Safe Harbor

Safe Harbor

4.0 170
by Antoinette Stockenberg
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Fans of Nora Roberts and Barbara Freethy will relish this fast-paced, humorous and tender novel of romance, suspense, and family relationships by bestselling author Antoinette Stockenberg.

SAFE HARBOR. That's what Martha's Vineyard has always been for Holly Anderson, folk artist, dreamer and eternal optimist. If she could just afford to buy the house and… See more details below

Overview

Fans of Nora Roberts and Barbara Freethy will relish this fast-paced, humorous and tender novel of romance, suspense, and family relationships by bestselling author Antoinette Stockenberg.

SAFE HARBOR. That's what Martha's Vineyard has always been for Holly Anderson, folk artist, dreamer and eternal optimist. If she could just afford to buy the house and barn she's renting, fall in love, marry the guy and then have children as sweet as her nieces, life would be pretty much perfect.

Poor Holly. She has so much to learn.

Havoc arrives on the island in the guise of stunningly beautiful Eden Walker, a gold-digging con woman who's already stolen the nest egg of an elderly couple and who promptly seduces Holly's sixty-something father while she's in hiding. Holly's mother is devastated, her sister won't deal with it, and Sam Steadman--son of the now impoverished couple and a man who has more than one reason to hunt Eden down -- is furious. After a bumpy start, Sam and Holly join forces to track down the elusive Eden and reclaim both treasure and father. But hearts and minds collide, and shipwrecked emotions are strewn along the way. Will Holly and Sam ever be able to trust one another after the not-so-merry chase?

Read More

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
"Antoinette Stockenberg concocts a complex, fast-moving plot--peopled with winning secondary characters--as well as a humorous and tender love story."
Romance Communications
"Romantic suspense � la Nora Roberts, mixed with a touch of humor � la Barbara Freethy ... a fast-paced rollercoaster ride of intrigue, family problems, deception and comical sleuthing ... incredible life in these characters ... amazing descriptions ... you won't want to miss this."
The Romance Reader
"A most entertaining contemporary romance. It has great characters, a satisfying love story, and just enough suspense to keep the story moving. It also has a delightfully drawn setting as the author brings Martha's Vineyard to life .... This woman can write."
Book Barn Gazette
"First and foremost, this is a romance. But it's also a story about people, relationships, situations, loss of innocence, and the good and evil that coexist in each. It draws one in with slashing dialogue and characters who are so human and flawed you know you've met them--and known them--somewhere before. A fabulous, fabulous read."
Library Journal
Stunned and furious to discover that her father wants to divorce her mother for a woman half his age, folk artist Holly Anderson joins forces with the woman's ex-husband, a photojournalist who is looking for her for an entirely different, but equally important, reason. A pair of artistic protagonists who fall in love in spite of themselves, an abundance of Martha's Vineyard charm, and an intriguing plot that is not so straightforward as it seems blend in this gently sensual story.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
2940013703346
Publisher:
Antoinette Stockenberg
Publication date:
01/18/2012
Sold by:
Barnes & Noble
Format:
NOOK Book
Sales rank:
51,299
File size:
0 MB

Meet the Author

USA Today bestselling novelist Antoinette Stockenberg grew up wanting to be a cowgirl and have her own horse (her great-grandfather bred horses for the carriage trade back in the old country), but the geography just didn't work out: there weren't many ranches in Chicago. Her other, more doable dream was to write books, and after stints as secretary, programmer, teacher, grad student, boatyard hand, office manager and magazine writer (in that order), she achieved that goal, writing over a dozen novels, several of them with paranormal elements. One of them is the RITA award-winning EMILY'S GHOST.

Stockenberg's books have been published in a dozen languages and are often set in quaint New England harbor towns, always with a dose of humor. She writes about complex family relationships and the fallout that old, unearthed secrets can have on them. Sometimes there's an old murder. Sometimes there's an old ghost. Sometimes once-lovers find one another after half a lifetime apart.

Her work has been compared to writers as diverse as Barbara Freethy, Nora Roberts, LaVyrle Spencer and Mary Stewart by critics and authors alike, and her novels have appeared on bestseller lists in USA Today as well as the national bookstore chains. Her website features sample chapters, numerous reviews, many photos, and an enchanting Christmas section. www.antoinettestockenberg.com

Read More

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >