The Rose Garden

The Rose Garden

4.3 322
by Susanna Kearsley
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

There's no safety among the thorns...

Susanna Kearsley's writing has been compared to Mary Stewart, Daphne du Maurier, and Diana Gabaldon. Her books have been translated into several languages, selected for the Mystery Guild, condensed for Reader's Digest, and optioned for film. She lives in Canada, near the shores of Lake Ontario.

See more details below

  • Checkmark Romance Award-Winners  Shop Now

Overview

There's no safety among the thorns...

Susanna Kearsley's writing has been compared to Mary Stewart, Daphne du Maurier, and Diana Gabaldon. Her books have been translated into several languages, selected for the Mystery Guild, condensed for Reader's Digest, and optioned for film. She lives in Canada, near the shores of Lake Ontario.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Kearsley (The Winter Sea) beautifully evokes the wild landscapes and history of Cornwall in this pleasant time-travel romance. In the present day, Eva Ward travels to the Cornish coast carrying her sister's ashes, determined to lay her to rest at Treloworth, the estate they summered at as children with the Hallet family. As she reconnects with the Hallets, Eva tries to figure out how to start her life over. Then Eva is transported back to 1715, a time when smuggling was common and hidden Jacobites swarmed the coast. At first she fears she might be hallucinating, but soon she meets and falls in love with widower Daniel Butler, who accepts Eva's time traveling at face value. Kearsley masterfully writes authentic voices for Eva and Daniel as they wrestle with their improbable connection and its implications. (Oct.)
Fresh Fiction
Susanna Kearsley's latest is an imaginatively captivating trip through time. I found complete hours swallowed whole as I devoured THE ROSE GARDEN.

Booklist
Kearsley makes the impossible seem real as she weaves a tale full of genuine characters and a strong sense of place and makes history come alive.
BookPage
Susanna Kearsley's The Rose Garden is an enthralling and achingly romantic read. Top Pick in Romance

RT Book Reviews
Like Anya Seton's Green Darkness and Daphne du Maurier's House on the Strand, Kearsley brilliantly brings together past and present. 4 1/2 Stars, Top Pick of the Month
Historical Novels Review
Canadian author Susanna Kearsley's time-travel books have always enthralled me, and The Rose Garden is no exception.
From the Publisher
"If you're itching to read a well-written "I need to escape into" novel, look no further. This one is a winner." - Library of Clean Reads

"Kearsley's characters are full of life and I could fully flesh out their appearances in my mind as I read.

Fans of books like The Time Traveler's Wife and Outlander will definitely want to check out Susanna Kearsley and her enchanting novels.

Rating: 4/5" - Luxury Reading

"The Rose Garden is Susanna Kearsley at her best." - A Girl Walks into a Bookstore

"Susanna Kearsley's books are meant to be savored. The story can't be rushed, and you will be rewarded for your patience at the end of the story when everything comes full circle. The Rose Garden is the kind of book you want to save for a day when you can curl up on the couch in a blanket with a hot cup of tea at your side and not get up until you've finished the book. Susanna Kearsley's tales are always beautifully written, and I felt like I was living in Cornwall, England with the characters in the book-the descriptions of the coast were just so vivid that it makes me want to vacation there every year." - A Buckeye Girl Reads

"An alluring romance in the Mary Stewart mode, set in 18th-century Cornwall." - Shelf Awareness

"There are many messages in this book, but for me it was about not living or dwelling in the past, but moving forward, even if that forward is in the past. Stumped you didn't I? I'm not trying to be coy, I just don't want to give away an ounce of the story and rob you of a book that will keep you immersed, interested and guessing." - Heart to Heart: The B&N Romance Blog

"I really enjoyed THE ROSE GARDEN BY SUSANNA KEARSLEY. It's the first book I've read by the author and I will definitely see what she has to offer in the future." - Book Drunkard

"The first line of this story is devastating, but the last line is filled with happiness. They make powerful bookends to a memorable novel." - Dear Author

Kirkus Reviews
More than the heirloom roses defy time in this romance set on the magical Cornish coast. Eva Ward returns to Trelowarth a broken woman. Bearing the ashes of her beloved sister, she has come back to the centuries-old house where they spent their summers to find her childhood friends, the house's current owners, struggling. In return for room, board and solace, she sets out to help them. Mark, who loved Eva's sister, wants to keep the old house a farm, where he grows rare roses. But Susan, his sister, suspects that the beautiful setting, along with the area's romantic history, would lure tourists to a tea house on the grounds. Eva, a PR expert back in Los Angeles, sets out to help Susan and, researching rumors that the estate was part smuggler's den and part anti-Hanoverian hotbed, seemingly starts dreaming herself back to 1715. Except that upon awakening, she finds herself still wearing the dressing gown the handsome Daniel Butler gave her when she showed up in his bedroom 300 years earlier. As repeated time trips deepen their romance, Eva finds herself swinging back and forth through the centuries, playing a crucial role in the lives of Trelowarth's owners in each era, before deciding where her own heart--and her fate--lie. Kearsley (Mariana, 1995, etc.) has made time travel feasible before, and here she matches it with appropriately flowery but light-handed descriptions of the rugged coast and neat summaries of 18th-century politics. It takes some temporal gymnastics to engineer happy endings for everyone--from the mysterious widow Claire to Eva's present-day suitor Oliver--but these are accomplished with some well-placed "local legends" that presage Eva's own future. Although the neat conclusion stretches credibility a bit, this colorful romance peoples both the past and present with characters worth swooning over. A sympathetic woman becomes the heroine of her own fate, both past and present, in this winning romance.

Read More

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781402258596
Publisher:
Sourcebooks, Incorporated
Publication date:
10/01/2011
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
448
Sales rank:
15,827
File size:
1 MB

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >