×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Running on Empty
     

Running on Empty

4.5 6
by Sandra Balzo
 

See All Formats & Editions

The debut title in a new series by the author of the Maggy Thorsen Mysteries�

Though a magnet to tourists looking for some Southern comfort, the small lake town of Sutherton - tucked so picturesquely into the mountains of North Carolina � has had its fair share inexplicable hazards. But when Daisy Griggs siphoned three pints of blood from poor Mrs. Bradenham

Overview

The debut title in a new series by the author of the Maggy Thorsen Mysteries�

Though a magnet to tourists looking for some Southern comfort, the small lake town of Sutherton - tucked so picturesquely into the mountains of North Carolina � has had its fair share inexplicable hazards. But when Daisy Griggs siphoned three pints of blood from poor Mrs. Bradenham at the resort�s annual blood drive � well, that seemed to take the cake.

And so, police reporter AnnaLise Griggs comes home to Sutherton to look after her volunteer phlebotomist mother, Daisy (of the accidental bloodletting). But the "accidents" only seem to escalate upon the reporter's arrival in the High Country, leading AnnaLise to question whether Daisy is truly the cause of the trouble, as everyone else seems to believe, or its target�

Editorial Reviews

Reviews - Booklist Magazine
"Balzo has created a lively southern town full of quirky characters and matched them with a lively plot. Readers who enjoy Margaret Maron's Deborah Knott mysteries will have fun with this one."
Reviews - Kirkus Magazine
�A full-throttle joyride."
Magazine - Library Journal
"The author of the Maggie Thorsen mysteries (From the Grounds Up) introduces an appealing new amateur sleuth who is calm, good-natured, and nosey for someone else's own good. For readers of G.A. McKevett and Joan Hess."
Magazine - Publishers Weekly
�A beguiling heroine in this wryly amusing first in a new series. . . . readers will cheer the resolute and feisty AnnaLise every step of the way."

Product Details

BN ID:
2940016052229
Publisher:
NYLA
Publication date:
01/22/2013
Series:
Main Street Mysteries , #1
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Pages:
208
Sales rank:
168,851
File size:
439 KB

Meet the Author

Sandra Balzo turned to mystery writing after twenty years in corporate public relations, event management and publicity. Triple Shot, her seventh Maggy Thorsen coffeehouse mystery, was just released, and Sandy's second series, Main Street Mysteries, debuted in April with Running on Empty. The books, set in the popular vacation destination of North Carolina's High Country, will alternate with the Maggy Thorsen mysteries. Heaven's Fire, about a fireworks show gone badly wrong, was released directly to Kindle with excellent reviews.

Balzo's novels have been nominated for both the Anthony and Macavity awards and received starred reviews from Kirkus and Booklist. In addition to her books about coffee-maven Maggy Thorsen and displaced journalist AnnaLise Griggs, Balzo writes short stories, two of which have been published in Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, winning the Macavity, Derringer and Robert L. Fish awards. Those psychological thrillers, along with a third original story, are available on Kindle in The Grass is Always Greener and Other Stories.
Balzo has handled publicity for three Bouchercons (World Mystery Conventions), as well as the International Association of Crime Writers, and has served a national board member of Mystery Writers of America. A native of southeastern Wisconsin, she currently splits her time between Florida and the High Country of North Carolina.

And roots for the Green Bay Packers.

www.sandybalzo.com

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Running on Empty 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 6 reviews.
DAinNY1 More than 1 year ago
Upon hearing disturbing news regarding her mother, AnnaLise comes home and being the journalist that she is, starts investigating the recent spate of dead bodies, when it looks like her mother may be a target. This was a good story that I enjoyed immensely. The comfortable tone set the stage for this well-written mystery that I could not put down. When long ago secrets come crashing down and are exposed, it lends itself to a revelation that I did not see coming. This character-driven tale boasts a likeable cast, engaging conversation and a small-town atmosphere that is pleasantly appealing. This is a great read and I can’t wait for the next book in this terrific series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The details of the characters, locations, history of all the characters makes it feel like the reader is in the story watching from afar. I could not put it down. Reminded me of the writing of other great mystery writers: Denise Swanson, Kate Collins, Avery Aames, and Ellery Adams (to name a few) I can't wait for more books to come out in this series
wendyld More than 1 year ago
The first mystery in the Main Street series takes off with a bang! Running on Empty has diverse and quirky characters, a quaint “High Country” setting, and a good plot with ample red herrings to keep the most avid cozy mystery readers guessing. AnnaLise Griggs is called home to her childhood residence in Sutherton, NC. Her mother, Daisy, has just drained several pints of blood from a friend during a blood drive. Was it an accident or has her mother lost her mind? While AnnaLise tries to understand what is happening to her mother, and at the same time reconnect with her old pals, the town drunk is murdered. Chuck, an old flame, now the town Sheriff, tells her he is gay and out of the closet, another surprise for AnnaLise to deal with. During Chuck’s pursuit for clues an egotistical land developer is shot in the arm, barely escaping death. Are the two shootings related? If so, the sketchy clues lead to close friends of AnnaLise. Even her own mother becomes a suspect after a Japanese friend of a friend who purchased an apartment in the new development is drowned under suspicious circumstances. AnnaLise’s journalism background comes in handy as she asks the tough questions and her dogged search for the answers reveal shocking secrets and lies that put her and her mother at peril. A delightful new series from the author of the Maggy Thorsen Mysteries!,
Dollycas More than 1 year ago
AnnaLise left Sutherton, North Carolina to go to college in Wisconsin and really never looked back. That was until she received the phone call that told her "...Daisy (her mother),she went and drained all of the blood out of Mrs. Bradenham." "Don't you worry, I didn't let the chief's police boys take your mother away." AnnaLise threw a few things in her car and headed home to North Carolina. To clarify, Daisy was helping at the local blood drive and she didn't drain all of Mrs. Bradenham's blood, just a couple of extra pints and Mrs. Bradenham was fine, well as fine as she was before the incident. AnnaLise arrives home just in time for the Labor Day celebration but after getting the whole story on her mother, AnnaLise finds this is going to be more than just a little trip home. Bodies are turning up everywhere and she fears Daisy may be next. Using her training as a journalist she sets out to investigate what the heck is going on in Sutherton and is going get to the bottom of it, if she doesn't die trying. I know, I rarely say I love the first book of any series because I believe it takes more than one story to get to know the characters, the setting and the a journey the author has planned for both, but I absolutely, positively, genuinely loved this book!!! I want to visit Sutherton as soon as possible. There is a cafe like in every small town where the news and gossip travels at the speed of light. AnnaLise is surrounded by a great group of friends and even an old boyfriend or two. The story flows naturally, the mystery unfolds with ease, the humor level is spot-on, and most of the characters are offbeat but all of them are lovable. I have always stated that being a true storyteller is a gift. Sandra Balzo has that gift. I can't believe it took me so long to find this wonderful author. I have read the first book in the Maggy Thorsen Mystery Series too and cannot wait to get caught up on the rest of that series. Pre-order Running On Empty today. You can thank me later because I know you will love it too!!! Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255 : "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."
AAR More than 1 year ago
RUNNING ON EMPTY:A MAIN STREET MYSTERY by Sandra Balzo is a delightful murder mystery set in present day Sutherton, North Carolina. It is written with depth and details.It is the beginning of a new series. It has murder,mystery,small town life,serial killer,unexplained happenings,accidents, amateur sleuth,journalist,and murders that look like accidents.Daisy must learn the mystery of the accidents/murder before she or her mother are the next on have an accident.If you enjoy a cozy mystery,a quick read that is fast paced and full of surprises that I would recommend this one.You won't be sorry you picked it up to read. This book was received for the purpose of review from the author and details can be found at Seven House Publishers and My Book Addiction and More.
harstan More than 1 year ago
Wisconsin crime reporter AnnaLise Griggs is asked by family friend Mama Balisteri to come home because she is concerned there is something wrong with AnnaLise's mother Daisy Griggs. At the local blood bank the phlebotomist siphoned three pints of blood from donor Mrs. Bradenham. Griggs races back to Sutherton, North Carolina to check up on her mom. Upon seeing Daisy, Griggs finds her zoned out spouting things she does nor remember saying later. AnnaLise notices in the normally peaceful town, though there have always been foolish isolated incidents like the beer drinking swimmer who lost a bet, but this is different. A series of murders, looking like accidents with none seemingly related to each other, has recently occurred. This predator tries to kill AnnaLise, but fails. Not one to sit idly back and worried about her mom, AnnaLise uses her journalist skills to investigate a serial killer stalking the Main Street. While Maggy Thorsen takes a well deserved Wisconsin coffee break from amateur sleuthing, Sandra Balzo begins another wonderful regional mystery series. In addition to the super whodunit, readers obtain a look at living in a small southern town during the Labor Day weekend. The cast is colorful especially mama and add believability to a terrific North Carolina murder mystery. Harriet Klausner