Rough Beast

Overview

Rough Beast, set in a small town in Massachusetts, is a thriller in the tradition of Stephen King and Dean Koontz, combined with the scientific underpinnings of Michael Crichton. Rough Beast explores the consequences of a genocidal experiment gone wrong, and its effect on a normal, unsuspecting American family - especially on its twelve-year-old son.
Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Available through our Marketplace sellers.
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (22) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $9.44   
  • Used (18) from $1.99   
Close
Sort by
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Note: Marketplace items are not eligible for any BN.com coupons and promotions
$9.44
Seller since 2013

Feedback rating:

(4)

Condition:

New — never opened or used in original packaging.

Like New — packaging may have been opened. A "Like New" item is suitable to give as a gift.

Very Good — may have minor signs of wear on packaging but item works perfectly and has no damage.

Good — item is in good condition but packaging may have signs of shelf wear/aging or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Acceptable — item is in working order but may show signs of wear such as scratches or torn packaging. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Used — An item that has been opened and may show signs of wear. All specific defects should be noted in the Comments section associated with each item.

Refurbished — A used item that has been renewed or updated and verified to be in proper working condition. Not necessarily completed by the original manufacturer.

New
Hardcover New 1556114648 Shelf wear.

Ships from: Norcross, GA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$11.00
Seller since 2007

Feedback rating:

(317)

Condition: New
1st Edition, Fine/Fine- DJ slightly rubbed, o.w. clean, tight & bright. No ink names, tears, chips, etc. Price unclipped. ISBN 1556114648

Ships from: Troy, NY

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$35.00
Seller since 2005

Feedback rating:

(78)

Condition: New
1995 Hardcover First Edition, 1st printing BRAND NEW Autographed by author-double signed (Gary Goshgarian, Gary Braver) Unread, fine hardcover in slightly rubbed fine ... dustjacket. Slipped in is photo of author signing this copy! Slipped in is also 8.5x11 poster of a booksigning sporting gorgeous color photo of Gary Braver. Gary Braver is author's pen name which he uses on books published after 2000. A great gift for your favorite fan of medical thrillers! Read more Show Less

Ships from: Newton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Canadian
  • International
  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
  • Express, 48 States
  • Express (AK, HI)
$50.00
Seller since 2014

Feedback rating:

(139)

Condition: New
Brand new.

Ships from: acton, MA

Usually ships in 1-2 business days

  • Standard, 48 States
  • Standard (AK, HI)
Page 1 of 1
Showing All
Close
Sort by
Sending request ...

Overview

Rough Beast, set in a small town in Massachusetts, is a thriller in the tradition of Stephen King and Dean Koontz, combined with the scientific underpinnings of Michael Crichton. Rough Beast explores the consequences of a genocidal experiment gone wrong, and its effect on a normal, unsuspecting American family - especially on its twelve-year-old son.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Treading territory already staked out by John Saul and Dean Koontz, Goshgarian (Atlantis Fire) fashions an above-average thriller, reaching into the genre toolbox to use an imperiled child and biotech terror. When an enigmatic house hunter offers Calvin and Terry Hazzard nearly 10 times what they paid for their suburban Boston home, they are distracted momentarily from their concern over 12-year-old son Matt's increasing belligerence and developmental anomalies. Meanwhile, contract assassin Jerry Mars begins snooping into the backgrounds of his most recent hits and finds that all participated in Black Flag, a top-secret germ warfare project hatched during the Vietnam War and now a political embarrassment for several government bigwigs. Goshgarian telegraphs the fact that Mars and the Hazzards are working from opposite ends of the same mystery to an inevitable conclusion. But, though the plot is short on surprises, the story is buoyed by sharp characterizations of its principal players, especially of the pathetic and frightened Matt, struggling to understand his physical and emotional transformation as a consequence of his home's buried legacy. The boy's final metamorphosis into a genetic nightmare pushes the novel over the top and into a corner, necessitating a perfunctory tying up of its flailing loose ends. Until that point, however, this is a solid and suspenseful cautionary tale that expertly blends political intrigue and domestic drama. (Nov.)
Library Journal
Terry and Calvin Hazzard are puzzled by the woman who insists on buying their house at double its value if they will move immediately. They are also worried about their 12-year-old son, who is becoming monstrous in both body and behavior. Soon, they realize that these two things are connected. The waste from a biological weapons experiment is seeping into their water, causing their son's violent behavior, and the buyers are part of the research team eager to eliminate all evidence. Meanwhile, an assassin hired to kill most of the researchers becomes more interested in blackmail and uses the boy as a pawn. The son is a well-developed, sympathetic character who can survive only by being doped and deprived of the animal side he has come to value. There is plenty of gore and paranoia in this latest by the author of Horrorscape (Kendall Hunt, 1993). Buy for horror collections.-Marylaine Block, St. Ambrose Univ. Lib., Davenport, Ia.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781556114649
  • Publisher: Penguin Group (USA) Incorporated
  • Publication date: 11/1/1995
  • Pages: 304
  • Product dimensions: 6.48 (w) x 9.58 (h) x 1.14 (d)

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)