Roommates

Roommates

4.5 2
by Katherine Stone
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Carrie is a wide-eyed freshman when she arrives at Stanford University. She has heard about the prestigious college all her life and believes she knows what to expect. But she is unprepared for the monumental changes - and monumental emotions - she will experience. She is also unprepared for Jake.

Gorgeous, seductive, and deadly, Jake is a man of dark secrets…  See more details below

Overview

Carrie is a wide-eyed freshman when she arrives at Stanford University. She has heard about the prestigious college all her life and believes she knows what to expect. But she is unprepared for the monumental changes - and monumental emotions - she will experience. She is also unprepared for Jake.

Gorgeous, seductive, and deadly, Jake is a man of dark secrets and hidden dreams. He is all wrong for the innocent and optimistic Carrie, yet she becomes part of his secrets and his dreams. But will he ever permit her into the deepest places of his badly wounded heart?

Megan is Carrie's roommate. Golden and beautiful, the gifted actress can dazzle and pretend even as her heart is breaking and her world is falling apart. A decision she makes will result in a crisis that will reunite them all - and open unhealed wounds and smoldering passions.

Once entwined, the lives and the loves of the roommates will be forever entwined. And those lives and loves will be as turbulent, courageous, and shimmering as the extraordinary world in which they live.

Praise for the novels of Katherine Stone:

Katherine Stone writes in the vein of Danielle Steel and Sandra Brown. - Library Journal

A hauntingly beautiful story set against the splendor of California's Napa Valley. An intriguing, multilayered tale filled with such deep emotions and vivid descriptions that it's nearly impossible to put down. - Rendezvous on Bed of Roses

Heart-tugging . . . few romance fans will remain unmoved. - Publishers Weekly on Thief of Hearts

Poignant . . . Cass is an intrepid heroine, but it is Chase who wins our hearts when he refuses to allow Cass's seeming betrayal to stop him from protecting his beloved. - Midwest Book Review on Bed of Roses

Remarkably romantic and thoroughly enchanting. - Rendezvous on Pearl Moon

Fairytale elements mix with those of a present day romance for . . . thoroughly enjoyable results. - Kirkus Reviews on Rainbows

Katherine Stone's high quality romance ranks right up there with Nora Roberts. - Booklist

Sweeping drama . . . Her most emotionally charged and intricate story of love yet. - Romantic Times on Imagine Love

Alluring . . . Fascinating . . . Each page brings a new adventure, every plot twist another question begging to be answered. - Rendezvous on Imagine Love


Katherine Stone is the New York Times bestselling author of twenty-one novels, including ROOMMATES, PEARL MOON, LOVE SONGS, HAPPY ENDINGS, and THIEF OF HEARTS. Her books are sold worldwide and have been translated into twenty languages. A physician who now writes full time, she lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, physician-novelist Jack Chase (MORTALITY RATE, FATAL ANALYSIS, THE MAGRUDER TRANSPLANT).

Katherine's bestselling novels are now available in new ebook and trade paperback editions. Please visit her website for more information and newsletter signup.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940012787491
Publisher:
Katherine Stone
Publication date:
05/26/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
261,605
File size:
444 KB

Meet the Author

Katherine Stone is the New York Times bestselling author of twenty-one novels, including Bel Air, Twins, Bed of Roses, Happy Endings, and Pearl Moon. Her books have been translated into twenty languages and are sold worldwide. A physician who now writes full-time, she lives in the Pacific Northwest with her husband, physician and novelist Jack Chase (Fatal Analysis, Mortality Rate, The Magruder Transplant).

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Roommates 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 2 reviews.
TheStephanieLoves More than 1 year ago
Originally published in the 80s, Roommates—recently revived and republished—is an enrapturing, gratifying journey that magnificently illustrates the soaring highs and gloomy lows of the college experience, and how it has the sheer power to change lives forever. The story begins Carrie's freshman year, set at Stanford, and immediately picks up on the lives of her roommates, the phenomenal actress Megan, and the devastating beauty and brains, Beth, as well. Carrie's imminent "flaw"—her tenacious and resilient loving, despite the occasional rejection—sets her up for a world of possibilities in college, as well as a whole new realm of heartbreak. However, Roommates is not just Carrie's story; it's Megan's, it's Beth's, it's her brother, Stephen's, and it's the mysterious and brooding Jake's. Their individual plots all overlap, and the relationships between these five Stanford students, are unmistakably laced together—and forever will be. This makes for a very complicated, very intricate web of a story. I found it a little too soap opera-esque for my taste, but have to admit how well-concocted it is—Katherine Stone is a flawless writer with such a compelling, lyrical voice. I like how there's a bit of a thriller subplot that doesn't make the book solely about romance; it was refreshing and gripping, although nothing terribly exciting. As with most of Stone's novels, the depiction of love is cloyingly sweet, grandly optimistic, and rather chaste. If you don't like the guaranteed happily-ever-after story line and the inherently perfect cast of characters (seriously... all of them are attractive, nice, smart, generous, brave, etc. etc.), then you may want to stay away from this book. As for me, I do quite enjoy the spice in novels of today's time, but I still enjoyed Roommates's mellow, sentimental tone. For a glittering narrative that spans not only the young adulthoods of five unforgettable characters, but also their creeping pasts and unpredictable later lives in 1970s America, definitely give Roommates a try. Pros: Beautiful style // Well-explored, lovable characters // Evocative of the decade and the campus spirit of Stanford // Nice blend of romance, passion, and drama // Connections between characters satisfyingly elaborated upon and probed // Jake's difficult past and his emotional turmoil particularly resonated with me // Juicy plot twist I never saw coming Cons: Every character (aside from the obvious villain) is good-natured through and through, which I found unusual // A bit too sugary sweet... but that's the appeal! // On the wordy side... not the kind of book you can read in one sitting Verdict: There's plenty of suspense and danger, as well as love, light, and laughter to go around in the hopelessly romantic—and fabulously nostalgic—Roommates. Days of Our Lives meets a tame, university-level Breakfast Club in an all-American story that flows like magic and is bound to captivate fans of conventional love stories. If you pine for a good ol' traditional romance, then Katherine Stone's 1987 novel—which just happens to be the prolific author's first—is THE book for you. Rating: 7 out of 10 hearts (4 stars): Not perfect, but overall enjoyable. Source: Complimentary copy provided by author in exchange for an honest and unbiased review (thank you, Katherine!).
Anonymous More than 1 year ago