Schumann: The Complete Symphonies

( 1 )
This CD is Not Available through

More About This Product

Product Details

  • Release Date: 9/27/2011
  • Label: Newton Classics
  • EAN: 8718247710812
  • Catalog Number: 8802081


Disc 1
  1. 1–4 Symphony No. 1 in B flat major ("Spring"), Op. 38 - Robert Schumann & Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra (32:59)
  2. 5–8 Symphony No. 4 in D minor, Op. 120 - Robert Schumann & Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra (32:24)
Disc 2
  1. 1–4 Symphony No. 2 in C major, Op. 61 - Robert Schumann & Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra (37:46)
  2. 5–9 Symphony No. 3 in E flat major ("Rhenish"), Op. 97 - Robert Schumann & Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra (34:17)
Read More Show Less

Album Credits

Performance Credits
Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra Primary Artist
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Average Rating 4
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    Solid Schumann

    Several conductors have documented their vision of the four symphonies of Robert Schumann on more than one occasion. Bernstein, Kubelik, Zinman, Levine and Barenboim immediately come to mind. Let’s not forget Muti. His 1978 Philharmonia set is still in circulation. As to the set at hand, the verdict is favorable: plausible tempi, observance of repeats, respect for Schumann’s orchestration, secure, often inspired playing on behalf of the VPO. Here and there concentration and balance could be better. The Philips derived recording (1993-1995) is quite good. There is nothing egregiously off and surely nothing to disqualify this version from taking its place among the top 20 or so available cycles. Packaging and liner notes are up to Newton Classics’ customary high standards.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews