Rock Star (Babymouse Series #4)

( 3 )

Overview

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal—BABYMOUSE!
 
With multiple Children's Choice awards and over 1.7 million books in print, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and...
See more details below
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (7) from $10.31   
  • New (4) from $14.93   
  • Used (3) from $10.31   
Rock Star (Babymouse Series #4) (PagePerfect NOOK Book)

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • NOOK HD/HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK Study

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$6.99
BN.com price
Note: Kids' Club Eligible. See More Details.

Overview

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal—BABYMOUSE!
 
With multiple Children's Choice awards and over 1.7 million books in print, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Big Nate, Dork Diaries, and the Ramona chapter books!

Move over Mozart!
Babymouse has music in her soul...but sadly, not in her flute. Will Babymouse ever hit the right note? Will she be the star of the school concert, or is her musical career all washed up before it's even started? Find out in Rock Star, the sensational 4th book in the Babymouse graphic novel series!

Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
PW said of Babymouse, the star of brother-and-sister team Jennifer L. Holm and Matthew Holm's new graphic novel series, "this personable, self-conscious mouse, with her penchant for pink hearts, resembles Kevin Henkes's Lilly, with some extra years of grade-school experience." Now she tries her hand (paw?) at being Babymouse: Rock Star. Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
Children's Literature - Naomi Milliner
In this book by the brother-sister Holm team (no pun intended), Babymouse has music in her soul... but only sour notes in her flute. The title is misleading, as the book begins with a rock star fantasy but quickly segues into just another day. It is Babymouse's fanciful imagination that steers the disjointed story along, as one event triggers a fantasy, then the next (unrelated) event inspires another. On "another boring" Wednesday, Babymouse gets caught in the eye of an imaginary tornado and finds herself in a Wizard of Oz parody; a flute-playing fantasy transforms Babymouse into "The Famous Pied Pipermouse" who succeeds in ridding the land of rats only because her music is so bad they run in the opposite direction. For reasons that remain unclear, the apparently rich and talented Penny Poodle offers to help Babymouse become a better musician. Under Penny's tutelage, Babymouse's imagination goes into overdrive (including an homage to The Sound of Music) but her flute-playing does indeed improve. There are many more compelling and/or entertaining stories available for young readers and better graphics to go with them, but maybe that is the point. In a time when what you see is not always what you get, Babymouse is unpretentious fluff, pure and simple.
School Library Journal
Gr 2-4-Babymouse is spunky, ambitious, and, at times, a total dweeb. In this fourth book in the series, she daydreams of being a rock star, and her concerts and world tours are illustrated in shades of pink. Meanwhile, in her ordinary life, she enchants the audience at a student concert with her flute playing, but never gives up her dreams of stardom on the big stage. The illustrations, both pink-toned and black and white, are clever and uncluttered, making them easy to follow for a young audience. They do a fine job of showing the emotions of the endearing young mouse and her friends.-Scott La Counte, Anaheim Public Library, CA Copyright 2006 Reed Business Information.
From the Publisher
Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."

Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780756983314
  • Publisher: Perfection Learning Corporation
  • Publication date: 9/28/2006
  • Series: Babymouse Series , #4
  • Format: Library Binding
  • Edition description: Reprint
  • Pages: 96
  • Sales rank: 1,431,319
  • Age range: 7 - 10 Years
  • Product dimensions: 5.50 (w) x 7.00 (h) x 0.60 (d)

Meet the Author

Like Babymouse, brother and sister team Matthew Holm and Jennifer Holm were born with music in their souls. Jenni was consistently last chair in the flute section of her school band. Not to be outdone, Matt's garage band "House of Orange" won first place in his school's Battle of the Bands, despite being booed off the stage. Luckily, these underappreciated child prodigees found solace in their writing. Today, Jennifer is the New York Times bestselling author of several highly acclaimed novels, including three Newbery Honor-winners, Our Only May Amelia, Penny from Heaven, and Turtle in Paradise. Matthew is a graphic designer and freelance writer.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4.5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2008

    Babymouse rocks my socks!

    Babymouse returns as a rock star--and she totally delivers another great story filled with laughs.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    baby MOuse

    baby mouse is a great way to have a imagionation while you read a book. it's enthusiasm and dedication when babymouse wants someting is exceptional. its a fun book to read because pictures, dreams, determination, and incredibiltiy.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)