Roanoke: The Lost Colony

( 3 )

Overview

Series premiere special price!

Roanoke: The Lost Colony recounts the life of Jocelyn Colman, whose faith is tested and refined when she follows the husband she barely knows to an unexplored land. Jocelyn struggles with her husband's bitterness and guilt until God's forgiveness becomes a lifesaving reality.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (35) from $1.99   
  • New (1) from $50.00   
  • Used (34) from $0.00   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$50.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(146)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Roanoke

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK Study
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$4.99
BN.com price
This digital version does not exactly match the physical book displayed here.

Overview

Series premiere special price!

Roanoke: The Lost Colony recounts the life of Jocelyn Colman, whose faith is tested and refined when she follows the husband she barely knows to an unexplored land. Jocelyn struggles with her husband's bitterness and guilt until God's forgiveness becomes a lifesaving reality.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Library Journal
In 1587, a fleet of English ships set sail for the Virginia colony. During a storm, one ship became separated from the others and was never seen again. The settlers on board were presumed lost at sea, but there is both historical and legendary evidence that the colonists actually founded the Roanoke colony. Veteran novelist Hunt ("Theyn Chronicles") reimagines this slice of Colonial history through the eyes of Jocelyn White, a newlywed reluctant to leave her home in England for the wild shores of the New World. White's journey is fraught with danger, but her dependence on God and God's providence carry her safely through. Hunt's engaging historical romance will appeal to fans of B.J. Hoff and Patricia Hickman. Recommended for most collections.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780842320122
  • Publisher: Tyndale House Publishers
  • Publication date: 2/13/1996
  • Series: Keepers of the Ring
  • Pages: 512
  • Product dimensions: 5.49 (w) x 8.16 (h) x 1.06 (d)

Table of Contents

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2000

    An Incredible Journey Back in Time

    What an absolutely fantastic book. I have never read a book, and each time returning to read thought I had been watching this on a movie. The book brings every event so to life that you really think you are watching it as it happens. It is a wonderful history filled book with a great love story thrown in. You feel like you have taken the journey with the Englishmen to find, explore and later settle in Roanoke. Can't wait to read the second volume. The book has left me wanting more. A must read journey through time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    I read the entire series and its amazing! I really want to see i

    I read the entire series and its amazing! I really want to see it available on nook!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Captivating story

    Roanoke The Lost Colony, by Angela Elwell Hunt, was a well-written and interesting story. It is about Jocelyn's difficult life, and willingness to trust. At first I did not think I would like this book because it looked as though it were a historical fiction. My aunt got it for me though, so I started to read it. As I was reading I realized it wasn't that bad. It is mostly a fictional story based on minor history details. The further into the book I got, the more captivating it seemed to get. This story has unexpected twists. The most explained theme in this book was to do what is best for your loved ones, even if it hurts you. These actions are repeated throughout the story. Another point in the story is to have faith in the people you love, even if they seem to not love you. The character that agitated me was Thomas Colman. His religious stubbornness and headstrong attitude made him resist the very person he loved most. It was frustrating when he wouldn't do the natural thing most people would do. But, I couldn't stop reading. Really though, should one have to beg their spouse for love? As the story goes on, more morals surface. One is that you cannot deny love to your child. No matter what that child may represent. Henry Ward Beecher once said, "There is no friendship, no love, like that of the parent for the child." Another is that you should not give up hope in dark times. The characters could have "given up", but instead pressed on as best as they could, and adapted to changing conditions, not thinking of all the ways they could fail. Baudjuin said, "No matter how hard you work for success, if your thought is saturated with the fear of failure, it will kill your efforts, neutralize your endeavors and make success impossible. This story will totally enclose you to a point where you don't realize you are reading. The book was written to visualize. As characters feel emotions expressed through the text, you do too. You will find yourself wanting something to happen your way, even though you realize you cannot change what has already been written. That is why this book is so great. The book shows how God's forgiveness restores Jocelyn's faith and Thomas' well being. I recommend this story and its sequels. They contain everything you want in a good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)