by Taylor Dayne
On Satisfied, she works best when her ballads and balls collide. First single "Beautiful" does the trick, with its ladies-night bounce and clap-happy chorus. Louis Virtel


On Satisfied, she works best when her ballads and balls collide. First single "Beautiful" does the trick, with its ladies-night bounce and clap-happy chorus. Louis Virtel

Editorial Reviews

All Music Guide - Stephen Thomas Erlewine
There's no denying that Taylor Dayne sounds older on Satisfied, her first album in a decade -- that maturity is especially apparent as her music remains tied to her late-'80s heyday, as it's almost all big, bright productions that sound more 1988 than 2008. As it turns out, that evident maturity winds up benefiting Dayne tremendously: by not chasing trends, she sounds as if she's deepening emotionally but, more to the point, she no longer oversings. There is a warm, rounded, tonal quality to her voice, a quality that is especially welcome as she often could sound too harsh and brassy on her '80s hits. Here, she's settled down and so have the songs; they're undeniably retro dance-pop and that retro element gives them a smooth, easy feel. And Satisfied is produced as a pop album -- there is no song longer than 4:33 and most are under four minutes -- which helps keep things moving and also means that missteps, like the ungainly reggae of "She Don't Love You," don't stick around too long. While Dayne does a nice job with covers of "Under the Bridge" and "Fool to Cry," the real noteworthy numbers here are her fine original "Beautiful," a ballad called "Kissing You" co-written by Des'ree, and "My Heart Can't Change," a piece of near-perfect pop co-written by Gregg Alexander and Rick Nowels. These are the most fully realized tunes here, but most of this is enjoyable and it adds up to a good, worthy comeback from Dayne.

Product Details

Release Date:
Adrenaline Music


Album Credits

Performance Credits

Taylor Dayne   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Nicki Richards   Background Vocals
Rusty Anderson   Electric Guitar
Curt Bisquera   Percussion,Drums
Jeff Bova   Keyboards
John Hill   Synthesizer,Bass Guitar,Keyboards
Eric Kupper   Bass,Guitar,Keyboards
Mike Mangini   Vocals
John McCurry   Bass,Guitar,Bass Guitar
Rick Nowels   Acoustic Guitar,Keyboards
John Pierce   Bass,Bass Guitar
James Poyser   Drums,Keyboards
Stephanie McKay   Background Vocals
Brent Paschke   Guitar
Kevin Hanson   Guitar
Teron Beal   Background Vocals
Dave Sharma   Drums
Raymond Angry   Keyboards
Sy Smith   Background Vocals
Peter Wade Keusch   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Caesar Griffin   Percussion,Drums
Julio Reyes Copello   Piano
Owen Biddle   Bass,Bass Guitar
Dean Reid   Electric Guitar
Honey Larochelle   Background Vocals
Adam Pallin   Keyboards,Overdubs,Keyboard Overdubs
Michelle Lynn Bell   Background Vocals
Jayms Madison   Background Vocals
Justin Rothberg   Guitar
Nilo   Guitar
Sharmaji   Percussion
CFos   Background Vocals
Pete Ianaconni   Bass Guitar
Sizzler Ponderosa   Background Vocals
Wells Cunningham   Cello
John Hill   Synthesizer,Bass,Keyboards

Technical Credits

Taylor Dayne   Composer,Executive Producer,Audio Production,Vocal Producer
Mick Jagger   Composer
Luis Angel   Engineer
Gregg Alexander   Composer
John Hill   Programming,Audio Production
Anthony Kiedis   Composer
Mike Mangini   Producer,Audio Production,Vocal Producer
Mike Mondesir   Composer
Rick Nowels   Composer
James Poyser   Programming,Producer,Audio Production
Keith Richards   Composer
Billy Steinberg   Composer
Stephanie McKay   Composer
Howie Beno   Engineer
Brent Paschke   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
Richie Jones   Producer,drum programming,Audio Production
Tim Atack   Composer
Brian Porizek   Art Direction
Josh Alexander   Composer
Kieron Menzies   Engineer
Ryan Moys   Engineer
Sebastian Nylund   Composer
Peter Wade Keusch   Composer,Programming,Producer,Audio Production
Zukhan Bey   Producer,drum programming,Audio Production
Julio Reyes Copello   Producer,Engineer,Orchestration,Audio Production
Dean Reid   Engineer
Adam Pallin   Programming
Jayms Madison   Composer
Diego Vega   Orchestration
Hitesh Cohen   Audio Production
Luigie Gonzales   Audio Production
R-Rated   Audio Production
John Hill   Programming,Producer,Engineer

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >