Sacred Fire

( 1 )

Overview


Sacred Fire splices Orwell to Atwood, Crichton to Huxley, and takes readers deep into the rich mysteries of human chemistry.

In the tradition of Michael Crichton and Robin Cook, here is a medical thriller that will chill readers' bones and fire their imaginations. Isi Beller tells the compelling tale of a futuristic, post-AIDS America struggling to copy with the outbreak of a retrovirus so lethal it infects the soul as well as the ...

See more details below
Paperback
$22.75
BN.com price
(Save 8%)$24.95 List Price
Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (8) from $17.44   
  • New (6) from $17.44   
  • Used (2) from $22.74   
Sending request ...

Overview


Sacred Fire splices Orwell to Atwood, Crichton to Huxley, and takes readers deep into the rich mysteries of human chemistry.

In the tradition of Michael Crichton and Robin Cook, here is a medical thriller that will chill readers' bones and fire their imaginations. Isi Beller tells the compelling tale of a futuristic, post-AIDS America struggling to copy with the outbreak of a retrovirus so lethal it infects the soul as well as the body.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Publisher's Weekly
Appearing here four years after its publication in France, this first novel from a French psychoanalyst should set some tongues to wagging, if only it can find its deserved readership. And that may not be easy, burdened as it is with a complex plot and a confusing plethora of characters, some of whom operate out of unclear motives or occasionally appear under code names. The premise is intriguing: in the near future, the HIV virus has mutated into an even more virulent strain that targets sperm cells. The U.S. is now a veritable police state, with all males forced to wear an ASP, or Anti-Sex Program, implant. Relationships between the sexes are virtually nonexistent; many women have become lesbians; fetuses are brought to term in artificial wombs, and the resultant children are termed ``bios.'' Because alcohol lessens the effectiveness of the ASP, cocaine-laced beverages have become socially accepted, part of a secret covenant between government officials and the mafia. Dr. Paul Verne, who discovered the new virus, at first supported the ASP and its consequences, but now his doubts are growing, especially since he finds himself strangely attracted to a young bio, Clara Hastings. An undetectable non-operational ASP, or NOX, provides some hope to the nationwide resistance movement that the scientific and social repression might be brought to an end, but only if Verne, who joins the resisters, can evade the clutches of the Federal Bureau of Biological Supervision and its ambitious new director, Annabelle Weaver. All this makes for a thoughtful tale, but readers willing to go the distance must hurdle over the aforementioned obstacles, as well as some jaw-dropping acronyms such as RUT (``Women for a Return to the Uterus'') and WOMLIP (``Women's Movement for Liberation from Pregnancy''). 50,000 first printing; author tour. (July)
Library Journal
It is one generation from now. HIV has mutated into a retrovirus called Sacred Fire that burns its victims alive in fever. America, fearing that humans face extinction, implements startling laws. Men are implanted with a device that inhibits sexual arousal, and women no longer may bear children, as fetuses are womb-simulated. Beller, a French psychoanalyst writing his first novel, has an imaginative premise that could have been developed into a fast-paced plot focusing on the race to find a cure. Instead, he populates the novel with too many characters and organizations. Separating the good from the bad is difficult, especially when Beller keeps adding more characters, most of whom are neither empathetic nor memorable. An unnecessary lesbian affair and a gay tryst stand in the way of what should have been the main plot: How do we douse the Sacred Fire before it eliminates the world? The ending, which should have been frantic, is a cop-out. It seems that Sacred Fire is creation's revenge on a humanity that has forgotten it. Ho hum.-Ralph DeLucia, Willoughby Wallace Lib., Branford, Ct.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781611452204
  • Publisher: Arcade Publishing
  • Publication date: 7/1/1994
  • Pages: 400
  • Product dimensions: 6.00 (w) x 9.00 (h) x 6.00 (d)

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 1
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)