Sea Glass Summer by Dorothy Cannell | Audiobook (CD) | Barnes & Noble
Sea Glass Summer

Sea Glass Summer

5.0 1
by Dorothy Cannell
     
 

View All Available Formats & Editions


Recovering from a painful divorce, Sarah Draycott has moved to the picture-postcard village of Sea Glass on the Maine coast, and is soon caught up in the lives of its inhabitants. As she helps elegant but troubled widow Gwen cope with her desperately ill son, and assists nine-year-old orphan Oliver in uncovering the secrets surrounding the mysterious Cully Mansion

Overview


Recovering from a painful divorce, Sarah Draycott has moved to the picture-postcard village of Sea Glass on the Maine coast, and is soon caught up in the lives of its inhabitants. As she helps elegant but troubled widow Gwen cope with her desperately ill son, and assists nine-year-old orphan Oliver in uncovering the secrets surrounding the mysterious Cully Mansion, Sarah's broken heart begins to heal. She isn't looking for new romance - but love finds a way of seeking someone out just when they least expect it...

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly - Audio
08/19/2013
When Sarah Draycott moves to a small town on the coast of Maine following her divorce, she is drawn into the lives, joys, and heartaches of her neighbors. She helps a widow deal with her child's illness. And she helps nine-year-old Oliver—who is taken into custody by an uncle he's never met—discover the truth about the deteriorating mansion where he now lives. Kirsten Potter's slow, smooth narration fits Cannell's novel. And while the book contains emotional scenes, mystery, and suspense, it's written in a low-key tone—and Potter matches it perfectly, while also giving the characters (both young and old) recognizable and appropriate voices. A Severn House paperback. (Apr.)
From the Publisher

""A sweet contemporary romance."" - Publishers Weekly
""Thoroughly enjoyable and cozy tale will appeal to readers of Angela Thirkell and Robyn Carr."" - Library Journal
Publishers Weekly
Cannell takes a break from her Ellie Haskell cozy mystery series (She Shoots to Conquer, etc.) with this sweet contemporary romance featuring 34-year-old Sarah Draycott, a successful designer of patterns for knitting magazines. After her husband leaves her for another woman, Sarah moves from the Midwest to Sea Glass, Maine, to make a new start. In Sea Glass, Sarah encounters nosy neighbors and, eventually, an unexpected love interest. While descriptions of the beauties of nature enchant (“It was a perfect morning in early July, with just enough breeze to edge the deep blue silk of the bay with ripples of lacey foam”), readers should be prepared for some sentimental exchanges between new lovers (“I fell in love with you when we met. And if that’s equally like a romance novel, it’s because most clichés are around because they are truths that have been sanded and buffed over time”). Agent: Meg Ruley, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (Feb.)

Product Details

ISBN-13:
9781624065736
Publisher:
Dreamscape Media
Publication date:
04/01/2013
Edition description:
Unabridged
Product dimensions:
5.50(w) x 6.50(h) x 1.10(d)
Age Range:
18 Years

Related Subjects

Meet the Author


Dorothy Cannell was born in London, England, and now lives in Belfast, Maine. Dorothy Cannell writes mysteries featuring Ellie Haskell, interior decorator and Ben Haskell, writer and chef, and Hyacinth and Primrose Tramwell, a pair of dotty sisters and owners of the Flowers Detection Agency.

READER BIO
Kirsten Potter, a graduate of Boston University's School for the Arts, has performed on stage, film, and television. An award-winning audiobook narrator, Kirsten has won AudioFile Earphones Awards for The Snowball and her performance as Barbara in Major Barbara. Her other titles include Madapple, a Booklist Editors' Choice for Best Audiobook 2008. Kirsten has received recognition from the American Academy of Achievement and the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts, and numerous regional awards.

Customer Reviews

Average Review:

Write a Review

and post it to your social network

     

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See all customer reviews >

Sea Glass Summer 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous 3 months ago
I always enjoy Dorothy Cannel's writing!