Sabotage: America's Enemies Within the CIA

Sabotage: America's Enemies Within the CIA

by Rowan Scarborough, Tom Weiner, Vince Patton, Tom Weiner
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Since the attacks on September 11, 2001, intelligence collection has become the number-one weapon in the effort to defeat al Qaeda and Osama bin Laden. A plot penetrated is an attack stopped. And to the outside observer, the CIA has performed well as a key partner in the Bush administration’s War on Terror. But as Rowan Scarborough reveals in this groundbreaking new

Overview

Since the attacks on September 11, 2001, intelligence collection has become the number-one weapon in the effort to defeat al Qaeda and Osama bin Laden. A plot penetrated is an attack stopped. And to the outside observer, the CIA has performed well as a key partner in the Bush administration’s War on Terror. But as Rowan Scarborough reveals in this groundbreaking new book, significant elements within the CIA are undermining both the president and national security through leaks, false allegations, and outright sabotage.

Using his first-rate sources in all levels of national security - from field officers to high-ranking analysts to former intelligence heads - Scarborough paints a disturbing picture of partisan politics endangering the success of our campaigns abroad and the very lives of our soldiers and agents.

In Sabotage, you’ll learn:
-How CIA analysts repeatedly leak details about classified intelligence programs with the dual intent of ending them and damaging the president
-How, on at least eight occasions, intelligence officials have made serious allegations of wrongdoing against the president’s men - which turned out to be false
-Why, contrary to popular belief, the CIA has become predominantly liberal
-How a CIA turf battle prevented special operators from pursuing and capturing a notorious Taliban leader
-How current and former CIA officers fueled conspiracy theories that President Bush orchestrated the 9/11 attacks on America
-How a CIA leak to the New York Times deprived the U.S. of critical information in the War on Terror
-How press leaks by the CIA have damaged relations with our foreign allies in the War on Terror
-How a CIA analyst worked with Democrats to sabotage the nomination of John Bolton to the UN
-How Clinton’s downsizing of the CIA led to the closing of stations in scores of jihadist breeding grounds - including Hamburg, Germany, where the 9/11 plot was hatched

The CIA’s job is to collect facts and let the White House, the Pentagon, and the State Department make national security policy. But, as Scarborough conclusively demonstrates, an agency that is supposed to be scrupulously nonpartisan has become increasingly political - during a time of war - against America’s elected commander in chief.

Editorial Reviews

Veteran Washington Times reporter Rowan Scarborough is convinced that Central Intelligence Agency bureaucrats are intentionally undermining the Bush administration's efforts in Iraq and elsewhere. In Sabotage, he asserts that CIA analysts have repeatedly leaked details of unfolding initiatives, thereby nullifying their effectiveness, in order to embarrass the White House. He accuses intelligence officials of delivering scoops to the liberal media even as they stonewall the Pentagon and the president. A controversial read for fans of Bill Gertz and Bill Sammon.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781433200632
Publisher:
Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Publication date:
07/16/2007
Edition description:
Unabridged, 5 CDs, 6 hrs 30 mins
Product dimensions:
5.00(w) x 5.60(h) x 0.40(d)

Meet the Author

Rowan Scarborough, author of Sabotage, writes national security stories for Human Events. A Navy veteran, he covered the Pentagon for the Washington Times for nearly two decades, where he built a tremendous reputation for breaking news and covered national security for the Washington Examiner. He is the author of the New York Times bestseller Rumsfeld’s War and has been featured on scores of radio and TV shows.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >