Roussel: Bacchus et Ariane; Symphony No. 3

( 1 )
$12.34 price
(Save 5%)$12.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $5.01   
  • Used (1) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 5/29/2007
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 747313024575
  • Catalog Number: 8570245
  • Sales rank: 250,492


Disc 1
  1. 1 Bacchus et Ariane, Suite No. 2 - Albert Roussel & Luca Giordano (19:22)
  2. 2 Bacchus et Ariane, Suite No. 1 - Albert Roussel & Luca Giordano (17:55)
  3. 3 Symphony No. 3 in G minor, Op. 42 - Albert Roussel & Luca Giordano (25:36)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Stéphane Denève Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Pleasures of His Company

    How often are we given the opportunity to revel in Roussel? Too infrequently, we are reminded, until a concert of well known French music played with élan happens to feature a work such as Henri Roussel's Symphony No. 3 nested among the well known favorites such as Ravel's 'Le Tombeau de Couperin' and 'La Valse' and Poulenc's 'Concerto for 2 Pianos'. Such was the case at a recent Los Angeles Philharmonic concert, one that the conductor of this excellent recording was scheduled to conduct but defaulted to the orchestra's superb assistant conductor Daniel Bringuier. Hearing the Roussel live is as refreshing as discovering something new, and yet here is a recording to savor that is as fine as any of this work available. Stéphane Denève knows his way around and through this brief (25 minute) symphony and is able to capitalize on all the creative aspects of the work while knitting it together in a way that eludes many conductors. The symphony is rich with melodies painted on a backdrop of some of the more original and unique percussive writing in the literature. While the spirit of the work is exhilarating, listening repeatedly to the way Denève keeps the textures clear reminds us of just how fine (and how very French!) is this 20th century masterpiece. This is a symphony AND a performance to cherish. Denève also manages to make the better known ballet score 'Bacchus et Ariane' sound both grand and eloquent. And while his Royal Scottish National Orchestra may not be the richest sounding ensemble, it is very responsive to Denève dissection of the score. In all this is a recording very much deserving to be a part of every music lover's library - especially those who have neglected the always surprising pleasures of the music of Albert Roussel! Grady Harp

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews