Scarlatti Cantatas, Volume 2

( 1 )
$11.39 price
(Save 5%)$11.99 List Price
Other sellers (CD)
  • All (5) from $1.99   
  • New (3) from $11.10   
  • Used (2) from $1.99   

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 10/13/1998
  • Label: Sony Mod - Afw Line
  • UPC: 756055131922
  • Catalog Number: 51319
  • Sales rank: 98,435


Disc 1
  1. 1–4 Ombre tacite e sole, chamber cantata for soprano, 2 violins, viola & continuo - Alessandro Scarlatti & David Daniels [countertenor] (14:07)
  2. 5–8 Il genio di Mitilde, chamber cantata for soprano or alto & continuo - Alessandro Scarlatti & David Daniels [countertenor] (8:32)
  3. 9–19 Perchè tacete, regolati concenti?, chamber cantata for alto, 2 violins & continuo - Nicholas McGegan & Alessandro Scarlatti (21:14)
  4. 20–23 O pace del mio cor (No. 1), chamber cantata for soprano or alto & continuo - Alessandro Scarlatti & David Daniels [countertenor] (11:49)
  5. 24–26 Il rosignolo se scioglie il vol (No. 1), chamber cantata for alto or soprano & continuo in F major - Alessandro Scarlatti & David Daniels [countertenor] (5:43)
  6. 27–32 Infirmata, vulnerata, motet for alto, 2 violins & continuo - Nicholas McGegan & Alessandro Scarlatti (12:11)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
David Daniels [countertenor] Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Daniels and McGegan Score with Scarlatti Program

    Back in early 1998, music director Nicholas McGegan had the foresight to select countertenor David Daniels to be his vocal soloist for this program; the second in a series of four discs devoted to the works of composer Alessandro Scarlatti (1660-1725). Scarlatti was quite prolific in his career writing over 60 operas, and selections from six of those operas are presented here. Although his music does not reach the musical heights of Handel, Scarlatti's work is certainly varied enough to provide the perfect showcase for Daniels' amazing voice. Accompanied by the Arcadian Academy, he is in full bloom here alternating between tender and passionate. As usual, his Italian is impeccable as he enunciates every word with great flair, and he never gets carried away with the more elaborate passages. Dramatically he is in peak form, and it is unlikely just a coincidence that like the accomplished "Masque of Alfred" cast recording a year later, this disc shares the talents of McGegan and several members of the Philharmonia Baroque Orchestra. The most complete piece of this recording is the third, "Perché tacete, regolati concenti?", which seems like a mini-Venetian opera over its 19-minute running time. It contains the most musical diversity with instrumental passages that reflect effectively the different moods of the piece. The remaining pieces revolve around various quandaries about love, and the variety of tones and harmonic progessions is quite impressive. My personal favorite is "Il genio di Mitilde", which uses strings in an almost athletic fashion to reflect the various whims of a young woman's capricious changes of heart. The final piece, "Infirmata, vulnerata", opens with the melancholy Largo aria, where Daniels is accompanied beautifully by two interweaving violins, and finishes with the dramatically propulsive Allegro. This disc is a perfect addition to any Baroque music collection and a must-have for any fan of David Daniels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews