The Scold's Bridle

The Scold's Bridle

5.0 1
by Minette Walters, Sharon Williams
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions

Mathilda Gillespie's body was found nearly two days after she had taken an overdose and slashed her wrists with a utility knife. But what shocked Dr. Sarah Blakeney the most was the rusted metal cage obscuring the dead woman's face—a medieval instrument of torture called a scold's bridle grotesquely adorned with a garland of nettles and Michaelmas daises. What

Overview

Mathilda Gillespie's body was found nearly two days after she had taken an overdose and slashed her wrists with a utility knife. But what shocked Dr. Sarah Blakeney the most was the rusted metal cage obscuring the dead woman's face—a medieval instrument of torture called a scold's bridle grotesquely adorned with a garland of nettles and Michaelmas daises. What happened at Cedar House in the tortured hours before Mathilda's death?

Detective Sergeant Cooper, an elderly policeman nearing retirement, is under pressure from his superiors to bring in a verdict of suicide. And even Mathilda's daughter and granddaughter insist that illness drove her to commit the desperate, final act. Only Sarah and her husband, Jack, refuse to believe that the Mathilda they knew would have taken her own life. Then comes the reading of Mathilda's Last Will and Testament, which shocks her family into a stunned and bitter silence. For Dr. Sarah Blakeney has inherited everything.

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

“Minette Walters knows the cruel kinkiness that can lurk behind the most sedate of facades.” —Los Angeles Times

“Thoroughly chilling . . . gripping . . . disturbing.” —Orlando Sentinel

“Walters fearlessly flirts with gothic menace and intricacy as she draws all the loose threads together in this full-bodied plot.” —The Washington Post

“A wonderful, thought-provoking mystery by a brilliant new British writer.” —The San Diego Union-Tribune

“Fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell will respond to Minette Walters's deft touch and psychological suspense and appreciate her ability to depict complex and sympathetic women characters.” —Minneapolis Star-Tribune

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781469244266
Publisher:
Brilliance Audio
Publication date:
02/26/2013
Edition description:
Unabridged
Product dimensions:
6.50(w) x 5.50(h) x 1.10(d)

Meet the Author

Minette Walters, a writer by occupation, lives in Romsey, England. Her novels include The Ice-House, which won the John Creasey Prize for Britain’s best first mystery of the year, and The Sculptress, a nominee for the Edgar Allen Poe best novel award.

Brief Biography

Hometown:
Dorchester, Dorset, England
Date of Birth:
September 26, 1949
Place of Birth:
Bishop¿s Stortford, Hertfordshire, England
Education:
B.A. in French, Dunelm (Durham University), 1971
Website:
http://www.minettewalters.co.uk

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Scold's Bridle 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago