Sea Glass Summer

Overview

Recovering from a painful divorce, Sarah Draycott has moved to the picture-postcard village of Sea Glass on the Maine coast, and is soon caught up in the lives of its inhabitants. As she helps elegant but troubled widow Gwen cope with her desperately ill son, and assists nine-year-old orphan Oliver in uncovering the secrets surrounding the mysterious Cully Mansion, Sarah’s broken heart begins to heal. She isn’t looking for new romance – but love finds a way of seeking someone out just when they least expect it . ...
See more details below
Audiobook (MP3 on CD - Unabridged)
$24.22
BN.com price
(Save 19%)$29.99 List Price
Other sellers (Audiobook)
  • All (2) from $22.58   
  • New (2) from $22.58   
Sea Glass Summer

Available on NOOK devices and apps  
  • NOOK Devices
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 7.0
  • Samsung Galaxy Tab 4 NOOK 10.1
  • NOOK HD Tablet
  • NOOK HD+ Tablet
  • NOOK eReaders
  • NOOK Color
  • NOOK Tablet
  • Tablet/Phone
  • NOOK for Windows 8 Tablet
  • NOOK for iOS
  • NOOK for Android
  • NOOK Kids for iPad
  • PC/Mac
  • NOOK for Windows 8
  • NOOK for PC
  • NOOK for Mac
  • NOOK for Web

Want a NOOK? Explore Now

NOOK Book (eBook)
$10.49
BN.com price
(Save 30%)$14.99 List Price
This digital version does not exactly match the physical book displayed here.

Overview

Recovering from a painful divorce, Sarah Draycott has moved to the picture-postcard village of Sea Glass on the Maine coast, and is soon caught up in the lives of its inhabitants. As she helps elegant but troubled widow Gwen cope with her desperately ill son, and assists nine-year-old orphan Oliver in uncovering the secrets surrounding the mysterious Cully Mansion, Sarah’s broken heart begins to heal. She isn’t looking for new romance – but love finds a way of seeking someone out just when they least expect it . . .
Read More Show Less

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher
"A sweet contemporary romance." - Publishers Weekly
"Thoroughly enjoyable and cozy tale will appeal to readers of Angela Thirkell and Robyn Carr." - Library Journal
Publishers Weekly
Cannell takes a break from her Ellie Haskell cozy mystery series (She Shoots to Conquer, etc.) with this sweet contemporary romance featuring 34-year-old Sarah Draycott, a successful designer of patterns for knitting magazines. After her husband leaves her for another woman, Sarah moves from the Midwest to Sea Glass, Maine, to make a new start. In Sea Glass, Sarah encounters nosy neighbors and, eventually, an unexpected love interest. While descriptions of the beauties of nature enchant (“It was a perfect morning in early July, with just enough breeze to edge the deep blue silk of the bay with ripples of lacey foam”), readers should be prepared for some sentimental exchanges between new lovers (“I fell in love with you when we met. And if that’s equally like a romance novel, it’s because most clichés are around because they are truths that have been sanded and buffed over time”). Agent: Meg Ruley, Jane Rotrosen Agency. (Feb.)
Publishers Weekly - Audio
08/19/2013
When Sarah Draycott moves to a small town on the coast of Maine following her divorce, she is drawn into the lives, joys, and heartaches of her neighbors. She helps a widow deal with her child's illness. And she helps nine-year-old Oliver—who is taken into custody by an uncle he's never met—discover the truth about the deteriorating mansion where he now lives. Kirsten Potter's slow, smooth narration fits Cannell's novel. And while the book contains emotional scenes, mystery, and suspense, it's written in a low-key tone—and Potter matches it perfectly, while also giving the characters (both young and old) recognizable and appropriate voices. A Severn House paperback. (Apr.)
Read More Show Less

Product Details

  • ISBN-13: 9781624065774
  • Publisher: Dreamscape Media
  • Publication date: 4/1/2013
  • Format: MP3 on CD
  • Edition description: Unabridged
  • Product dimensions: 6.04 (w) x 5.04 (h) x 1.13 (d)

Meet the Author

Dorothy Cannell was born in Nottingham, England, and moved to the U.S. in 1963. Dorothy became an aspiring writer after taking an English class at Illinois Central College and being encouraged to write for publication by the class teacher. Seven years later, she sold her first short story. Dorothy enjoys collecting sea glass and beach stones in Main, collecting vintage hats and Apostle Tea spoons, and going on reading binges.
Read More Show Less

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

    If you find inappropriate content, please report it to Barnes & Noble
    Why is this product inappropriate?
    Comments (optional)