Royally Lost

Royally Lost

3.6 29
by Angie Stanton
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Susane Colasanti, and Jenny Han, Angie Stanton's brand-new romance asks the question, What would it be like to fall in love with a prince?

Dragged on a family trip to Europe, Becca wants nothing more than to go home. Trapped with her emotionally distant father, overeager stepmother, and a brother who only wants to hook up

…  See more details below

Overview

Perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Susane Colasanti, and Jenny Han, Angie Stanton's brand-new romance asks the question, What would it be like to fall in love with a prince?

Dragged on a family trip to Europe, Becca wants nothing more than to go home. Trapped with her emotionally distant father, overeager stepmother, and a brother who only wants to hook up with European hotties, Becca is miserable. Until she meets Nikolai.

Nikolai has everything—he's a crown prince, heir to the throne, and girls adore him. But the one thing he doesn't have is freedom . . . so he flees his kingdom and goes on his own European trip.

And when Nikolai and Becca meet, sparks fly. But Becca's family vacation ends in a matter of days. Will Nikolai and Becca be forced to say good-bye, or will they change history forever?

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
05/01/2014
Gr 9 Up—Becca is not looking forward to a boring riverboat cruise through Europe with her family, but things take an exciting turn when she meets Nikolai, crown prince of Mondovia and heir to the throne. No more than a day or two elapses before Becca and Nikolai fall in love, and though Nikolai poses as a commoner, it does not take very long before the press catches up with him. The idea of a handsome prince gone AWOL from his kingdom will appeal to many readers, but those seeking a more credible portrait of a European royal may be disappointed to discover that this prince uses far too many American expressions and is a bit too picture-perfect. Becca, repeatedly gushing that she "can't believe" she is "dating a real prince" seems far more like a lovesick high school groupie than a young woman closer to adulthood. Snapshots of notable European landmarks are mentioned briefly and add little to the plot, though the main protagonists spend a great deal of time traveling on and off a riverboat. The predictable plot should appeal primarily to teens content with Harlequin novelettes and Walt Disney—style romances. Though Royally Lost is not a lost cause, meatier royal fare can be found in Meg Cabot's The Princess Diaries (HarperCollins, 2000) or Scholastic's "Royal Diaries" series.—Etta Anton, Yeshiva of Central Queens, NY

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780062272591
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/06/2014
Sold by:
HARPERCOLLINS
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
336
Sales rank:
36,262
File size:
758 KB
Age Range:
13 - 17 Years

Meet the Author

Angie Stanton never planned on writing books—she wanted to be a Rockette. However, growing up in rural America with her brothers' 4-H pigs as pets, she found that dance didn't quite work out. Instead, she became an avid daydreamer. After years of perfecting stories in her head, she began to write them down, and the rest is history. When not writing, she loves watching natural disaster movies, going to Broadway musicals, and dipping French fries in chocolate shakes. She lives in Madison, Wisconsin.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >