×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Running from the Devil
     

Running from the Devil

4.4 26
by Jamie Freveletti
 

See All Formats & Editions

“A breathless, hair-raising read, one of the most gripping thrillers I’ve read in a long, long time.”
—Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of The Keepsake

 

A high-octane debut thriller in the tradition of James Rollins, Lee Child, and Daniel Silva, Running From the Devil by Jaime Freveletti

Overview

“A breathless, hair-raising read, one of the most gripping thrillers I’ve read in a long, long time.”
—Tess Gerritsen, New York Times bestselling author of The Keepsake

 

A high-octane debut thriller in the tradition of James Rollins, Lee Child, and Daniel Silva, Running From the Devil by Jaime Freveletti starts racing on page one and never slows down for a minute until it crosses the finish line. Lee Child calls it, “Just terrific—full of thrills and tradecraft, pace and peril,” and anyone who craves the adrenaline rush of smart, exceptional thriller fiction will love Running From the Devil and its strong, compelling heroine Emma Caldwell.

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

At the start of Freveletti's less than impressive debut, a British Airways flight from Miami, Fla., to Bogotá carrying 30-year-old chemist Emma Caldridge crashes in the Colombian jungle. Armed men dressed in fatigues start taking the survivors hostage, but Caldridge manages to escape into the forest. A distress call from her cellphone reaches the U.S. government, which recently sent troops to Colombia to help guard an oil pipeline, as well as Darkview, a Blackwater-like outfit assisting the U.S. military with special ops around the world. Caldridge proves amazingly successful at dodging the bad guys, and even uses her professional training to derive digitalis from a plant for a fellow passenger who'll die without it. Cameron Sumner, a member of a drug agency who had special reasons for being on the BA flight, provides the requisite romantic interest. Some may cheer the author's larger-than-life heroine, but the clichéd action offers nothing thriller readers haven't encountered countless times before.A (May)

Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
Lee Child
“Just terrific—full of thrills and tradecraft, pace and peril. An outstanding debut.”
Tess Gerritsen
“Ten pages in, my heart was pounding—and the tension only grew from there. This is a breathless, hair-raising read, one of the most gripping thrillers I’ve read in a long, long time.”

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780061684234
Publisher:
HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date:
05/25/2010
Pages:
368
Sales rank:
566,309
Product dimensions:
4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.10(d)

What People are Saying About This

Lee Child
“Just terrific—full of thrills and tradecraft, pace and peril. An outstanding debut.”
Tess Gerritsen
“Ten pages in, my heart was pounding—and the tension only grew from there. This is a breathless, hair-raising read, one of the most gripping thrillers I’ve read in a long, long time.”

Meet the Author

Jamie Freveletti is a former trial lawyer, martial artist, and runner. She is the author of four books in her own Emma Caldridge series as well as Robert Ludlum's Covert One novel, The Janus Reprisal. She lives in Chicago.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Running from the Devil 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 26 reviews.
bbratley More than 1 year ago
I am a voracious reader, of all types of genres, and am always on the lookout for new authors, or new to me authors. My good old stand-bys just don't write fast enough for me, lol. This book was so suspenseful, exciting, and different. A different storyline, a woman heroine who's a chemist, and so many twists and turns. I literally stayed up a few nights in a row until I could hardly keep my eyes open. Very engaging characters, you get to know them, fight right along with them and do NOT want the story to end. Those are the type of books I love, where I want more! Don't end yet, lol, I could read about these people all the time. Fortunately, I see that the main character, Emma, is in the other books she has written also. An author very worth the time to check out, you'll be hooked!
grumpydan More than 1 year ago
If you want a fast-paced, action thriller filled with surprises, then Running From The Devil by Jamie Freveletti is the book to read. Emma Caldridge (a chemist) is on her way to Columbia when her plane crashes. But this was no accident, and when she escapes and sees the other survivors being taking away by guerillas, she has to make a decision to follow or get lost in the jungle herself. With the help of Cameron Summer , a government agent that was also on the plane, they wreak havoc on the bad guys! I found this book to be a highly exciting thriller!
Fredr More than 1 year ago
I could not,not pick up and read anything recommanded by Lee Child,and was well rewarded. As this was her first, I look foward to her next.
Anonymous 11 months ago
Good book, didn't want it to end
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
THE AUTHOR TELLS A GOOD STORY FOR THE MOST PART. I HAVE READ THE OTHER 2 AND THEY TOO ARE GOOD READS. THE MOST DISTRACTING THING IS A LACK OF ATTENTION TO DETAIL ESPECIALLY STORY FLOW. SHE LACK TECHNICAL KNOWLEDGE ABOUT EQUIPMENT HER CHARACTERS USE AND SOMETIME LOSES STORYLINE CONTINUITY DETAILS THAT HAPPENED EARLIER IN THE STORY.
dhaupt More than 1 year ago
Emma Caldridge is on her way to Bogota to right a grievous wrong only to find herself a part of an act of terror. She escapes, but for how long and can she do what she came for and live to tell the tale. Running From The Devil is a fast paced, heart accelerating, leave you breathless read. It's story line could be taken off any CNN or major network headline "Terrorists Hijack Plane Full Of Civilians", but what sets this apart from the headlines is the mystery there, the reason hidden behind the crime and Jamie spins her tale like a pro. Her dialogue is intense, informative and colorful as you visualize the habitat and inhabitants of her tale. Her characters are amazingly imaginative some being exceedingly cruel and evil and others inordinately honest and good and some a little of both. Her protagonist Emma is a well developed and well rounded character who's welfare we're constantly hoping changes for the better and yet we fear for the worst. Her supporting characters are a must for the development of the novel and we get to know the major players intimately so we can either hope for them or hate them in equal measure. If what you want in your read is an action packed, nail biting, edge of your seat roller coaster ride thriller this one's for you. Be sure to see her Jamie's newest adventure starring Emma Caldridge Running Dark.
christytilleryfrench More than 1 year ago
Biochemist, ultramarathon runner Emma Caldridge is returning to Colombia when her plane is hijacked and crash lands outside of Bogota. Emma is thrown from the plane and, hidden, watches in horror as guerrillas take the surviving passengers captives. Emma manages to text a cell phone message to her boss, relaying what has happened, and follows the guerillas, hoping her message got through and a rescue team is on the way. The Department of Defense, made aware of the downed plane, turns to Edward Banner and his specialized forces for help in what looks to be a kidnap-for-ransom scheme by the guerrillas, not knowing that Emma is the real reason behind the hijacking. Emma utilizes her skills as a chemist to survive while being pursued by men intent on capturing her for her knowledge and the secret, deadly weapon in her possession. Emma Caldridge is the quintessential female action hero. She's smart, athletic, and tough mentally and physically. Her knowledge of plants and skills as a chemist enhance this debut thriller, which is filled with action and suspense. Freveletti weaves into the story the complex political situation between Washington DC and the Colombian government, and gives the reader a better understanding of the Colombian drug cartels and FARC, Colombia's infamous paramilitary organization known for its kidnapping attempts. An excellent debut novel.
harstan More than 1 year ago
British Airways flight from Miami to Bogota crashes in the Colombian jungle. Thirty years old year-old American chemist survives the crash as does several other people. However, Emma observes men in fatigues carrying weapons coming out of the jungle. Instead of offering help, they take the survivors prisoners. Her assumption is bandits demanding ransom as Columbia has a reputation for that type of crime. She flees into the cover of the jungle.----- Emma manages to use her cell phone to alert American officials to the plight of her and others. As she eludes the kidnappers with the help of a fellow passenger, federal agent Cameron Sumner, she waits for her government to send military troops or perhaps even mercenary contractors from Darkview Inc who guards the nearby oil pipeline.------ Emma is a sort of female MacGyver as she does all sorts of miraculous stunts with limited resources while Cameron is her "required" romantic counterpart. Readers will root for Emma to not just survive, but to defeat the bandits. Though somewhat standard fare as the plot has been seen many times in movies and books, the story line is fast-paced and fun to follow especially Emma's adventures in the jungle. ------------- Harriet Klausner
claod More than 1 year ago
I enjoyed this book. It is a quick read but kept me entertained. I think it tried a little too hard to throw twists in at the end, but it was basically interesting and kept me reading. I would read another book by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago