×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

River Home
     

River Home

by Jerry Dennis, Glenn Wolff (Illustrator)
 

See All Formats & Editions

"This bright and sharply written book is a guide to a life lived consciously, a prerequisite and bonus of the sport done well." -Lisa Faye Kaplan, ,USA Today"Jerry Dennis writes of fly fishing as well as anyone, in both essays and short stories, blending a lyric prose style with an uncommonly sharp eye and a generous imagination." -W. D. Wetherell, author of

Overview

"This bright and sharply written book is a guide to a life lived consciously, a prerequisite and bonus of the sport done well." -Lisa Faye Kaplan, ,USA Today"Jerry Dennis writes of fly fishing as well as anyone, in both essays and short stories, blending a lyric prose style with an uncommonly sharp eye and a generous imagination." -W. D. Wetherell, author of North of Now

Editorial Reviews

Kirkus Reviews
Convinced þnobody knows beansþ about why fish bite, Dennis (A Place on the Water, 1993) eschews the usual nuts and bolts of fishing in favor of entertaining personal essays laced with good humor and middle-age nostalgia. The author, who recently moved to a farmhouse on a peninsula in Lake Michiganþs Grand Traverse Bay, writes that the concept of home tends þto expand as we grow older to include the rivers and lakes where we fish and boat, the woods where we hunt and hike, every place that has emotional and historical significance.þ The wistfulness behind that statement keynotes many of these pieces. In þA Trout for the Old Guy,þ Dennis comes across a cigar box full of dry flies tied by a crotchety old fisherman he hadnþt thought about in 25 years. Elsewhere, he notes that there are three days of fishing he never misses: opening day, for obvious reasons; the great Hex hatch on Michiganþs rivers in late June, and the last day of the season, that final day to þbe taken slowly, like a last meal.þ Dennis has some fun discussing good fishing buddies and what qualifies them as such, and he takes dozens of 24-inch rainbows from the Rio Puelo in Chile, along with a 5-pound brook trout, þas bulky as a steroid junky.þ One of the best pieces, and by far the funniest, is þFish Naked,þ wherein he pokes fun at the sartorial correctness of catalogue-outfitted anglers. He harks back to a 1970s trip to the Firehole in Yellowstone National Park when he and a friend happened on a naked man and woman fishing side by side. þMaybe nude angling was a local tradition. Maybe it was a tactic. þ Not quite upto his earlier efforts, but Dennisþs descriptive writing and his sense of fishing as serious fun keeps this one afloat. (illustrations)

USA Today - Lisa Faye Kaplan
"This bright and sharply written book is a guide to a life lived consciously, a prerequisite and bonus of the sport done well."
Outdoor Life - Vin Sparano
“Jerry Dennis is on his way to becoming a giant of classic outdoor literature.”
The Oakland Press
“In this book, Dennis elevates the typical ‘outdoor’ essay, usually a mere recollection of adventures while hunting, fishing, camping, canoeing, or pursuing other outdoor activities. He has transcended the typical by blending in elements of ‘nature’ writing: observation, research, speculation about the world in which the sportsman places himself.”
Booklist - Booklist Booklist
“Collections of essays about the outdoors and fishing crowd the shelves, but Dennis’s fresh writing and marvelous insights merit special attention. This fine collection will appeal to fans of Hal Borland, W.D. Wetherell, and Nick Lyons, as well as to those who enjoy the essays of fiction writers William Tapply and Thomas McGuane.”
Georgia Times-Union
“Even if you’ve never pulled on a pair of waders, you should read this funny and wise book about fly fishing – and a lot more.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780312185947
Publisher:
St. Martin's Press
Publication date:
05/01/1998
Pages:
227
Product dimensions:
5.75(w) x 8.57(h) x 0.99(d)

What People are Saying About This

W.D. Wetherell
W. D. Wetherell, author of North of Now

Jerry Dennis writes of fly fishing as well as anyone, in both essays and short stories, blending a lyric prose style with an uncommonly sharp eye and a generous imagination.

Lisa Kaye Kaplan
Lisa Faye Kaplan, ,USA Today

This bright and sharply written book is a guide to a life lived consciously, a prerequisite and bonus of the sport done well.

Meet the Author

Jerry Dennis’s essays on nature have appeared in The New York Times, Smithsonian, Audubon, Orion, and many other publications. His books, most of them illustrated by Glenn Wolff, have received wide acclaim, have been translated into five languages, and have won numerous awards. He lives in northern Michigan. Visit him at www.jerrydennis.net.

Glenn Wolff grew up in northern Michigan but he began his career in New York City as an illustrator for The New York Times, Village Voice, the Central Park Conservancy, and the New York Zoological Society. In addition to his collaborations with Jerry Dennis, he has illustrated a broad range of subjects, including food, Christmas, mythical beasts, and lost continents. Glenn’s mixed media fine art is shown throughout the U.S. and Canada and is included in numerous private and public collections. More on his work can be found at www.glennwolff.com.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews