illustrated a broad range of subjects, including food, Christmas, mythical beasts, and lost continents. Glenn’s mixed media fine art is shown throughout the U.S. and Canada and is included in numerous private and public collections. More on his work can be found at www.glennwolff.com.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)