Russian Orchestral Masterworks

$29.80 price
(Save 12%)$33.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (2) from $23.24   
  • New (2) from $23.24   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 1/11/2000
  • Label: Nimbus Records
  • UPC: 710357174926
  • Catalog Number: 1749
  • Sales rank: 108,521


Disc 1
  1. 1–4 Symphony No. 5 in E Minor, Op. 64 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & Rafael Frühbeck de Burgos (46:07)
  2. 5–8 Serenade for strings (or piano duet), in C major, Op. 48 - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & William Boughton (30:45)
Disc 2
  1. 1–4 Scheherazade, symphonic suite for orchestra, Op. 35 - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & William Boughton (44:40)
  2. 2 Russian Easter Festival Overture (Svetlïy pazdnik), for orchestra, Op. 36 - Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov & William Boughton (13:55)
Disc 3
  1. 1–8 Romeo and Juliet, ballet in 4 acts, Op. 64: Exceprts - Sergey Prokofiev & BBC National Orchestra of Wales (39:23)
  2. 2 Romeo and Juliet, fantasy-overture for orchestra in B minor (3 versions) - Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky & BBC National Orchestra of Wales (21:37)
Disc 4
  1. 1–4 Symphony No.2 in E minor, Op.27 - Sergey Rachmaninov & BBC National Orchestra of Wales (59:43)
  2. 2 Vocalise, transcription for orchestra, Op. 34/14 - Sergey Rachmaninov & BBC National Orchestra of Wales (5:52)
Disc 5
  1. 1 L'oiseau de feu (The Firebird), concert suite for orchestra No. 1 - Igor Stravinsky & London Symphony Orchestra (23:36)
  2. 2 Le Sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring), ballet in 2 parts for orchestra - Igor Stravinsky & London Symphony Orchestra (35:20)
Disc 6
  1. 1 Petrushka, ballet (burlesque) in 4 scenes for orchestra (1911 version) - Igor Stravinsky & London Symphony Orchestra (37:02)
  2. 5–7 Symphony in Three Movements, for orchestra - Igor Stravinsky & London Symphony Orchestra (22:52)
Disc 7
  1. 1–4 Piano Concerto No. 1, for piano, trumpet & strings, in C minor, Op. 35 - Dmitry Shostakovich & Graham Ashton (21:18)
  2. 5–7 Piano Concerto No. 2, in F major, Op. 102 - Dmitry Shostakovich & Michael Bochmann (19:09)
  3. 8–12 Chamber Symphony, in C minor, Op 110a (arranged by Barshai from the String Quartet No. 8 ) - arranged by Barshai, Rudolf - Dmitry Shostakovich & Michael Bochmann (21:41)
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously