The Scold's Bridle
  • Alternative view 1 of The Scold's Bridle
  • Alternative view 2 of The Scold's Bridle

The Scold's Bridle

5.0 1
by Minette Walters
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Winner of the CWA Gold Dagger Award

Dr. Sarah Blakeney is one of very few mourners when her grumpy old patient, Mathilda Gillespie, dies at home in the bathtub, apparently of suicide. The old woman has taken barbiturates, slit her wrists, and bound her head in a rusted contraption called a scold's bridle, a cage with tongue clamps used to torture women in

Overview

Winner of the CWA Gold Dagger Award

Dr. Sarah Blakeney is one of very few mourners when her grumpy old patient, Mathilda Gillespie, dies at home in the bathtub, apparently of suicide. The old woman has taken barbiturates, slit her wrists, and bound her head in a rusted contraption called a scold's bridle, a cage with tongue clamps used to torture women in the Middle Ages. The police start to suspect homicide right around the time they learn that Sarah has been generously included in the dead woman's will. When she becomes the prime suspect in the murder, it's up to Sarah to delve into the bizarre details of Mathilda's private life, a history of greed, abuse, and depravity, and uncover the real killer.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“Minette Walters knows the cruel kinkiness that can lurk behind the most sedate of facades.” —Los Angeles Times

“Thoroughly chilling . . . gripping . . . disturbing.” —Orlando Sentinel

“Walters fearlessly flirts with gothic menace and intricacy as she draws all the loose threads together in this full-bodied plot.” —The Washington Post

“A wonderful, thought-provoking mystery by a brilliant new British writer.” —The San Diego Union-Tribune

“Fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell will respond to Minette Walters's deft touch and psychological suspense and appreciate her ability to depict complex and sympathetic women characters.” —Minneapolis Star-Tribune

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9780312427559
Publisher:
Picador
Publication date:
10/02/2007
Pages:
368
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.82(d)

Meet the Author

Minette Walters, a writer by occupation, lives in Romsey, England. Her novels include The Ice-House, which won the John Creasey Prize for Britain’s best first mystery of the year, and The Sculptress, a nominee for the Edgar Allen Poe best novel award.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Dorchester, Dorset, England
Date of Birth:
September 26, 1949
Place of Birth:
Bishop¿s Stortford, Hertfordshire, England
Education:
B.A. in French, Dunelm (Durham University), 1971
Website:
http://www.minettewalters.co.uk

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Scold's Bridle 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago