Gift Guide

Saint-Saëns: Piano Quartet in B flat major; Piano Quintet in A minor; Barcarolle in F major

( 2 )
$9.49 price
(Save 5%)$9.99 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (CD)
  • All (3) from $4.54   
  • New (3) from $4.54   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 3/26/2013
  • Label: Naxos
  • UPC: 747313290475
  • Catalog Number: 8572904
  • Sales rank: 130,662


Disc 1
  1. 1–4 Quartet for piano & strings in B flat major, Op. 41 - Camille Saint-Saëns & Robert Cohen (31:47)
  2. 2 Barcarolle for violin, cello, organ & piano in F major, Op. 108 - Camille Saint-Saëns & Efim Boico (9:14)
  3. 6–9 Quintet for piano & strings in A minor, Op. 14 - Camille Saint-Saëns & Fine Arts Quartet (30:06)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Cristina Ortiz Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 2 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    Excellent performances of chamber works from Saint-Saens! This

    Excellent performances of chamber works from Saint-Saens!

    This CD consists of Camille Saint-Saens Piano Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 41, his Barcarolle in F Major, Op. 108, and the Piano Quintet in A-minor, Op. 14.

    It is difficult to know where to begin, as the entire disc is sooooooooo good! The Piano Quartet is marvelously performed, with just the right amount of light-handedness when appropriate, and lyrical but purposeful phrases from the piano applying driving pressure but without dominating. This is fine chamber music making, and the Fine Arts Quartet w/ Ms. Ortiz does a fantastic job here. The piece is evocative, captivating, and provocative. I must confess to listening to it again and again.

    The Barcarolle is a wonderful choice as the middle piece, breathing and flowing while the piano makes point after point. This is a piece that is not heard often, and that is a shame because it is truly wonderful.

    The disc finishes with the Piano Quintet, and again the Fine Arts Quartet and Ms. Ortiz bring this work to dramatic life right from the get-go. The work swirls and builds to crescendo after crescendo, with astonishing sensitivity throughout. The Andante movement is just a treat, and the closing Allegro movement is marvelously played and has a very organic feel to it.

    I have nothing negative to say about this recording. It is fantastic! Highly Recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2013

    The Fine Arts Quartet have been championing lesser-known chamber

    The Fine Arts Quartet have been championing lesser-known chamber works by major composers on the Naxos label.  Their recording of the Saint-Saëns string quartets was wonderful, and now the ensemble has returned (along with pianist Cristina Ortiz) to play works for piano and string quartet.  The great thing about this CD is that it covers three very different periods in Saint-Saëns' life (his late teens / early 20's, his 40's, and his 60's).  Although the pieces should sound significantly different from each other, they actually blend well together, which isn't a bad thing.  These works don't stand out among Saint-Saëns' finest works, but they do offer a charming panorama of some of his more intimate works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 2 Customer Reviews