Rosa Parks

Rosa Parks

by Michelle Levine

See more details below

  • Checkmark Kids' Club Eligible  Shop Now

Editorial Reviews

Children's Literature
This book in the "Early Biography" series delves into the life of civil rights figure Rosa Parks. Chapter one, "Wanting Americans to Change," explains how black Americans were not treated equally when Rosa was a child. Chapter two, "Born into an Unfair World," describes how black and white Americans were segregated and describes Rosa's family. Chapter three, "Segregation," describes Rosa's day-to-day life in a segregated world, including her schooling at the Montgomery Industrial School for Negro Girls. Chapter four, "Fighting Segregation," explains why Rosa and other black people began to fight the segregation laws. Chapter five, "Rosa Takes Action," describes how Rosa refused to give up her seat on a public bus to a white man and was arrested as a result. Chapter six, "The Bus Boycott," explains how the other black people in the community quit riding the buses to protest the treatment of Rosa and eventually the Supreme Court changed the law. Chapter seven, "An American Hero," describes the effect Rosa's action had on her personal life as well as starting the civil rights movement. Numerous photographs, maps, a timeline, and a glossary make this book an engaging biography. 2005, Compass Point Books, Ages 8 up.
—Amie Rose Rotruck

Product Details

Capstone Press
Publication date:
Compass Point Early Biographies Series
Product dimensions:
7.32(w) x 8.72(h) x 0.31(d)
Age Range:
7 - 9 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >