×

Uh-oh, it looks like your Internet Explorer is out of date.

For a better shopping experience, please upgrade now.

Sage Creek (Lonesome Way Series #1)
     

Sage Creek (Lonesome Way Series #1)

4.3 41
by Jill Gregory
 

See All Formats & Editions

After her marriage falls apart, Sophie McPhee returns to her hometown of Lonesome Way, Montana, planning to steer clear of men and focus on her new bakery, A Bun in the Oven. Who she doesn't expect to see is Rafe Tanner, her first crush who now runs his family's ranch-and who spent most of their childhood ignoring her. But is Rafe a changed man?

While Rafe is

Overview

After her marriage falls apart, Sophie McPhee returns to her hometown of Lonesome Way, Montana, planning to steer clear of men and focus on her new bakery, A Bun in the Oven. Who she doesn't expect to see is Rafe Tanner, her first crush who now runs his family's ranch-and who spent most of their childhood ignoring her. But is Rafe a changed man?

While Rafe is stunned to discover that Sophie's grown into an irresistibly beautiful woman, he's been hurt too. They both have their guards up, but melt in each other's company. Can they admit that home is truly where the heart is?

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
Fans of Gregory (Wolf River) excited to see her first solo effort in four years will be disappointed by a paint-by-numbers premise and paper-thin villain. Divorcée Sophie McPhee comes home to tiny Lonesome Way, Mont. Determined to ignore the elderly townswomen who want to marry her off, she plans to focus on opening a new bakery. Then she encounters her onetime crush, rancher Rafe Tanner, a single father trying to keep his 11-year-old daughter's life stable. Despite their intentions, Rafe and Sophie fall in love, interrupted by a cowboy jealous of both. Sophie's touching backstory mitigates Rafe's cookie-cutter history, but a false note is struck by Sophie's overreaction to her widowed mother's new boyfriend, who Sophie irrationally assumes is a bully like her father. Both leads are well rendered and deserve better than this skimpy plot. (Oct.)
From the Publisher
"As appealing as a box of superb chocolates and just as satisfying....Entertaining from the first page to the last, with a romantic relationship that sizzles and touches the heart." --Catherine Anderson, New York Times bestselling author

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780425244470
Publisher:
Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date:
10/04/2011
Series:
Lonesome Way Series , #1
Pages:
304
Sales rank:
645,277
Product dimensions:
4.22(w) x 6.80(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher
"As appealing as a box of superb chocolates and just as satisfying....Entertaining from the first page to the last, with a romantic relationship that sizzles and touches the heart." —Catherine Anderson, New York Times bestselling author

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Post to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews

Sage Creek 4.3 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 41 reviews.
frosty1 More than 1 year ago
This was my first Jill Gregory book, and I loved it. The story had wonderful flow, and was a joy to read. The characters were witty and you felt like you knew them because they could be someone in your own town. She describes the life of a teen as "powder-keg moods"which is a perfect description and made me actually giggle. My heart ached for Ivy, when she was talking to her mother and remembering her and what she had done to her, then wanting to meet up with her, just to know she meant something to her. Such great writing. I loved it, I would say that Sage Creek had a Robyn Carr feeling to it, very easy to read but not something you wanted to put down.
snowblossomCB More than 1 year ago
Nice read. Not great but definitely not bad either. Her next book in this series is on my to-read list. Ironically, the first chapter of it, which is at the end of "Sage Creek" is a real attention grabber.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Readers who love Debbie Macomber and Robyn Carr will love Jill Gregory.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
SleepDreamWrite More than 1 year ago
Been wanting to read some romances. I don't much from the genre, but I like some of them now and then. My favorites are the covers of the setting. Its kind of cozy in a way or something. This was a pretty good read. Found myself wanting to keep reading. I also like that the two characters don't meet in the first chapters but later on. And when they do, its fun to read what's going on in their head. I also like that we get chapters for both characters as we go to know them and find them likable, especially Rafe Tanner. Looking forward to the rest of the books in this series. Pretty good start.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was very good. I will get the next two books in the series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Uh oh
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kornicalo More than 1 year ago
loved the lonesome way series # 1 book. i have been waiting forever for her to start writing again she has always been one of my favorite authors.i hope we are going to see alot more books from her!!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago