Saturday Beans and Sunday Suppers: Kitchen Stories from Mary's Farm

Saturday Beans and Sunday Suppers: Kitchen Stories from Mary's Farm

by Edie Clark
     
 

Saturday Beans & Sunday Suppers, is a book of life-saving iced tea, Indian pudding "as it should be," dandelion wine made in the days when flowers meant peace, baked beans from those who know best, cod cheeks and ale. Take a journey from the early 1960s through today. In Saturday Beans and Sunday Suppers, you'll discover a delicious collection of thoughts, memories,…  See more details below

Overview

Saturday Beans & Sunday Suppers, is a book of life-saving iced tea, Indian pudding "as it should be," dandelion wine made in the days when flowers meant peace, baked beans from those who know best, cod cheeks and ale. Take a journey from the early 1960s through today. In Saturday Beans and Sunday Suppers, you'll discover a delicious collection of thoughts, memories, and recipes, all about food, written by one of New England's treasured writers. Here, food is not just sustenance but life and spirit and communion all in one. Guaranteed to inspire an appetite, for life and for good food, happily prepared.

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780971993457
Publisher:
Powersbridge Press
Publication date:
10/01/2007
Sales rank:
532,405
Product dimensions:
5.90(w) x 8.90(h) x 1.00(d)

What People are saying about this

Howard Frank Mosher
"Edie Clark's clear-eyed and lyrical essays capture the essence of New England's weather, seasons, landscape, and wonderfully independent-minded natives the way Wendell Berry's writing evokes the natural world of Kentucky. In the tradition of Frost, Thoreau, and Dickinson, Ms. Clark shows us how the small and large satisfactions of living close to nature can inform life with grace, meaning, and beauty. "--(Vermont author Howard Frank Mosher)
John Clayton
"Reading Edie makes my world slow down. One of the best writers in New Hampshire."--(John Clayton, New Hampshire Sunday News)

Meet the Author

Edie Clark has written for 17 years for Yankee Magazine about "Mary's Farm," her home in the Monadnock Region of New Hampshire. In addition to her column and her books, her work has appeared in The Boston Globe Sunday Magazine, Northeast magazine, The Christian Science Monitor and others. She has received numerous awards for her work.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >