Salads: Beyond the Bowl, Extraordinary Recipes for Everyday Eating

Salads: Beyond the Bowl, Extraordinary Recipes for Everyday Eating

5.0 1
by Mindy Fox
     
 

"Mindy's salads are just the sort I like to make a meal of. Her book is brimming with good practices, exciting recipes and beautiful photography." So says celebrated cookbook author, Heidi Swanson, of Mindy Fox's brand new collection of truly extraordinary and inspiring salad recipes. Filled with 100 gorgeous photographs and creative easy recipes such as Green

Overview

"Mindy's salads are just the sort I like to make a meal of. Her book is brimming with good practices, exciting recipes and beautiful photography." So says celebrated cookbook author, Heidi Swanson, of Mindy Fox's brand new collection of truly extraordinary and inspiring salad recipes. Filled with 100 gorgeous photographs and creative easy recipes such as Green Melon, Cubanelle Peppers and Ricotta Salata; Red Kale Caeser with Mustard Croutons and Smoked Trout; Potato Salad with Melted Leeks and Blue Cheese; and Peanut Soba and Chicken Salad with Lime, Salads: Beyond the Bowl shows you just how beautiful and nourishing a life of great salad eating can be.

Fox's book is filled with healthy recipes, yes - but equally exciting is that, thorough this book, Fox show us just how delicious and show-stopping a well-made salad can be. Inspired by seasonal offerings, Fox pairs produce of all sorts with grains, beans, legumes, cheeses, fish and meat to create extraordinary salads that serve as starter or main dishes for everyday eating, whether at brunch, lunch or dinner.

Like every facet of cooking, making a truly extraordinary salad involves a little craft and basic know-how. In Salads: Beyond the Bowl, Fox gives vegetarians and meat-eaters alike the basics of great salad-making, then offers a collection of 100 recipes for inspired salads, with flavor nuances from a variety of cuisines.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
“Fox, whose A Bird in the Oven and Then Some was a 2010 New York Times Best Cookbook, presents a versatile collection of crave-worthy salads (e.g., Roasted Spiced Cauliflower with Arugula, Potato and Snap Pea Salad with Garlic and Parsley-Lemon Pesto) to delight omnivores, vegetarians, and entrée salad devotees. Every popular component (e.g., vegetables, dairy, grains, proteins) is well represented, and there are useful technique and composition tips.”—Library Journal (starred review)

“One hundred clever ways to break out of the Caesar rut.”—Christine Mulke, The New York Times’ Summer Cookbook roundup

“Mindy Fox's new cookbook will CHANGE YOUR WORLD. In fact, only one of the chapters in Salads: Beyond the Bowl is devoted to leaf salads. The others have grains, fish, eggs, meat, and a bounty of hearty produce that makes her 100 recipes dishes that stand tall and proud. They're dishes you'd welcome at any dinner--or even dinner party. Examples? Tender Summer Greens and Nasturtiums with Chive Vinaigrette and Fried Capers. Black Bean Salad with Shrimp and Pickled Onions. Green Melon, Cubanelle Peppers and Ricotta Salata. Those ain't your average mixed greens. . . But even if all you want is mixed greens, Fox, the food editor of La Cucina Italiana magazine, has advice on how to make them extraordinary. She talks about what kinds of greens to use, what kinds of oils to keep on hand, different salts and when to use them, how to make quick-and-easy vinaigrettes, and what tools will make your life easier.”—Bon Appetit

epicurious, 12/14/12 - Esther Sung
Colorful, plentiful, and wholesome are how Mindy Fox's salads both look and taste. Gone are salads with limp ingredients and heavy dressings. Fox has managed to reinvent them, making them the center of attention—and rightfully so. By raising the bar with new takes on classics—check out her Pastrami and Rye Panzanella—and offering playful flavor variations that delight the taste buds, Fox may (re)ignite your own passion for salads. You'll be buying fresh produce, fragrant herbs, and spices, and making use of your salad spinner like never before.
12/11/12 Kitchen Arts & Letters
This attractive and creative collection of salad recipes is a great solution to culinary ennui. Fox, formerly of Saveur and now food editor of La Cucina Italiana, draws on a wide range of ingredients and flavors to produce an array of mostly simple fresh weeknight meal ideas: roasted parsnips with hazelnuts and mâche; zucchini and radish with lime; red kale Caesar with mustard croutons and smoked trout.
Food52, 7/08/14 - Marian Bull
You might think that a salad cookbook wouldn't teach you anything new. But Mindy Fox's recipes in Salads: Beyond the Bowl will make your desk lunches happier and your dinner party sides more exciting.
The New York Times - Christine Mulke
One hundred clever ways to break out of the Caesar rut. (Summer Cookbook roundup)
Bon Appetit Magazine Editors
Mindy Fox's new cookbook will CHANGE YOUR WORLD. In fact, only one of the chapters in Salads: Beyond the Bowl is devoted to leaf salads. The others have grains, fish, eggs, meat, and a bounty of hearty produce that makes her 100 recipes dishes that stand tall and proud. They're dishes you'd welcome at any dinner—or even dinner party. Examples? Tender Summer Greens and Nasturtiums with Chive Vinaigrette and Fried Capers. Black Bean Salad with Shrimp and Pickled Onions. Green Melon, Cubanelle Peppers and Ricotta Salata. Those ain't your average mixed greens. . . But even if all you want is mixed greens, Fox, the food editor of La Cucina Italiana magazine, has advice on how to make them extraordinary. She talks about what kinds of greens to use, what kinds of oils to keep on hand, different salts and when to use them, how to make quick-and-easy vinaigrettes, and what tools will make your life easier.
Eater.com, 7/29/2014 - Joanna Fox
You don't know how many people I meet that admit they are in a "salad rut." There are a million and one variations on a salad. But to get it right is hard. That's where this book helps. Whether it's there to just inspire or you need help to kick up your salad game, it's a good book to have around.
Library Journal
Fox, whose A Bird in the Oven and Then Some was a 2010 New York Times Best Cookbook, presents a versatile collection of crave-worthy salads (e.g., Roasted Spiced Cauliflower with Arugula, Potato and Snap Pea Salad with Garlic and Parsley-Lemon Pesto) to delight omnivores, vegetarians, and entrée salad devotees. Every popular component (e.g., vegetables, dairy, grains, proteins) is well represented, and there are useful technique and composition tips. VERDICT A noteworthy title, essential for fans of Andrew Swallow's Mixt Salads and Patricia Wells's Salad as a Meal.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781906868673
Publisher:
Kyle Books
Publication date:
04/30/2012
Pages:
176
Sales rank:
322,221
Product dimensions:
8.10(w) x 9.40(h) x 1.00(d)

Related Subjects

Meet the Author

Mindy Fox is a cookbook author, food writer and the food editor at La Cucina Italiana magazine. Her most recent book, Salads: Beyond the Bowl was chosen as a "Best Cookbook" by The New York Times (Christine Muhlke's "20 More Cookbooks," May 31, 2012) and Epicurious (Best 10 Cookbooks of 2012), and received accolades from Bon Appétit magazine, Heidi Swanson and many more. Fox’s first book, A Bird in the Oven and Then Some (republished in 2013 as The Perfectly Roasted Chicken), was included in The New York Times' 2010 Best Cookbooks of the Year, and Food & Wine magazine's Best of the Best. Fox is the co-author with chef Sara Jenkins of Olives & Oranges: Recipes and Flavor Secrets from Italy, Spain, Cyprus & Beyond, an IACP Best Cookbook finalist, and co-author with Chef Karen DeMasco of The Craft of Baking, a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. Formerly on staff at Saveur, Fox has written for Saveur, La Cucina Italiana, Every Day with Rachel Ray, Prevention, Time Out New York and Edible Manhattan magazines. Her recipes and other freelance work have appeared in numerous regional, national and international newspapers and magazines, including The London Times, Food & Wine, Everyday Food, Country Living, Garden Design, Prevention and Parenting magazines, and on BonAppetit.com, Epicurious.com, The DailyMeal.com, FoodRepublic.com, LeitesCulinaria.com, PantryConfidential.com, TheImprovisedLife.com and many more.Fox has made numerous radio and television appearances, including Good Morning America/Health, The Splendid Table, NPR/WNYC: Last Chance Foods, Sirius XM’s Martha Stewart Living Radio and Everyday Food programs, Heritage Radio’s: The Food Seen, The B. Smith and Thank You, Dan shows, and Better TV.Early in her career, Fox cooked professionally in Boston restaurants, training with James Beard Award nominee chef Stan Frankenthaler and others. Fox’s cooking and writing has been inspired by extensive travels in France, Italy, Mexico, Brazil and Turkey.Fox is a member of the culinary council at The Sylvia Center, a nonprofit organization teaching, inspiring and supporting children in their efforts to develop personal confidence, cooking skills and healthy eating habits for life. Visit her online at mindyfox.net.Mindy Fox is the food editor of La Cucina Italiana magazine, a cookbook author, food writer and teacher. Formerly on staff at Saveur, she has written for Saveur, La Cucina Italiana, Every Day with Rachel Ray, Prevention, Time Out New York and Edible Manhattan magazines. Her recipes and freelance work have appeared in The London Times, Food & Wine, Martha Stewart Living, Real Simple, Gourmet, Country Living and Parenting magazines, and on BonAppetit.com. Mindy appears regularly on the Martha Stewart Living Radio program, Everyday Food. Her first book, A Bird in the Oven and Then Some, was included in The New York Times' 2010 Best Cookbooks of the Year and Food & Wine magazine's Best of the Best. Visit Mindy online at www.mindyfox.net.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Salads: Beyond the Bowl: Extraordinary Recipes for Everyday Eating 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
VAcherub More than 1 year ago
I received this book around Memorial Day and I've been working my way through it, one terrific recipe at a time - and sometimes 3 - since then. From the Butter Lettuce with Yogurt-Chive Dressing to the Lentil and Beet Salad with Scallions and Basil, I love them all! As a non meat eater, this book was a great find! There are so many recipes that are delicious AND meat free. Don't miss Mindy's version of macaroni salad - YUM!