Scandal on Rincon Hill: A Sarah Woolson Mystery [NOOK Book]

Overview

"Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen." --Library Journal

A body is found just blocks from attorney Sarah Woolson's home on Rincon Hill. Sarah is on the case, but 19th-century San Francisco is soon thrown into a state of panic as a gruesome crime spree begins to take hold of the city.

Read More Show Less
... See more details below
Scandal on Rincon Hill: A Sarah Woolson Mystery

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$7.99
BN.com price

Overview

"Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery…will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen." --Library Journal

A body is found just blocks from attorney Sarah Woolson's home on Rincon Hill. Sarah is on the case, but 19th-century San Francisco is soon thrown into a state of panic as a gruesome crime spree begins to take hold of the city.

Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly
The lack of a satisfying solution to the whodunit at the heart of Tallman's fourth historical set in 19th-century San Francisco (after 2007's The Cliff House Strangler) is the only real flaw in an otherwise solid read. Idealistic and iconoclastic attorney Sarah Woolson investigates the bludgeoning murder of botanist Nigel Logan, who was at a party with Woolson's judge father only the night before and whose body was found near the Woolson home. Several days later, a friend of Logan's, a church deacon, apparently falls victim to the same killer. When the police latch onto some Chinese immigrants as the culprits, despite the absence of any real evidence, Woolson bravely takes on their defense. Convincing period detail supports an engaging lead who's a more plausible character than, say, Rhys Bowen's Molly Murphy, a PI in early 20th-century New York City. The romantic subplots don't overwhelm the mystery, but the ending will surprise few. (Mar.)
Library Journal
It is 1881, and Sarah Woolson (The Cliff House Strangler) struggles to keep her law practice afloat by finding bits and pieces of work where she can. A murder takes place a few blocks from her home on Rincon Hill in San Francisco. Another murder and the arrest of two young Chinese men who have just arrived in the States finds Sarah acting as their attorney. VERDICT Anti-Chinese prejudice and the plight of young women from good families who are encouraged or bullied into marriage are themes explored in Tallman's fourth series historical, which also brings the charming city of San Francisco to life. For readers who like Rhys Bowen's historicals.
Kirkus Reviews
Multiple murders and a maltreated mistress are all in a day's work for 19th-century San Francisco attorney Sarah Woolson. Sarah is that rara avis in 1881, an unmarried professional woman. Her brother Samuel, a crime reporter who writes under an assumed name in order to conceal his job from their judge father, is covering a case that claims her attention. When several respected members of the community are murdered in the Woolsons' Rincon Hill neighborhood, the police arrest some young Chinese men. Under the auspices of powerful Tong leader Li Ying, for whom she has previously worked, Sarah takes their case. At the same time, she seeks justice for lovely Brielle Bouchard, mistress of holier-than-thou publisher Gerald Knight, who casts her off when she bears his child. Bigotry against the Chinese population makes her criminal case difficult for Sarah. And she's puzzled by her feelings for handsome shipping-company owner Pierce Godfrey, who's asked her to marry him, and the fresh romantic overtures of her friend and colleague Robert Campbell. To top it all off, she gets involved in promoting a career for lovely and talented singer Melody Tremaine, whose parents are appalled at the thought. When her projects turn out to be intertwined in complex ways, she finds herself fighting for both justice and her reputation. Sarah's fourth (The Cliff House Strangler, 2007, etc.) neatly marries mystery, romance and historic San Francisco in an enjoyable tale of the stubbornly independent career woman.
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781429984072
  • Publisher: St. Martin's Press
  • Publication date: 3/30/2010
  • Series: Sarah Woolson Mysteries, #4
  • Sold by: Macmillan
  • Format: eBook
  • Edition number: 1
  • Pages: 352
  • Sales rank: 334,929
  • File size: 641 KB

Meet the Author


SHIRLE Y TA LLMAN lives in Eugene, Oregon and Incline Village, Nevada.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 3 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    good read

    I really enjoy the Sarah Woolson series. I hope that Shirley Tallman will write more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 3 Customer Reviews

If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
Why is this product inappropriate?
Comments (optional)