The Road to Memphis

The Road to Memphis

4.7 39
by Mildred D. Taylor
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Set in Mississippi in 1941, The Road to Memphis describes three harrowing, unforgettable days in the life of an African-American high school girl dreaming of law school. Caught up in the center of tense racial dramas unfolding around her, Cassie Logan is forced to confront the adult world as never before. A Coretta Scott King Author Award Book.See more details below

Overview

Set in Mississippi in 1941, The Road to Memphis describes three harrowing, unforgettable days in the life of an African-American high school girl dreaming of law school. Caught up in the center of tense racial dramas unfolding around her, Cassie Logan is forced to confront the adult world as never before. A Coretta Scott King Author Award Book.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
In the tradition of Maya Angelou and Alice Walker, Taylor uses powerful, vibrant prose to express the sentiments of a young black Southerner, as the Newbery Medalist continues the story of Cassie Logan. The year is 1941, and 17-year-old Cassie prepares for college by attending high school in Jackson, Miss., where her brother Stacey and friends Little Willie and Moe work in factories. No longer under the protective wing of her parents and Big Ma, Cassie confronts the hostility of the white community and faces new harsh realities including the betrayal of a childhood friend, the outbreak of World War II and an act of violence that forces Moe into hiding. Although Cassie experiences fear and humiliation, her determination to fight for justice remains undaunted. Offering the same captivating characters, honest dialogue and resonant imagery found in Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry and Let the Circle Be Unbroken , this enlightening, moving novel will leave readers yearning for the next installment of the Logan saga. Ages 12-up. (May)
Children's Literature - Susan Wilde
This is the latest book in Taylor's "Logan" series concerning a Black family living in the rural south and despised by poor whites because they own land. Set in 1941, the book is told through the point of view of Cassie who is finishing high school and dreaming of college and law school amidst a background of impending war and continuing racial violence. In a tense drama, Cassie is torn from her dreams and thrust into a harsh reality and her adulthood. The book, along with the others in the series, supports a developing sense of social conscience and speaks to adolescent concerns with unfairness and injustice.
Children's Literature - Deborah Zink Roffino
During her last year of high school in Mississippi, Cassie Logan faces the harsh realities of southern life in 1941. America is calling her sons to defend against foreign adversaries, but there is an enemy within, a deeply rooted bigotry toward blacks, far more threatening than a distant war to Cassie's family and friends. Throughout this suspenseful saga, Cassie clutches her dreams and tentatively puts her trust into dubious hands. Ms. Taylor is a gifted storyteller.
School Library Journal
Gr 7-10-- Taylor continues the saga of the Logan family ( Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry - Dial, 1976). The setting is Mississippi in 1941, and although the impending war has created some new job opportunities for blacks, discrimination and blatant racism still abound. The focus is on Cassie, now 17, her brother Stacey, and their friends, who are confronted and often humiliated by the white people they encounter. In one pivotal scene, a young man who defends himself after merciless taunting realizes he must leave Mississippi rather than face an unfair ``justice'' system. During that escape to Memphis, the friends face even more racist situations. Indeed, instances of white oppression and prejudice permeate the book, making it more stark than the earlier titles that emphasized family strength and unity in addition to exposing racism. Side plots involving the pregnancy of one friend, as well as the illness and death of another, add another element to the story but do not flow smoothly into the narrative. Taylor conveys the harsh realities of the time, as well as strong-willed Cassie's realization that as an adult she will have to make her own decisions and fight her own battles. Cassie's dream of becoming a lawyer and the looming war raise related questions regarding the white-controlled legal system and the injustice of fighting a war that sustains the status-quo, questions that have no easy answers. This is a dramatic, painful book, but it's more of a string of events than a narrative with strong characterizations. --Susan Schuller, Milwaukee Public Library

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780140360776
Publisher:
Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication date:
06/28/1992
Series:
Logan Family Series
Edition description:
Reissue
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
255,885
Product dimensions:
4.38(w) x 7.13(h) x 0.70(d)
Age Range:
10 - 12 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >