Saturday Beans and Sunday Suppers: Kitchen Stories from Mary's Farm

Overview

Saturday Beans & Sunday Suppers, is a book of life-saving iced tea, Indian pudding "as it should be," dandelion wine made in the days when flowers meant peace, baked beans from those who know best, cod cheeks and ale. Take a journey from the early 1960s through today. In Saturday Beans and Sunday Suppers, you'll discover a delicious collection of thoughts, memories, and recipes, all about food, written by one of New England's treasured writers. Here, food is not just sustenance but life and spirit and ...
See more details below
Paperback
$13.97
BN.com price
(Save 6%)$14.95 List Price

Pick Up In Store

Reserve and pick up in 60 minutes at your local store

Other sellers (Paperback)
  • All (10) from $1.99   
  • New (4) from $16.95   
  • Used (6) from $1.99   
Sending request ...

Overview

Saturday Beans & Sunday Suppers, is a book of life-saving iced tea, Indian pudding "as it should be," dandelion wine made in the days when flowers meant peace, baked beans from those who know best, cod cheeks and ale. Take a journey from the early 1960s through today. In Saturday Beans and Sunday Suppers, you'll discover a delicious collection of thoughts, memories, and recipes, all about food, written by one of New England's treasured writers. Here, food is not just sustenance but life and spirit and communion all in one. Guaranteed to inspire an appetite, for life and for good food, happily prepared.
Read More Show Less

What People Are Saying

Howard Frank Mosher
"Edie Clark's clear-eyed and lyrical essays capture the essence of New England's weather, seasons, landscape, and wonderfully independent-minded natives the way Wendell Berry's writing evokes the natural world of Kentucky. In the tradition of Frost, Thoreau, and Dickinson, Ms. Clark shows us how the small and large satisfactions of living close to nature can inform life with grace, meaning, and beauty. "--(Vermont author Howard Frank Mosher)
John Clayton
"Reading Edie makes my world slow down. One of the best writers in New Hampshire."--(John Clayton, New Hampshire Sunday News)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9780971993457
  • Publisher: Powersbridge Press
  • Publication date: 10/1/2007
  • Sales rank: 781,279
  • Product dimensions: 5.90 (w) x 8.90 (h) x 1.00 (d)

Meet the Author

Edie Clark has written for 17 years for Yankee Magazine about "Mary's Farm," her home in the Monadnock Region of New Hampshire. In addition to her column and her books, her work has appeared in The Boston Globe Sunday Magazine, Northeast magazine, The Christian Science Monitor and others. She has received numerous awards for her work.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)