Salem: Queen of Thorns by Chris Morgan, Kevin Walsh |, Paperback | Barnes & Noble
Salem: Queen of Thorns

Salem: Queen of Thorns

by Chris Morgan, Kevin Walsh
     
 

Colonial America. Salem. For mankind's greatest sin against God, they were born - the Coven of Thirteen. Thirteen witches granted elemental powers, each one derived from an aspect of Christ's crucifixion. One man stands against them: Elias Hooke. A new hero in the tradition of Robert E. Howard's SOLOMON KANE or Clint Eastwood's THE MAN WITH NO NAME from the

Overview

Colonial America. Salem. For mankind's greatest sin against God, they were born - the Coven of Thirteen. Thirteen witches granted elemental powers, each one derived from an aspect of Christ's crucifixion. One man stands against them: Elias Hooke. A new hero in the tradition of Robert E. Howard's SOLOMON KANE or Clint Eastwood's THE MAN WITH NO NAME from the screenwriter of CELLUAR, THE FAST AND THE FURIOUS: TOKYO DRIFT and WANTED!

Editorial Reviews

School Library Journal
Gr 8 Up–Published initially as comics and compiled into a graphic novel, this book features art by five artists and two colorists, with a smooth transition from one section to the next. Elias Hooke, a former witch hunter and inquisitor, is battling the true witch, the Queen of Thorns, whose corruption has spread throughout the American colonies, including Salem. Other witch hunters continue to execute those who have been tainted by the queen, those accused of witchcraft, without understanding the full repercussions. When Hooke saves accused witch Hannah, two factions inside the church’s brotherhood pursue them, but the greater trouble comes from the Queen of Thorns herself, who wants Hooke to steal something from the church for her. The story is one of terror, not just from the monstrous creatures at the queen’s beck and call, but also because the men involved in the witch hunts perform such monstrous tasks themselves. It is compelling and fast paced, though sometimes confusing, and the images of torture and disembodied heads may prove disturbing to some readers. As a historical horror graphic novel, the book could lend diversity to collections overwhelmed by superheroes and manga, but there is little historical truth in the narrative. The religious implications (the Queen of Thorns having been created at the crucifixion) may also be confusing to readers unfamiliar with the Christian story or intimately connected with the religion.–Alana Abbott, James Blackstone Memorial Library, Branford, CT

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781934506462
Publisher:
BOOM! Studios
Publication date:
01/13/2009
Edition description:
Original
Pages:
128
Product dimensions:
6.00(w) x 8.90(h) x 0.50(d)
Age Range:
13 Years

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >