Rubinstein: Symphony 3; Eroica Fantasia

( 1 )
$5.99 price
(Save 40%)$9.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $4.78   
  • New (5) from $4.78   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 3/19/2002
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 747313559022
  • Catalog Number: 8555590
  • Sales rank: 221,798


Disc 1
  1. 1–4 Symphony No. 3 in A major, Op 56 - Anton Rubinstein & Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra (38:36)
  2. 2 Eroica Fantasia for orchestra, Op 110 - Anton Rubinstein & Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra (28:11)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Robert Stankovsky Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Apples and Oranges

    I have always been fascinated by the distinct aesthetic priorities of jazz and classical music. In jazz compositional structure and harmony are mere vehicles for an aesthetic based on exhibitions of virtuoso prowess by getting a grip on the beat and placing appropriate notes with forceful intonation and dynamic at intervals of time so exacting that they defy notation. In classical music so much depends on unfolding structure and nuances of harmony that melody and rhythm are mere vehicles and often sound naive by jazz standards. The first movement of Rubinstein's Symphony No. 3 in A is a good example. The two-note phrase and chug-chug rhythm that dominate the movement could not be simpler if abstracted from the unfolding design of shifting sets of instruments and changes in harmony but the result is engaging because so much depends on the carefully designed structure. In a documentary on Vladimir Horowitz, his wife was embarrassed by his efforts to play boogie-woogie-- stylized blues demanding the visceral power characteristic of blues. She must have felt that the famous concert pianist was both lowering himself and out of his depth in attempting to duplicate the rhythmic feats of the jazz pianists. I listen constantly to classical music now but have never heard anything to rival the virtuoso power of drummer Max Roach at his August 1954 recording date with trumpeter Clifford Brown or Brown's dramatic display in his solo on "Delilah" from the same date. Despite many points in common, the aesthetic contrast between "Delilah" and the engaging but rhythmically naive first movement of Rubinstein's A major symphony staggers the imagination.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews