Russians on Russian Music, 1880-1917: An Anthology / Edition 2

Hardcover (Print)
Buy New
Buy New from
Used and New from Other Sellers
Used and New from Other Sellers
from $103.54
Usually ships in 1-2 business days
(Save 22%)
Other sellers (Hardcover)
  • All (5) from $103.54   
  • New (4) from $103.54   
  • Used (1) from $114.95   


This second anthology of Russian writing on Russian music begins in 1880 (where the first volume concluded) and ends in 1917. It brings for the first time to an English-speaking readership the thoughts of leading Russian music critics as they react to the Russian music new to them, during a period when all aspects of musical life were developing rapidly. Music criticism had become more sure-footed, if no less opinionated. These reviews demonstrate greater awareness both of music history and of contemporary music abroad. The period covers the late careers of Tchaikovsky and Rimsky-Korsakov as well as late works of Borodin and Balakirev, and the emergence of Musorgsky's compositions. Works by the intervening generation, including Arensky, Galzunov and Lyadov, are also reviewed and the book concludes with coverage of works by the Moscow School, including Medtner, Rachmaninoff and Skryabin and the early compositions of Stravinsky and Prokofiev.
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
'... immensely welcome. Dealing with a wide range of issues, the thoughtfully selected articles reveal the views of contemporary Russian critics and chroniclers on concert life, publications, censorship, patronage, musical societies and groups, as well as providing a fascinating glimpse on the Russian perception of western composers and western music as a whole. Furthermore, most of the articles provide a detailed analysis of important musical works ... Campbell's translation is masterful ... This is a book recommended to all who are interested in the extremely lively cultural world of fin-de-siècle Russia, and a wonderful resource to teachers and students alike.' Brio
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780521590976
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press
  • Publication date: 8/28/2003
  • Edition number: 2
  • Pages: 284
  • Product dimensions: 5.98 (w) x 8.98 (h) x 0.91 (d)

Meet the Author

Stuart Campbell is Honorary Senior Research Fellow in the Department of Music and at the Institute for Central and East European Studies, University of Glasgow. He is author of V. F. Okoyevsky and the Formation of Russian Musical Taste in the Nineteenth Century (1989) and editor and translator of Russians on Russian Music, 1830-1880 (Cambridge, 1994).

Read More Show Less

Table of Contents

List of sources
Ch. 1 Tchaikovsky 1
a Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom (1880) 1
b P. Tchaikovsky's Manfred Symphony (1886) 10
c [Manfred and Hamlet] (1893) 13
d P. I. Tchaikovsky's new symphony [No. 5] (1889) 16
e P. Tchaikovsky's Mazeppa (1889) 18
f P. Tchaikovsky and musical drama [The Enchantress] (1890) 24
g The Queen of Spades (1890) 32
h [Symphony No. 6] (1893) 38
i [Symphony No. 6] (1896) 40
Ch. 2 Rimsky-Korsakov 42
a [The Snowmaiden] (1885) 42
b Sadko, opera-bilina (1898) 54
c Kashchey the Immortal (1902) 60
d The Legend of the Invisible City of Kitezh and the Maiden Fevroniya (1907) 64
e The Golden Cockerel (1909) 84
Ch. 3 Other composers of the former Balakirev circle 92
a [Works by Borodin and Musorgsky] (1880) 92
b Borodin's [First] Quarter (1881) 93
c [Works by Musorgsky, Balakirev and Rimsky-Korsakov] (1887) 95
d [Works by Balakirev, Lyadov, Glazunov, Borodin and Rimsky-Korsakov] (1890) 97
e Prince Igor (1890) 102
f Khovanshchina (1897) 124
g [Balakirev's Second Symphony] (1909) 129
h [Pictures at an Exhibition] (1909) 130
Ch. 4 The Belyayev generation 132
a [Fathers and Sons] (1888) 132
b A. S. Arensky's String Quartet (1888) 138
c A. S. Arensky (1906) 141
d Glazunov as a symphonist (1907) 143
e In memory of A. K. Lyadov (1914) 159
Ch. 5 Moscow and her composers 168
a The Moscow School in Music (1910) 168
b A Cantata by S. I. Taneyev (1915) 170
c S. V. Rachmaninoff (1904) 175
d [Rachmaninoff operas] (1906) 178
e S. V. Rachmaninoff (1911) 180
f N. Medtner (1913) 185
g [The 'new direction' in church music] (1924) 193
Ch. 6 New stylistic directions 198
a The music of Skryabin (1909) 198
b Skryabin's Prometheus (1911) 205
c [The Firebird] (1911) 207
d Petrushka (1912) 209
e The Rite of Spring (1914) 213
f Sergey Prokofiev (1913) 219
g [Sergey Prokofiev] (1917) 221
h The most recent trends in Russian music (1914) 224
Epilogue: Pathways into the future (1918) 234
Index 259
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)